Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Fantasy Coach 2025

Ned Kelly

My cunning plan backfired spectacularly this week! I traded out Metcalf for Hosking with the leftover funds from my round 1 team. Metcalf then scored 64 to get back at me and Hosking went 53 and then broke his hand in sympathy with Metcalf.

Not taking it at all personally of course.

Up the Rabbitohs eh? :D
I think there's a fantasy league God who gets a good laugh from dealing out misfortune to decent blokes like you and me.

speedster

I think there's a fantasy league God who gets a good laugh from dealing out misfortune to decent blokes like you and me.
A distant cousin of the famed Footy Gods. Yes. The Fantasy Footy Gods. The poor man's Footy Gods. Footy Gods light!

They can laugh all they like! Well, I laugh right back.

(I may live to regret saying that). 😯

Nutz

Well in this round I'm going from the penthouse to the shitehausen.
I have no clue how I'm going to get out of a mess that is about to unfold..

speedster

A few players missing this week. I have 18 players after trading but I'm a bit concerned Jack Cole wont get a full game.

Things must be pretty bad when you say that.

What are your options Nutsy?

Nutz

A few players missing this week. I have 18 players after trading but I'm a bit concerned Jack Cole wont get a full game.

Things must be pretty bad when you say that.

What are your options Nutsy?
Isn't The Chin out meaning Cole will be running the show? Unless Cole is injured or out this might be a game where he scores 40+

Nutz

Covering byes is a tricky one for us coaches so he is this years list. Please let me know if I've made any mistakes.

We had the options to play during the bye rds so I've elected to do this.
This means there are 27 rds of which
rounds 12,13,15, 16,18 and 19 will now see a Fantasy team score aggregated from the 13 players on the field, allowing for auto-substitutions.
(Even selecting 13 guns can be tricky)
As mentioned before, don't stack your team with too many players from one club otherwise you'll have no players on their bye round ;)

2025 NRL Club Bye Rounds

Round 1 Gold Coast Titans
Round 2 Melbourne Storm
Round 3 St. George Illawarra
Round 4 Newcastle Knights
Round 5 New Zealand Warriors
Round 6 Canterbury Bulldogs
Round 7 North Queensland
Round 8 Parramatta Eels
Round 9 Manly Sea Eagles
Round 10 Sydney Roosters
Round 11 Penrith Panthers
Round 12 South Sydney Rabbitohs
Wests Tigers
St. George Illawarra
Brisbane Broncos
Gold Coast Titans
Melbourne Storm
North Queensland
Round 13 Cronulla Sharks
Canterbury Bulldogs
Dolphins
Round 14 Sydney Roosters
Round 15 Wests Tigers
Canberra Raiders
Brisbane Broncos
Melbourne Storm
New Zealand Warriors
Parramatta Eels
Penrith Panthers
Round 16 St. George Illawarra
Canterbury Bulldogs
Manly Sea Eagles
Round 17 Sydney Roosters
Round 18 Penrith Panthers
Newcastle Knights
Parramatta Eels
Cronulla Sharks
Dolphins
Gold Coast Titans
Round 19 Canberra Raiders
Manly Sea Eagles
South Sydney Rabbitohs
Round 20 Brisbane Broncos
Round 21 Dolphins
Round 22 Newcastle Knights
Round 23 Wests Tigers
Round 24 Canberra Raiders
Round 25 Cronulla Sharks
Round 26 South Sydney Rabbitohs
Round 27 North Queensland

speedster

Isn't The Chin out meaning Cole will be running the show? Unless Cole is injured or out this might be a game where he scores 40+
Yeah, hopefully, although they've selected Toelau in the 7 and Cole in the 6 with Talagi Schneider on the bench. So, could be that Talagi Schneider replaces one of the 2 halves to play 6.
Depends who's playing better, but hopefully Cole plays the main running the side and main kicker role.

Nutz

Reserves can eventually all be middles. You just cant sun a middle in for a hooker so that's why we make sure we can cover injuries or suspensions if they happen after Tuesday.
They all score in the same way as your starting side.
If your ½ gets injured in warm-ups and is replaced by their 18th man that's when your emergency player comes into play.....but only if you have a ½ in your emergency players.
If you have 2 x ½ backs in your emergencies the one on top will play not the next one down.
Last year, for some crazy reason I had 4 middles as reserves ha ha...
Please don't shoot me if I'm wrong as I don't read rules, I learn as I go.
Who needs instructions when your putting together something from Ikea...right? Ha ha

Nutz

Yeah, hopefully, although they've selected Toelau in the 7 and Cole in the 6 with Talagi Schneider on the bench. So, could be that Talagi Schneider replaces one of the 2 halves to play 6.
Depends who's playing better, but hopefully Cole plays the main running the side and main kicker role.
I just realised you weren't really asking a question but just throwing something out there. :)

Mate I've watched a bit of Cole now and I believe he'll be a great ½. He'll pick up more points at ½ because he'll touch the ball more. His pay put will be a good one next time around having played beside the best.

speedster

I just realised you weren't really asking a question but just throwing something out there. :)

Mate I've watched a bit of Cole now and I believe he'll be a great ½. He'll pick up more points at ½ because he'll touch the ball more. His pay put will be a good one next time around having played beside the best.
He's certainly got a bright future. Not sure he'll play the full 80 tonight is all but hopefully Schneider is there to spell Toelau and not Jack. ;) Having Talagi originally on the bench was more of a threat to Cole's minutes in the 6 although he could easily have shifted to 7. Anyhow, we'll see what Ivan does tonight in what is hopefully a losing effort.

Nutz

He's certainly got a bright future. Not sure he'll play the full 80 tonight is all but hopefully Schneider is there to spell Toelau and not Jack. ;) Having Talagi originally on the bench was more of a threat to Cole's minutes in the 6 although he could easily have shifted to 7. Anyhow, we'll see what Ivan does tonight in what is hopefully a losing effort.

Blaize Talagi just might have his head in the clouds and hasn't met Ivan's standards just yet.

There was some talk about Penrith not being happy with his footy IQ after the off and pre-season work. It's hard know if it's true or just media lies. It was on 360 after all.

If the comment is true, it sounds like he can't understand, or hasn't been able to execute their system. If it's true, it'd probably explain why Cole has got the jump on him and why he can't even make the bench when they're struggling with injuries.

He did spend time at Parra though and that would lower anyones IQ.

Nutz

Schneider came on and made a difference. Penrith scores 2 quick tries and look at better side. Only 28 - 12 down now ha ha

Nutz

Wow not since 2019, have the Panthers lost the first 3 rds.
It had to happen with how many troops they've lost.
Even more injuries tonight. Looks like a Tigers will have to hold the fort until they sharpen their claws again. :)

speedster

Even more injuries tonight. Looks like a Tigers will have to hold the fort until they sharpen their claws again. :)
Yeah, they had almost half as many out for tonight’s match as us. We, on the other hand were able to come off a 5 day turn around.😇

Rather happy with that result personally. Also with Cole’s 67. Never in doubt.😁

I was talking to my wife and stating maybe they've just gotten to a tipping point. They have lost so many players over the years and now they have injuries to two of their spine players. It's hard to keep covering that.

Ned Kelly

Hey DOM you have rushed out to an early lead in this game but I reckon it could go down to the last few minutes of the last game. It will all depend on if my Lads put in a decent effort.

Good luck.