Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Cracking day in Sydney today. Warm without sweating your ring off.

I just posted this in a weather-related forum elsewhere......

"Amazingly dry airmass this one before the change.
Richmond currently 29.3 degrees, with minus 6.8 deg DP and humidity at 9%, giving an APP temp of 19.9 deg's.
In the shade, it does not feel hot at all.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I would think an app temp 10 deg's lower than the actual temp in the Sydney basin would be quite a rare occurrence."

Also, wherever you are in Sydney, I hope you've got a jumper with you.
It's going to feel decidedly colder this afternoon.
There was snow on the Snowy Mountains this morning.
Thanks mate. Got a jumper in my bag.

On your other post, I’m no weather specialist but Cairns is regularly 5 degrees higher on the ‘feels like’ measure. Also rarely gets above 35, but as soon as it’s close to 30 it is brutal.

Thanks mate. Got a jumper in my bag.

On your other post, I’m no weather specialist but Cairns is regularly 5 degrees higher on the ‘feels like’ measure. Also rarely gets above 35, but as soon as it’s close to 30 it is brutal.
Indeed, and yes, I'm aware of the brutal dew point temps in Cairns.
Darwin is even worse.
When DP's get above about 18 - 20 C, it starts to become very uncomfortable and one thing I have noticed recently is that parts of Sydney are getting worse for this over the past few summers - getting up to Cairns levels of around 25 degrees DP at times.
The minus 6.8 at Richmond that I quoted earlier indicates a very dry air-mass. It's actually now minus 9.6 atm.
This will increase this arvo as the southerly takes hold, bringing in more humid air.
Syd AP for instance currently has a DP of 14.6. The southerly hasn't reached Richmond yet. We still have strong dry westerlies here.
The feels like temp at Sydney AP is currently 14.9 behind the colder change!!! Hence the suggestion of a jumper.
It should be here in Castle Hill in the next hour or so and I'm looking forward to that.
It's fighting against the westerly currently but will eventually break through.