Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

@Gronk
Needed a dump.
Option one - Downstair toilets for the poor factory workers = single ply toilet paper that feels like sand paper.

Option two - Upstairs with office staff.
Tripple ply soft soft toilet paper.

Even down to coffee.
Poor factory worker gets international roast.
Office workers in same factories can't be expected to drunk that. Marconna or coffee machine pods.
I'll go with Option 3 - Boss's Desk.

F**kstick, ex-player Tennis player making a f**kstick of himself. There was nothing in Serena's comments...

Sam Groth slams Williams over ‘disgraceful’ Ash Barty comments

ZAC RAYSON JULY 03, 2019

In her pre-tournament press conference, Williams said she was unaware Australia’s Ash Barty was the No. 1 ranked player in the world.

In a column for The Herald Sun, the former men’s No.53 slammed Williams for having “no idea about anything much that happens in the sport”, and only being concerned with her ‘self-interest’.

“I don’t think what Ash has achieved in recent weeks has actually had the recognition it deserves from a lot of people, but as one of the biggest names in tennis, what Serena said was pretty sh***y.”

“You’re the one of the most recognisable athletes on the planet and you can’t tell me who the number one player in your sport is?

“It’s disgraceful and not a good look for your sport.”

Groth also hammered Williams for failing to promote women’s tennis to the same extent stars like Federer, Rafael Nadal, or Novak Djokovic have done for the men’s game.

“She’s not done for the women’s game what others have done for the men’s.

“It’s all about brand Serena not brand tennis.”

When informed by journalists that Barty was indeed the new top ranked women’s player, Williams was complimentary towards her rival.

“Wow, that’s great,” the 23-time grand slam champion said.

“I think Ash, I don’t know anyone that has anything negative to say about her. She’s like the sweetest, cutest girl on tour. She’s so nice.

“She has the most beautiful game, such classic shots. I mean, she does everything right. Her technique is, like, flawless.”

“Obviously I’m happy for her. Yeah, it’s good. It’s good for her.

Williams even said she “thinks” Barty could stay No. 1 for some time.

“I think she has a great game,” she said.

“I think, like, she’s really even-tempered. “She’s just really chill. I feel like she’s just so relaxed in a way. “She’s had a solid year, as well. It’s not just the French Open. She won Miami. Yeah, I think anything is possible.”

Williams’ attitude was lambasted by from Groth, who said it was ‘derogatory’ for Williams to be “going on about how nice she thinks Ash is”.

Groth wrote “she’s the best tennis player in the world and you didn’t know it. She gave her no credit for the achievement.”

Herald Sun journalist Jon Ralph compared Williams’ apparent dismissiveness to Roger Federer going out of his way to acknowledge 15-year-old American star Cori Gauff in a neat moment that was captured on camera at The All England Club.

He suggested the difference between the two icons of the sport was easy to spot.

The dust is only just settling from Williams’ recent controversy at the French Open when star Dominic Thiem was kicked out of his post-match press conference at Roland Garros to give Williams the main interview theatre for her own press conference.

She said before the start of Wimbledon she was powerless to stop officials from kicking Thiem out.

Thiem was later quoted as accusing Williams of having a “bad personality” but she addressed the matter for the first time on Saturday, saying the whole episode was a misunderstanding and she never meant to take Thiem’s place.

“I asked them to put me in the small room. I begged them to put me in the small room, and they didn’t,” Williams said. “I said, ‘Listen, I can come back. I’m just going to go back.’

“They’re like, ‘No, stay here.’

“They pulled him (Thiem) out. I was like, ‘You guys are so rude to do that,’ quote-unquote, that’s what I said.

“The next day I had a bad personality. Literally that’s what happened.”

Barty and Williams have been grouped in the same quarter of the draw, meaning they could meet in a blockbuster quarter-final meeting.

And we know Barty will have at least one former player firmly in her corner.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/tenni...s/news-story/5b065998203cd65ec400221c71c5b85f

@Gronk
Needed a dump.
Option one - Downstair toilets for the poor factory workers = single ply toilet paper that feels like sand paper.

Option two - Upstairs with office staff.
Tripple ply soft soft toilet paper.

Even down to coffee.
Poor factory worker gets international roast.
Office workers in same factories can't be expected to drunk that. Marconna or coffee machine pods.
Nah I'm still lost.

Australia has the highest minimum wage in the world. Doesn't that demonstrate that we do equality pretty good ?

image.jpg

Nah I'm still lost.

Australia has the highest minimum wage in the world. Doesn't that demonstrate that we do equality pretty good ?

image.jpg

I am just pointing out what I see. They have a better life then before thats is correct but it still is not fair. Inside most factories I see immigrants working some shitty jobs for $20-$21hr. So maybe $680 in pockets. Then a lot deliver uber or uber eats in spare time to be able to buy kids Christmas presents or afford some biscuits. Forget kingston's HJ. Most likely some Coles brand.
It is too our convenience. What is $5 to have someone bring me my food? I do not want too miss Phil Goulds comments before the footy starts on a Friday night ffs. I worked 40hrs and need to relax. It is my right and I deserve it. And if my food is cold or takes to long I am giving a bad review.
I will be Outraged !

T.S Quint

F**kstick, ex-player Tennis player making a f**kstick of himself. There was nothing in Serena's comments...

Sam Groth slams Williams over ‘disgraceful’ Ash Barty comments

ZAC RAYSON JULY 03, 2019

In her pre-tournament press conference, Williams said she was unaware Australia’s Ash Barty was the No. 1 ranked player in the world.

In a column for The Herald Sun, the former men’s No.53 slammed Williams for having “no idea about anything much that happens in the sport”, and only being concerned with her ‘self-interest’.

“I don’t think what Ash has achieved in recent weeks has actually had the recognition it deserves from a lot of people, but as one of the biggest names in tennis, what Serena said was pretty sh***y.”

“You’re the one of the most recognisable athletes on the planet and you can’t tell me who the number one player in your sport is?

“It’s disgraceful and not a good look for your sport.”

Groth also hammered Williams for failing to promote women’s tennis to the same extent stars like Federer, Rafael Nadal, or Novak Djokovic have done for the men’s game.

“She’s not done for the women’s game what others have done for the men’s.

“It’s all about brand Serena not brand tennis.”

When informed by journalists that Barty was indeed the new top ranked women’s player, Williams was complimentary towards her rival.

“Wow, that’s great,” the 23-time grand slam champion said.

“I think Ash, I don’t know anyone that has anything negative to say about her. She’s like the sweetest, cutest girl on tour. She’s so nice.

“She has the most beautiful game, such classic shots. I mean, she does everything right. Her technique is, like, flawless.”

“Obviously I’m happy for her. Yeah, it’s good. It’s good for her.

Williams even said she “thinks” Barty could stay No. 1 for some time.

“I think she has a great game,” she said.

“I think, like, she’s really even-tempered. “She’s just really chill. I feel like she’s just so relaxed in a way. “She’s had a solid year, as well. It’s not just the French Open. She won Miami. Yeah, I think anything is possible.”

Williams’ attitude was lambasted by from Groth, who said it was ‘derogatory’ for Williams to be “going on about how nice she thinks Ash is”.

Groth wrote “she’s the best tennis player in the world and you didn’t know it. She gave her no credit for the achievement.”

Herald Sun journalist Jon Ralph compared Williams’ apparent dismissiveness to Roger Federer going out of his way to acknowledge 15-year-old American star Cori Gauff in a neat moment that was captured on camera at The All England Club.

He suggested the difference between the two icons of the sport was easy to spot.

The dust is only just settling from Williams’ recent controversy at the French Open when star Dominic Thiem was kicked out of his post-match press conference at Roland Garros to give Williams the main interview theatre for her own press conference.

She said before the start of Wimbledon she was powerless to stop officials from kicking Thiem out.

Thiem was later quoted as accusing Williams of having a “bad personality” but she addressed the matter for the first time on Saturday, saying the whole episode was a misunderstanding and she never meant to take Thiem’s place.

“I asked them to put me in the small room. I begged them to put me in the small room, and they didn’t,” Williams said. “I said, ‘Listen, I can come back. I’m just going to go back.’

“They’re like, ‘No, stay here.’

“They pulled him (Thiem) out. I was like, ‘You guys are so rude to do that,’ quote-unquote, that’s what I said.

“The next day I had a bad personality. Literally that’s what happened.”

Barty and Williams have been grouped in the same quarter of the draw, meaning they could meet in a blockbuster quarter-final meeting.

And we know Barty will have at least one former player firmly in her corner.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/tenni...s/news-story/5b065998203cd65ec400221c71c5b85f

I'm not much of a fan of Williams, but I don't see what the problem here is. I could understand how she wouldn't know who the number 1 is...I mean she's only been number 1 for a couple of weeks, right?

As for only caring about brand Williams instead of brand tennis...how is that her problem? It's an individual sport, and she is one of its biggest drawcards. She promotes the sport just by turning up.
Roger Federer literally has his initials as a brand slogan all over his clothes. Don't tell me he isn't about his own brand as well.

I'm not much of a fan of Williams, but I don't see what the problem here is. I could understand how she wouldn't know who the number 1 is...I mean she's only been number 1 for a couple of weeks, right?

As for only caring about brand Williams instead of brand tennis...how is that her problem? It's an individual sport, and she is one of its biggest drawcards. She promotes the sport just by turning up.
Roger Federer literally has his initials as a brand slogan all over his clothes. Don't tell me he isn't about his own brand as well.
Agreed.

He also claims she was being dismissive of Barty, but she did say this:

"She has the most beautiful game, such classic shots. I mean, she does everything right. Her technique is, like, flawless."

That's a very nice thing to say and is hardly dismissive. If he was going to get offended, it should have been at her use of "I mean" and "like".

Meh, storm in a teacup but no way does Williams not know Barty was number one.

She's the most arrogant woman in sport, I bet she knows exactly who is above her and by how many. Groth is overstating it though

I am just pointing out what I see. They have a better life then before thats is correct but it still is not fair. Inside most factories I see immigrants working some shitty jobs for $20-$21hr. So maybe $680 in pockets. Then a lot deliver uber or uber eats in spare time to be able to buy kids Christmas presents or afford some biscuits. Forget kingston's HJ. Most likely some Coles brand.
It is too our convenience. What is $5 to have someone bring me my food? I do not want too miss Phil Goulds comments before the footy starts on a Friday night ffs. I worked 40hrs and need to relax. It is my right and I deserve it. And if my food is cold or takes to long I am giving a bad review.
I will be Outraged !
Have a look at the graph that Gronk presented. What does it mean to you when you read it?

She's the most arrogant woman in sport, I bet she knows exactly who is above her and by how many. Groth is overstating it though
Same as this. Woods knew who number 2 was.

I have no problem with them not wanting to acknowledge it publicly.

Soren Lorenson

Would've been more credible if it was Eric Groth complaining.

Have a look at the graph that Gronk presented. What does it mean to you when you read it?

Generaly that people who migrated from the british empire in earlier generations get the more privileged lifestyles, nicer and safer areas to live, better education and better jobs.
Me being 1st gen I am guessing as my parents come on a boat so they copped the grunt of 60hr weeks an no education. Working on a farm from age 12, not receiving Christmas presents and being slagged off for being tight Mediterranean Descendants.

I feel privileged that they come at a time where property was cheap. But for the new migrants I reckon it would be heaps shit.

So yeah the rich in a way are just pulling us all along for the ride.

Generaly that people who migrated from the british empire in earlier generations get the more privileged lifestyles, nicer and safer areas to live, better education and better jobs.
Me being 1st gen I am guessing as my parents come on a boat so they copped the grunt of 60hr weeks an no education. Working on a farm from age 12, not receiving Christmas presents and being slagged off for being tight Mediterranean Descendants.

I feel privileged that they come at a time where property was cheap. But for the new migrants I reckon it would be heaps shit.

So yeah the rich in a way are just pulling us all along for the ride.
My dirt poor Irish parents mustn't have got that memo. That said, having English as a first language probably makes it easier for someone looking to migrate to an English-speaking country like Australia .

Why not compare the lives of those that migrate to the lives they had beforehand? Most people who migrate are happier as a result of doing so.

As for the graph - it highlights to me that AUS has the highest minimum wage of any country in the world. A logical deduction to make from that is that it is probably one of the better places economically to migrate to (noting that the cost of living can be high in some areas). Do you agree?