Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

My dirt poor Irish parents mustn't have got that memo. That said, having English as a first language probably makes it easier for someone looking to migrate to an English-speaking country like Australia .

Why not compare the lives of those that migrate to the lives they had beforehand? Most people who migrate are happier as a result of doing so.

As for the graph - it highlights to me that AUS has the highest minimum wage of any country in the world. A logical deduction to make from that is that it is probably one of the better places economically to migrate to (noting that the cost of living can be high in some areas). Do you agree?

Like I said. I am privileged. Better timing and opportunities and I am grateful for it.
Yes we offer them a better life that is for sure but it is still not as good and easy as mine or yours. And we all take advantage of it including me.
I guess we have to start somewhere. Life is not always fair but I am unsure there is as many opportunities nowdays for new immigrants. I could be wrong.

Incorrect

I'm not much of a fan of Williams, but I don't see what the problem here is. I could understand how she wouldn't know who the number 1 is...I mean she's only been number 1 for a couple of weeks, right?

As for only caring about brand Williams instead of brand tennis...how is that her problem? It's an individual sport, and she is one of its biggest drawcards. She promotes the sport just by turning up.
Roger Federer literally has his initials as a brand slogan all over his clothes. Don't tell me he isn't about his own brand as well.
IT'S THE AGE OF OUTRAGE YOU IGNORAMUS

AREN'T YOU OUTRAGED THAT SOMEONE, SOMEWHERE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT SOMEONE ELSE YOU'VE NEVER MET? THIS OTHER PERSON WROTE AN ARTICLE TO POINT OUT HOW OUTRAGED YOU SHOULD BE

FFS. YOU NEED SOME ANGER MISMANAGEMENT LESSONS

IT'S THE AGE OF OUTRAGE YOU IGNORAMUS

AREN'T YOU OUTRAGED THAT SOMEONE, SOMEWHERE SAID SOMETHING ABOUT SOMEONE ELSE YOU'VE NEVER MET? THIS OTHER PERSON WROTE AN ARTICLE TO POINT OUT HOW OUTRAGED YOU SHOULD BE

FFS. YOU NEED SOME ANGER MISMANAGEMENT LESSONS

I realise the idea here but as a related aside this whol age of outrage idea is so overstated

It's f**ken outrageous

Generaly that people who migrated from the british empire in earlier generations get the more privileged lifestyles, nicer and safer areas to live, better education and better jobs.
Me being 1st gen I am guessing as my parents come on a boat so they copped the grunt of 60hr weeks an no education. Working on a farm from age 12, not receiving Christmas presents and being slagged off for being tight Mediterranean Descendants.

I feel privileged that they come at a time where property was cheap. But for the new migrants I reckon it would be heaps shit.

So yeah the rich in a way are just pulling us all along for the ride.

My family came by boat too.

They were in chains but

Like I said. I am privileged. Better timing and opportunities and I am grateful for it.
Yes we offer them a better life that is for sure but it is still not as good and easy as mine or yours. And we all take advantage of it including me.
I guess we have to start somewhere. Life is not always fair but I am unsure there is as many opportunities nowdays for new immigrants. I could be wrong.
Yeah. Life isn't fair for some. We are lucky to have been born in a country like Australia that's for sure.

I reckon there are still plenty of opportunities, just not great ones. Like you said earlier, someone has to do all the jobs that picky Australian merkins don't want to do.

Incorrect

I realise the idea here but as a related aside this whol age of outrage idea is so overstated

It's f**ken outrageous
Yeah, don't take this the wrong way, but given what an angry merkin you come across as in your posts a lot of the time, I'm not surprised you think the age of outrage is overstated!! Lol

Again, no offence baz.... :p

On the age of outrage thing I think people are just as easily outraged as they ever were. Problem is that social media has given most people a voice now so it is easier to have your whinging bullshit heard and seen by others.

Bandwagon

On the age of outrage thing I think people are just as easily outraged as they ever were. Problem is that social media has given most people a voice now so it is easier to have your whinging bullshit heard and seen by others.

You also get to hear about a heap of shit that you can have a whinge about that you otherwise would have been completely oblivious to

Plus it's easy as f**k to be some kinda saint on social media and a complete shit merkin in real life, or anywhere in between.

I want to be outraged. I just dont have nothing that outrages me. I fight nihilism every day. I mean meh whatever.

Eelogical

Here's a typical case in point......