Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Germany pumps heaps of money into its own auto industry. Whether it's sustainable is a question for voters. Ford and Holden represent a view of Australia that many of our voters despise.

It's funny that buying an Australian made car was shamed into this Bogan mobile. The government had to give incentives to purchasing an Australian made vehicle. All government cars should of been a locally manufactured vehicle.

I was reading a good article about how the upper class seperate themselves from us plebs. Basically setting prices tot he point of ridiculous. Example are hotel rooms costing over 10k a night. At $1,000 whilst still expensive plenty could still treat themselves to it. The 10k isn't about the room. It is about keeping people from a different class away from them.

Eelogical

Germany pumps heaps of money into its own auto industry. Whether it's sustainable is a question for voters. Ford and Holden represent a view of Australia that many of our voters despise.
I wouldn't say despise. I would say 'ignorant of'. I would argue that as time went by and more people migrated to Australia they were jumping into brands that they were familiar with. Price, quality and heavy competition from imports are other factors that local manufacturing had to deal with. Even Toyota knew when to get out of local assembly.

Are you suggesting immigrants killed off Holden?

The point is 'Australians' are still buying Toyotas.

Eelogical

The point is 'Australians' are still buying Toyotas.
Why wouldn't they? Toyota has a worldwide reputation, OZ has citizens from all over the world. Toyota imported and assembled cars here for decades. They also knew when it was best policy to cease production here and revert to overseas operations. 'Australians' now have no choice but to look internationally for a new car. Toyota make vehicles that customers want. The RHD market has also to be considered at some point with an increasing number of manufacturers deciding to only make LHD variants in the future.

Why wouldn't they? Toyota has a worldwide reputation, OZ has citizens from all over the world. Toyota imported and assembled cars here for decades. They also knew when it was best policy to cease production here and revert to overseas operations. 'Australians' have no choice but to look internationally for a new car. Toyota make vehicles that customers want. The RHD market has also to be considered at some point with an increasing number of manufacturers deciding to make LHD variants in the future.

Also, people are still buying Toyotas because Toyota can build them cheaper overseas, keeping them more affordable here.
The Australian manufacturing industry is outrageously expensive.
It's no surprise that the car industry died here.

Eelogical

Also, people are still buying Toyotas because Toyota can build them cheaper overseas, keeping them more affordable here.
The Australian manufacturing industry is outrageously expensive.
It's no surprise that the car industry died here.
That was my inference. It's not only the car industry Suity, as you only know too well.