Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

I don't know the actual temp, but it is really nice and not cold at all. I have been going quite a bit since late Sept I think and the water has always been very inviting clarity and temp wise. Today it was just perfect. Not on the cold side at all, but it has been like that all summer. Half the pool is quite shallow and that would obviously help in keeping the temp on the warmer side. I definitely highly recommend it. I catch the 324 or 325 bus on Park St outside Woolies and I'm there in less then 10mins. It's Awesome.

It’s a great addition to Sydney Harbour BUT it should be included in the pollution website thingy.

We are so used to checking Redleaf at Double Bay, as I am sure merkins are at Dawn Fraser over at Balmain etc.

Those are closed today due to poo bacteria after heavy rains, so it’s not rocket surgery to work out that Barangaroo is the same.

TheRam

It’s a great addition to Sydney Harbour BUT it should be included in the pollution website thingy.

We are so used to checking Redleaf at Double Bay, as I am sure merkins are at Dawn Fraser over at Balmain etc.

Those are closed today due to poo bacteria after heavy rains, so it’s not rocket surgery to work out that Barangaroo is the same.

Would Pirrama Park(which is on the other side of Darling Harbour) be the same as Marrinawi Cove because I believe that has a auto pollution sensing thingy installed. I don't know if Pirrama Park was open today though. Probably was since Marriwani was. Right?

Noise

A tagged bull shark pinged the receiver at Narrabeen right before I went for a surf this morning. My dickhead mate sent through the alert when I was walking out the door. Lots of fish around too. Was a bit disconcerting bobbing around on my own for a couple of hours.
IMG_9685.jpeg

They're out there all the time mate, sometimes you're better off not knowing.

We got a tiger shark up here at Kingy and he pings a lot but he's never bothered any one and he never comes near the line up.

horrie hastings

Would Pirrama Park(which is on the other side of Darling Harbour) be the same as Marrinawi Cove because I believe that has a auto pollution sensing thingy installed. I don't know if Pirrama Park was open today though. Probably was since Marriwani was. Right?
Is Pirrama Park opened to swimming now ? i know they were talking about it but was there for the Pyrmont festival last year and nothing had been done then. It does have the ideal set up for it virtually right at the bottom of Harris st.

horrie hastings

I don't know the actual temp, but it is really nice and not cold at all. I have been going quite a bit since late Sept I think and the water has always been very inviting clarity and temp wise. Today it was just perfect. Not on the cold side at all, but it has been like that all summer. Half the pool is quite shallow and that would obviously help in keeping the temp on the warmer side. I definitely highly recommend it. I catch the 324 or 325 bus on Park St outside Woolies and I'm there in less then 10mins. It's Awesome.

Haven't been around there since the harbour pool opened, are there any facilities there or just the beautiful sand stone rocks ? Just be nice to have somewhere where your phones/cash/cards are secure.

T.S Quint

Yeah, Dawnies is occasionally closed due to crap water conditions. It’s probably closed tomorrow after that massive rain we had last night.

IFR33K

A tagged bull shark pinged the receiver at Narrabeen right before I went for a surf this morning. My dickhead mate sent through the alert when I was walking out the door. Lots of fish around too. Was a bit disconcerting bobbing around on my own for a couple of hours.
View attachment 83466

I can’t recall if it was last year or the year before, but there was a video circulating of a shark in narrabeen lake 😳

And on a side note, did you hear of the 1.5 metre jewfish caught in the lake a couple weeks ago?

Noise

I can’t recall if it was last year or the year before, but there was a video circulating of a shark in narrabeen lake 😳

And on a side note, did you hear of the 1.5 metre jewfish caught in the lake a couple weeks ago?
Yea the shark in the lake was a few years ago. Worrying.
The jewfish was massive! There have been heaps of fish since they opened the lake again (to the ocean) but I’ve never seen anything that big in there before.

anyone been to Greenwich point baths? going there with my partner tomorrow just wondering what parking is like?

Yea the shark in the lake was a few years ago. Worrying.
The jewfish was massive! There have been heaps of fish since they opened the lake again (to the ocean) but I’ve never seen anything that big in there before.

a lot of bull sharks in the water ways on the Gold Coast, kids getting bitten as those who paid a lot of money to have a water front home like to have thier kids play in the water ways

no one swims in them anymore

TheRam

Is Pirrama Park opened to swimming now ? i know they were talking about it but was there for the Pyrmont festival last year and nothing had been done then. It does have the ideal set up for it virtually right at the bottom of Harris st.

I believe so. I think you can swim at both locations and Pirrama Park has a real time water monitor installed now. But I haven't been to Pirrama Park to swim myself. Strange though, Pirrama Park has been built and ready for swimming way earlier then Marrinawi Cove was and it opened since early last year.

I have found a few articles that say Pirrama Park is to be open imminently to the public for swimming, but can't find anything that shows it has been or people swimming there...so maybe it still is to be given the all clear? Not sure.

I rang the local council and was told if I want to confirm if it is open to the public, to send a message to the Sydney Harbour Trust who are in charge of it. They have no phone number just a form you need to fill out unfortunately online.

Here is the link if you want to do the honours.

TheRam

I was in Pirrama Park last Sunday, and yes you can go swimming there. Nobody was in the water on that day though.

That's strange that no one was in the water. Even in wither you find some people still take the plunge. Are you sure it is open to the public for swimming? I can't find any pictures or articles that show people actually swimming in there or any write ups that say it is now open for swimming. No polly photo ops either, which is very unlike them as we all know.

When Marrinawi Cove opened there was a whole heap of stuff on it and there are many pictures of people actually swimming there. It seems very unusual that something like this would open and there is zero on it at all. Doesn't seem right somehow.

T.S Quint

That's strange that no one was in the water. Even in wither you find some people still take the plunge. Are you sure it is open to the public for swimming? I can't find any pictures or articles that show people actually swimming in there or any write ups that say it is now open for swimming. No polly photo ops either, which is very unlike them as we all know.

When Marrinawi Cove opened there was a whole heap of stuff on it and there are many pictures of people actually swimming there. It seems very unusual that something like this would open and there is zero on it at all. Doesn't seem right somehow.

There were platforms in the water for people to get onto and make a sort of 'shallow end', and the rest seemed like it was open for swimming. It was a warm day, so it was surprising that no one was swimming, but I was there pretty early in the day.

T.S Quint

anyone been to Greenwich point baths? going there with my partner tomorrow just wondering what parking is like?

I have been there.
Great spot, lovely views and the water was nice to swim in. Kids loved it.
I took the ferry over though, so I'm not sure about parking. There seemed to be just street parking available, but I wasn't actually looking for it so there may have been more.

TheRam

There were platforms in the water for people to get onto and make a sort of 'shallow end', and the rest seemed like it was open for swimming. It was a warm day, so it was surprising that no one was swimming, but I was there pretty early in the day.

Yeah something just seems off. If it was open to full on swimming there would be no end to people, even early in the morning, wanting to take a plunge. Marrinawi Cove has always got people there swimming no matter what time I have gotten there and it is in a relatively isolated area with way fewer amenities for the public.

I have a feeling it hasn't been officially opened for swimming yet to the public.