Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Cracking day in Sydney today. Warm without sweating your ring off.

I just posted this in a weather-related forum elsewhere......

"Amazingly dry airmass this one before the change.
Richmond currently 29.3 degrees, with minus 6.8 deg DP and humidity at 9%, giving an APP temp of 19.9 deg's.
In the shade, it does not feel hot at all.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I would think an app temp 10 deg's lower than the actual temp in the Sydney basin would be quite a rare occurrence."

Also, wherever you are in Sydney, I hope you've got a jumper with you.
It's going to feel decidedly colder this afternoon.
There was snow on the Snowy Mountains this morning.
Thanks mate. Got a jumper in my bag.

On your other post, I’m no weather specialist but Cairns is regularly 5 degrees higher on the ‘feels like’ measure. Also rarely gets above 35, but as soon as it’s close to 30 it is brutal.

Thanks mate. Got a jumper in my bag.

On your other post, I’m no weather specialist but Cairns is regularly 5 degrees higher on the ‘feels like’ measure. Also rarely gets above 35, but as soon as it’s close to 30 it is brutal.
Indeed, and yes, I'm aware of the brutal dew point temps in Cairns.
Darwin is even worse.
When DP's get above about 18 - 20 C, it starts to become very uncomfortable and one thing I have noticed recently is that parts of Sydney are getting worse for this over the past few summers - getting up to Cairns levels of around 25 degrees DP at times.
The minus 6.8 at Richmond that I quoted earlier indicates a very dry air-mass. It's actually now minus 9.6 atm.
This will increase this arvo as the southerly takes hold, bringing in more humid air.
Syd AP for instance currently has a DP of 14.6. The southerly hasn't reached Richmond yet. We still have strong dry westerlies here.
The feels like temp at Sydney AP is currently 14.9 behind the colder change!!! Hence the suggestion of a jumper.
It should be here in Castle Hill in the next hour or so and I'm looking forward to that.
It's fighting against the westerly currently but will eventually break through.

Indeed, and yes, I'm aware of the brutal dew point temps in Cairns.
Darwin is even worse.
When DP's get above about 18 - 20 C, it starts to become very uncomfortable and one thing I have noticed recently is that parts of Sydney are getting worse for this over the past few summers - getting up to Cairns levels of around 25 degrees DP at times.
The minus 6.8 at Richmond that I quoted earlier indicates a very dry air-mass. It's actually now minus 9.6 atm.
This will increase this arvo as the southerly takes hold, bringing in more humid air.
Syd AP for instance currently has a DP of 14.6. The southerly hasn't reached Richmond yet. We still have strong dry westerlies here.
The feels like temp at Sydney AP is currently 14.9 behind the colder change!!! Hence the suggestion of a jumper.
It should be here in Castle Hill in the next hour or so and I'm looking forward to that.
It's fighting against the westerly currently but will eventually break through.

I've never heard anyone describe the air conditions as a negative dew point temperature. We generally refer to it as the wet bulb temperature and the correlation of wet and dry bulb determines the relative humidity.

The dew point temperature is the temperature at which moisture will condense on a surface which is also determined by the RH.

Where are you getting this terminology from ?

I've never heard anyone describe the air conditions as a negative dew point temperature. We generally refer to it as the wet bulb temperature and the correlation of wet and dry bulb determines the relative humidity.

The dew point temperature is the temperature at which moisture will condense on a surface which is also determined by the RH.

Where are you getting this terminology from ?

How about we try the BoM and their official figures.

SYDNEY METROPOLITAN​

��
DirSpd
km/h
Gust
km/h
Spd
kts
Gust
kts
Dirkm/h
time
kts
time
Date/Time
EDT
Temp
°C
App
Temp
°C
Dew
Point
°C
Rel
Hum
%
Delta-T
°C
WindPress
MSL
hPa
Rain since
9am
mm
Low
Temp
°C
time
High
Temp
°C
time
Highest Wind Gust
Badgerys Creek23/08:10pm23.517.1-1.51911.1W222612141004.70.023.4
08:10pm
01:28pm
WNW67
11:17am
11:17am
Bankstown23/08:10pm20.316.910.7545.2ESE192410131005.20.020.2
03:02pm
W59
01:49pm
01:49pm
Camden23/08:10pm23.016.1-2.61811.1SW242813151004.90.023.0
01:53pm
WNW65
11:07am
11:07am
Campbelltown23/08:10pm22.318.5-1.12110.4SW91357-0.022.3
03:58pm
SW50
12:50pm
12:50pm
Canterbury23/08:10pm19.818.011.0574.8SE111568-0.019.7
07:56pm
12:18pm
W54
01:19pm
01:19pm
Fort Denison23/08:10pm-----SE91156----W61
01:26pm
01:26pm
Holsworthy23/08:10pm19.416.910.9584.7SE1517891005.20.019.4
03:52pm
WSW56
02:15pm
02:15pm
Holsworthy (Defence)23/08:10pm18.617.49.4554.9SE6734-0.018.6
03:22pm
WSW56
02:40pm
02:40pm
Horsley Park23/08:10pm19.517.79.4525.4ESE9955-0.019.5
03:08pm
NW52
11:35am
11:35am
Kurnell23/08:10pm-----SSE111367----NW67
11:52am
Little Bay23/08:10pm-----S7945----S50
02:31pm
02:31pm
Lucas Heights (ANSTO)23/08:00pm18.515.69.8574.6ESE1520811-0.0-----
North Head23/08:10pm-----SSE151789----S54
01:54pm
01:54pm
Parramatta23/09:00am25.322.49.7378.6WSW15-8--0.0-----
Penrith23/08:10pm23.819.7-0.52011.0W111367-0.023.7
04:02pm
W59
12:44pm
12:44pm
Richmond23/08:10pm24.018.2-1.81811.4WSW192010111004.70.023.9
02:52pm
W61
11:29am
11:29am
Sydney Airport23/08:10pm20.117.510.8555.1SE15198101005.30.019.6
08:05pm
01:15pm
W61
12:24pm
12:24pm
Sydney - Observatory Hill23/08:10pm20.018.711.2574.9SE9-5-1005.30.020.0
01:58pm
---
Sydney Harbour23/08:10pm20.2----SE111568--20.2
11:51am
W70
Sydney Olympic Park23/08:10pm19.817.711.3584.7SE131779-0.019.8
03:27pm
WNW52
11:58am
11:58am

You could always see this page as well, also from the BoM.

What’s the difference between dew point and humidity?​

They both measure moisture in the air, but dew point is related to the quantity of moisture, while relative humidity expresses how close the air is to saturation. Relative humidity is the amount of moisture as a percentage of the amount that air can hold – and warmer air can hold more moisture than cooler air. So, if the amount of moisture in the air stays the same but the temperature rises, the relative humidity falls. Conversely, if temperature falls, relative humidity rises.

Because of its direct relationship to fluctuating temperature, relative humidity doesn’t provide suitable guidance on how much moisture is available at a specific location. Dew point however, is relatively consistent – unless affected by weather systems, such as troughs and fronts. For this reason, meteorologists prefer to use dew point when analysing atmospheric moisture and inferring what the conditions may feel like – represented by the apparent (‘feels like’) temperature.