Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

A mate of a mate has 4 star wars figurines worth est $100k. He paid $5k for them. He also has a fossil worth $50k. He's keen on this stuff but most people's eyes glaze over when he talks about it.

Like your talk about Trump?

Meanwhile, the architect of your dodgy NBN sits up the back sniggering

Abbott started the NBN? Im sure it was LABOR. They put in a cost which I thought at time liberal rejected and wanted to focus on wireless but it went through.
Liberal took over and made cut backs as the nbn cost blow out was becoming ridiculous and wireless is the future.

At end of day I am stuck in a unit where they can not get cables to my building but a fibre is installed so wont let me use adsl 2. In other words no phone or internet only wireless is my option.

The govt paying for the nbn was always destined to be a massive f**king joke ... but every sad sack jumped onboard cos they want their forums and lolcats videos to download fast

Well im forced to pay $30 a month more for expensive wireless. Its that or nothing.
Had 3 NBN installers unable to get cables in. Being a sparky I even had a try. It would be half a days work and a lot of mess.
I know some peoples driveways would mean a 10k cost to get it down from street.

Who looked into the job?

Fibre to the home is in 20 western countries with average penetration of 65%.

Liberal took over and made cut backs as the nbn cost blow out was becoming ridiculous and wireless is the future.

Correct. Fibre to the node and HFC is the discount version and clearly an inferior troublesome product.

At least taxpayers are having to foot less of the bill.

When it's time to resurface your street, how about they tar up to the corner and just leave a dirt track to your house ? At least taxpayers are having to foot less of the bill.

Eelogical

Kerry Packer was smarter than the current lot, both on politics and the media. This classic from 1991 is enthralling viewing with the best left for the last five minutes. I don't think he was far off the mark when it comes to where the media was heading at the time. Classic real TV for those who have some time to burn.

When it's time to resurface your street, how about they tar up to the corner and just leave a dirt track to your house ? At least taxpayers are having to foot less of the bill.
I’m sure homeowners will be happy to pay for infrastructure that affects the value of their investments.

Broadband is infrastructure.

At this point with some houses having fibre, some copper and some hybrid cable, home buyers are seeking homes with the fastest connection. Agents are stating that buyers are asking if the house has fibre. If no, then they say no thanks. Ask around. True story.