Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL must be very wary of AFL junior development

bildo

I
I learnt my footy playing against my brothers and their friends in the backyard who were 2 to 3 years older than me. A six year old playing against a 9 year old is a big difference, as such I learnt to tackle properly.

We can't all be hero's, mate.

I hope all these parents afraid that their kids wll get hurt, also stop their kids playing together (unless they are twins).

I learnt my footy playing against my brothers and their friends in the backyard who were 2 to 3 years older than me. A six year old playing against a 9 year old is a big difference, as such I learnt to tackle properly.

We can't all be hero's, mate.

I'm certainly no hero but I agree with BAE.
Same deal, played fun footy with heaps of kids bigger than me (older brothers etc....). Often ended in tears but did me no harm.
Even junior footy was full of massive boofheads. We just got on with the job.

Delboy

Weight divisions will create problems, a 10 years old weighing say 55/60kg will be fodder for a 13 year old at the same weight. Then they would get roughed up.

Alternatively jockeys like Preston Campbell will play opposition many years their junior and carve them up each and every week.

there was a story about that problem on the news the other night as 12 or so junior clubs in the Parra/Penrith area will be having weight divisions

bildo

I always had to play against kids a couple of years older then me, because of my size . It was a bit daunting, but i'm so tough i coped . I would have loved to have played against kids considerably smaller than myself.
Thats what i call fun!

The Story goes, Parramatta wanted to implement something and called a meeting of the Junior Clubs, and not one Junior Club turned up to discuss.

But I think the answer is Age Bracket weight Limit.

So instead of having under 7 and under 8 have Under 8 <X Kg and Under 8 >X Kg.

Where X is the median of the spread of kids over the competition over the year, judge at the start of the year at Rego?

born an eel

the beauty of kids league was that there is a position for every kid.
the larger less mobile played in the forwards, the smaller quicker played halves and the faster played in the backs.

What happens to the slower, less talented kids in an similar weight category?.

mickdo

The Story goes, Parramatta wanted to implement something and called a meeting of the Junior Clubs, and not one Junior Club turned up to discuss.

But I think the answer is Age Bracket weight Limit.

So instead of having under 7 and under 8 have Under 8 <X Kg and Under 8 >X Kg.

Where X is the median of the spread of kids over the competition over the year, judge at the start of the year at Rego?

Yeah, that sounds like a more promising idea. Still, you'll never be able to please everyone... we humans were born to bitch and moan ;-)