Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

And we beat the Frogs the other night. The czechs were undefeated too.

Anywho it’s us, spain and argentina who remain undefeated.
It’s very exciting!!

Considering who we don’t have there, Simmons, Exum, Maker and Bolden.

We should be even stronger for the Olympics.

Snoochies

R U OK day a great idea to begin with that has turned my work into a virtue signalling haven.

Yep, I suffered mental illness in the past, I'm glad it's being spoken about more, there is more help and better understanding, and this in part is because of awareness like this. But if I were still depressed, I'd stay home today. The amount of smug corporates here now dancing around the office dressed in yellow who would never say gday to you any other day now feel like they are the office psychiatrist proudly asking anyone if U R OK?

We even had a dress up competition that was won by someone dressing up as a duck.

Good concept but maybe we're missing the mark, these people who care today will again ignore you tomorrow.

R U OK day a great idea to begin with that has turned my work into a virtue signalling haven.

Yep, I suffered mental illness in the past, I'm glad it's being spoken about more, there is more help and better understanding, and this in part is because of awareness like this. But if I were still depressed, I'd stay home today. The amount of smug corporates here now dancing around the office dressed in yellow who would never say gday to you any other day now feel like they are the office psychiatrist proudly asking anyone if U R OK?

We even had a dress up competition that was won by someone dressing up as a duck.

Good concept but maybe we're missing the mark, these people who care today will again ignore you tomorrow.
My work is having cupcakes ... Wooooo

And apparently upstairs at a subsidiary part of the company they have a petting zoo :laughing:

I agree that RUOK means well, however I think that the merkin with the ponytail who runs the RUOK thing is out of touch. Such is the stigma of mental illness; as if anyone is going to share with his boss/supervisor the extent of his (lack of) well being. Facts are that it would be a quick trip south in the game of career snakes and ladders.

We need a total change of society mindset to mental illness. A merkin can have cancer and everyone flocks to his aid. A merkin is burdened with chronic mental health and society treats him like a leper.

1457% agree.

The number of merkins I get "Hey mate RUOK?" from that I haven't heard from in months is silly.

Yeah mate I'm good today. I mean three months ago I wasn't eating food but there wasn't a social media day happening then so I understand...

I agree that RUOK means well, however I think that the merkin with the ponytail who runs the RUOK thing is out of touch. Such is the stigma of mental illness; as if anyone is going to share with his boss/supervisor the extent of his (lack of) well being. Facts are that it would be a quick trip south in the game of career snakes and ladders.

We need a total change of society mindset to mental illness. A merkin can have cancer and everyone flocks to his aid. A merkin is burdened with chronic mental health and society treats him like a leper.

One thing the Aussie public sector seems good at (apart from Defence but they're legit dinosaurs) is dealing with employees with mental issues.

It is easier to appear like you are addressing the symptoms rather than do the difficult task of addressing the causes.

Dressed as a Duck hey. Sound like an attention seeker.
Sometimes people who feel like they are doing better then others dont like too socialize with them cause they feel uncomfortable or like they might be judged. "Like a pretentious rich snob". They may be real nice people. Unsure if its cause they feel they are too good for you. I can understand why people tend to stick to people in simmilair tribes/groups or whatever call it.

Alan Jones reckons mental Illness is people who feel sorry for themself.
I think someone of his intelligence needs to be very carefull what he says.
Same goes for drugs testing people on welfare. I mean their life is already shit so why make it worse. I am happy to pay $20 a week or whatever tax it is to fund them. If it means I live in a safer environment and I wont get mugged from someone who needs money for drugs.

1457% agree.

The number of merkins I get "Hey mate RUOK?" from that I haven't heard from in months is silly.

Yeah mate I'm good today. I mean three months ago I wasn't eating food but there wasn't a social media day happening then so I understand...

That's kind of funny. In a dark way.

Alan Jones reckons mental Illness is people who feel sorry for themself.
I think someone of his intelligence needs to be very carefull what he says.
Same goes for drugs testing people on welfare. I mean their life is already shit so why make it worse. I am happy to pay $20 a week or whatever tax it is to fund them. If it means I live in a safer environment and I wont get mugged from someone who needs money for drugs.
Can I have$20?