Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

emjaycee

Interesting both 7 and 7two say they are "live & free", but i just saw Little Leyton walk off the court on one station, but he's doing a "live post game on court interview" at the same time on the other station. False advertising much?

I always understood in TV parlance "live" meant it was recorded and/or transmitted without being edited (for example when errors occurred) and that transmitting something in "real-time" (as it occurs) was referred to as "direct".

Things may have changed or I could simply be wrong.

I always understood in TV parlance "live" meant it was recorded and/or transmitted without being edited (for example when errors occurred) and that transmitting something in "real-time" (as it occurs) was referred to as "direct".

Things may have changed or I could simply be wrong.

Not so sure mate. I've always understood a 'live' telecast to mean that the telecast is the action happens (perhaps with a 7 second delay).

adverb
(of a radio or television program) at the moment of its happening or being performed; not on tape or by prerecording:
a program broadcast live.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/live

emjaycee

Not so sure mate. I've always understood a 'live' telecast to mean that the telecast is the action happens (perhaps with a 7 second delay).

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/live

Agree with your current definition however back in the 70's and 80's there was a definite promotion if something was "live and direct" and not just "live", hence my theory above.

It may just have been a way of differentiating something that is sent "directly" from the location (i.e the sports site) vs something that is sent via the studio but still "live" and in real-time. I know historically most transmissions needed to be sent via the studio in order to access the transmission towers but this has no doubt changed since then. Probably why we don't see "direct" used as much anymore although some o/s events still promote themselves as being "direct from wherever".

Like I said originally, I could be wrong and often am. :D

Just finished watching Breaking Bad. What a privilege it was to watch that epic masterpiece. Watching Banshee now. I hate how everyone knows how to fight. Anyway I also have Vikings, Black Sails, Boardwalk Empire, Justified, The Tudors, Fargo, Boardwalk Empire, Louie and Sons of Anarchy. I've turned off The walking dead. It' shits me now.

Recommendations of the above??

I bleed blue & gold

Just finished watching Breaking Bad. What a privilege it was to watch that epic masterpiece. Watching Banshee now. I hate how everyone knows how to fight. Anyway I also have Vikings, Black Sails, Boardwalk Empire, Justified, The Tudors, Fargo, Boardwalk Empire, Louie and Sons of Anarchy. I've turned off The walking dead. It' shits me now.

How good is BB?!?!

I've watched Boardwalk Empire and SOA. Both are good, although i recommend BE first.

Noise

Id recommend sons of anarchy, Boardwalk and vikings. Also Fargo (the tv series) and I'm enjoying orange is the new black

There is an excellent show on Netflix called The Principal, made in Sydney and even has references to League.

Its about a high school, seems to be in the Bankstown area and highlights the modern day clash of cultures in Sydney.

Its only up to about ep 4 but well written and acted.

Worth a look.

I bleed blue & gold

There is an excellent show on Netflix called The Principal, made in Sydney and even has references to League.

Its about a high school, seems to be in the Bankstown area and highlights the modern day clash of cultures in Sydney.

Worth a look.

I've been meaning to watch that, i have heard good things.

I bleed blue & gold

Talking about referencing League, i was watching that 'Two Hands' the other day, the one with Heath Ledger and Bryan Brown. Bryan Brown's character and one of his blokes use Parra stubby holders.

Worth a look.

Yeh, that's all there is.

I recorded it was on SBS last year and have watched 2 or 3 of the episodes. The only thing that pisses me is that some of the supporting characters are a bit too 'black and white' (e.g. the teacher who resists everything that the new principal tries to do).

Of those, the ones I've watched ...

Black Sails - season 2 was very good, about to start season 3 ... I'd say maybe watch this first cos its only 2 seasons and you'd get it over quicker

Boardwalk Empire - good show - I think it went a season too long maybe ... 5 season I think

SoA - good show, but got a bit of the same thing repeated over time .... 7 seasons I think, so will take you a while to watch it all

Oh and I agree - I'm over zombies - sat down to start watching the latest season of the walking dead and wasn't interested

A work colleague also suggested this other zombie show to me - Z Nation ... OMFG it is corny shit .... I have watched the walking dead and thought it ok, but corny zombie shows do my head in

Delboy

The Fargo series were both classics , series 1 was excellent with Martin Freeman and Billy Bob Thornton

Series 2 , was just as good with Kirsten Dunst , well worth a watch

Noise

The Fargo series were both classics , series 1 was excellent with Martin Freeman and Billy Bob Thornton

Series 2 , was just as good with Kirsten Dunst , well worth a watch

Yep they are awesome. Up to the final episode in series 2.

parra pete

Yep they are awesome. Up to the final episode in series 2.

Bit of confusion at the 'get out' shot in second last episode.
"Did you mention that in report".....What was that all about.
Bit like the scene in Life of Brian when Brian fell from the Temple and was saved by the space craft....!!!!:lol: