Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL plans to drop draws

El Duque

If the QRL don't want it I seriosly doubt it will happen so how is the a NSW thing?

The NRL don't go hand in hand with S.O.O. at all. Just look at the judicial process for both.

O

ozbash

the judicial process !
if gordy belts someone in the SOO and gets 3 weeks suspension, he misses nrl games dont he?
the 2 work together,ie , hand in hand.
the nrl teams with heaps of SOO players in them miraculously get byes. not just 1 team ,but 3! hand in hand.
last years SOO was drawn, the nsw fans started screaming for a golden try,field goal. whats the nrl suggesting this year ? hand in bloody hand.

El Duque

Is Jim Hall on the judicial panel for S.O.O. matches? No

Can the NRL judiciary suspend a player for a tackle they did in a S.O.O. match? No

So how are they hand in hand?

O

ozbash

Is Jim Hall on the judicial panel for S.O.O. matches? the ARL have more clues than to employ jimmy.

Can the NRL judiciary suspend a player for a tackle they did in a S.O.O. match? no, the player will already be suspended by the ARL judiciary which carries into NRL.its very wrong, the suspension for offences commited in SOO,should be served in SOO matches, vice versa for NRL,international games.cayless's suspension is a glaring example of how f**ked up the oz judicial system is..

this is getting away from the point tho,,why,if the golden point rule is so bloody great, are the only ones chasing it ,the NRL ?

is little johnnys under 8 saturday morning sandshoe footy team going to have to do a bit more training in case they have to play extra time in the event of a draw ???? bloody stoopid.

SOO is administered by the NSWRL and QRL.

My understanding is that these two bodies have already had some sort of discussion regarding extra time in next year's Origin. The NRL wasn't involved.

O

ozbash

yea,, thats right willow.....nswrl and qrl.
emembarrassed.gif

they come under the umbrella of the arl

hand in hand !

Yeah ok... For those who just came in, the ARL are not the QRL or the NSWRL anymore than the NRL are the CRL or the NZRL. And the ESL and AMNRL are nowhere to be seen.
Hope that clears things up.
emdgust.gif

El Duque

OB, you are making yourself look stupid. The NSWRL tried to get extra time for S.O.O. after the first drawn seriesbut the QRL knocked it back.

I've always thought the golden point rule is a dumb way to decide the game.

If there is a big wind blowing the ground, one team has a large advantage over the other. It cvan be an unfair way of deciding a game.

I'd prefer to seem my team win rather than draw, but I can appreciate that sometimes things don't go the way you want them to.

I tend to agree with ozbash, the only reason this is being discussed is because the SOO didn't go the way NSW wanted it to.

Yes the NRL is a different comp to the SOO and run by different people but we have had draws in RL for a long time and I've never heard too much talk about it before this season. What has been so different about this year compared to any other year - NSW missed out on the shield thanks to a drawn game.

I've never been put off watching a game because it might end in a draw, but I reckon I'd feel a bit ripped off if my team had fought hard all game to snatch a draw, then lose the game thanks to an arsy drop goal in extra time with a howling gale behind them.

El Duque

This rule so far does not even apply to S.O.O. so I don't know why it's being mentioned.

Did the Cowboys and Brisbane object to the rule change?

imported_Outlaw

This is a great discussion, and well done to all for some top comments.
El Duque brings up a very valid point about the golden point rule coming in. This may still be in the early stages of induction, but I'm sure the NRL wouldn't of raised the issue and story if it had not of already put the plan across to all clubs. I don't know if all teams have given it the thumbs up, but certainly there musta been a unanimous vote from the teams for its support rather than against. Might have even been an overwhelming support.
I'm in favour of scraping the draws too. I think they're pretty close to being worthless these days. I'd rather see my team either win or loose -- nothing in between. Either one of those results gives me some satisfaction and feedback as to how my team performed on the day. I get next to no satisfaction out of a draw. It's almost like "why bother to show up for a game that's not going to pan a result either way?" That may be a harsh analogy, but it's just my personal opinion.
SOO is administered by the NSWRL and QRL
G'day Willow. In all honesty mate, how much of a seperate entity are these three organizations? I mean do they really do things on their own, or is their a link?Surely the NRL has a very strong hold and influence over these sanctioning bodies final decisions...corect? That's what I've always beleived. You know..the NRL holds the "Big Brother" tag.That question is in light of the ending sentence in your reply 45. I'm asking you because I value your opinion and insight. Cheers mate.
BTW to anyone who can help: How exactly does the NFL do things as far as the golden point rule is concerned? Is it the first team to score after fulltime when the scores are locked? What happens if no team was to score in the allocated time after the regular time and they're still locked up?
Thanks.

O

ozbash

"OB, you are making yourself look stupid"

lol, thats the understatement of the year..

i do concede that i thought the ARL was the governing body for SOO,an to a lesser degree i still think they have some control...

i shall be saving all the interesting things i have learnt in this thread for the footy quiz.....:D

C

CanadianSteve

" How exactly does the NFL do things as far as the golden point rule is concerned? Is it the first team to score after fulltime when the scores are locked? What happens if no team was to score in the allocated time after the regular time and they're still locked up?"
The NFL has a coinflip to start the extra period, and the winner chooses to kick or receive, as at the start of a game. The first team to score wins. In NA we call that sudden death overtime (also in hockey), you call it golden point. At the end of one overtime period a regular-season game ends in a tie (draw). In a playoff game they would keep playing more periods until there was a winner.
I'm interested to hear any comments on the NCAA (US college) overtime, which I described in an earlier post.

But hold on, have the NZRL, ESL, QRL, AMNRL etc etc actually come out and said that they don't like the proposed rule change? I think we are assuming that they WON'T be in favour of the change.

Noodle - At the end of the day, each side would've played with the galeforce wind for 40mins (after 80mins have finished). Do u get as annoyed when a team has a galeforce in the first 40, and then when the 2nd half starts, it has died down? It affects more than field goal attempts, general kicking in play is heavily influenced by winds.

I just don't understand the thinking behind the benefits of a draw. I mean, take everything out and think about how you feel after draw (any game, not just the teams you follow). I don't know, i just feel terribly underwhelmed by the whole experience when the teams come out with the same result that they went in with. (ie: Draw). The game starts as a draw, why should it finish the same way? Its illogical, pure and simple. Like playing a draw in test cricket. What are the five days for??

I know its a simplified view of a draw, but thats what it comes down to when you trim away all the fat.

Moffo

Moff

Over 80 minutes, as you have pointed out the weather can sometimes change, but don't quite get your point.

The weather changing doesn't annoy me,it is just part of the game.

However when in a golden point situation there are a number of effects that immediately affect the outcome of a game - the weather was just one example - a bad refs decision is another.

Over a period of time these things tend even out and are part of the game, but there is no chance for these things to even out once you get into the golden point scenario.

I sat through 3 draws this year for my team and you just get a different feeling that what you normally experience from a win or a loss, but the finish is still exciting.

I'm still yet to be convinced that drawsare putting people off the game.

If draws a such a blight on the game that it needs fixing, then I'll be supportive of a change.

But the golden point rule is a dumb way of doing it.

"Like playing a draw in test cricket. What are the five days for?? "
With respect Moffo, that was spoken like a like novice... which I know you're not.
'Saving' a Cricket match is sometimes as important as winning it.

While you may be somewhat shocked by people being negative about doing away with draws, I think it can be argued that you're being equally negative about keeping draws.

Just asin Cricket, draws in RL are often the result of one team coming back to 'save' the game.

While I sometimes feel flat after a draw,on some occasions I feel that my team should have won while on some other occasions I feel that that they did well to 'snatch' the one point.

It all depends on the circumstances and in that, draws are part of the game and are also part of the game plan as both teams get closer to fulltime in a tight match.

As for the gale force wind example...well, offcourse this is served up both ways and its part of the game if the wind dies down at half time but what of the golden point? Canadian Steve said that in Nth America, they toss a coin to decide the direction in extra time. With a golden point situation ina gale, the game has literally been decided by the toss of a coin.
I know its only a hypothetical but imo, such a finish would leave me feeling flatter than a draw.

One quick thought.

There was a time when teams on equal competition points had to go through 'play-off' matches to qualify for the semi-finals. IMO, it was a good move to involve 'for and against' ratios when deciding competition ladder placements.

Its not entirely relevant to the conversation but by bringing in 'for and against' as a governing factor on a competition ladder lessened the impact of a drawn result.

Nowadays, a teams position on the ladder is also effected by the amount of tries they score. IMO, this is more in line with the spirit of the game. Perhaps this would have been a more constructive area to pursue rather than contemplating the possible scenarios of having a golden point.

Equally, with due respect, i mentioned in my post that it was a simplistic view of a draw. I was using it to illustrate my point. If you scrape away all the other rules and aspects of cricket......the ESSENTIAL result was that you played five days for no conclusion. Fundamentally (and not taking anything else into account), i find it odd that a game could be played for so long and have no conclusion where one side is declared 'a winner'. Whether its 5 days or 80 minutes, if you are going to take the time to play/watch it, invest money in it (be it buying merchandise, tickets of food and bev), you might as well end up with a conclusion. Sport is designed to produce winners and losers.

Coming back to save a draw in RL? With respect, i dont think that happens a lot. The difference between a win and a loss in RL may be as small as a missed goal kick.I dont think a team that is 20 behind would be thinking about 'saving the game'. They just want to score points! I don't think that they go out with the sole objective of scoring exactly 20 points.

Noodle, I know the wind point is getting a bit pedantic, but its very rare that you would see a situation where the wind 'perfectly' benefits one side. Anyone who kicks field goals would know how hard an art it is, and to get the wind directly behind your back is rare. If the wind is blowing across the ground, or even marginally to the left or right, its not necessarily going to be of assistance. What i mean is that there are so many factors that influence the result in a RL game, you are never going to get it perfect. I just like seeing results, thats just my humble position on it.

Im not deadset against draws, but i prefer a result. Im just being negative on the people who are being negative about a proposed change, that at the least, deserves a trial. (if that makes sense lol). Its all about trying to improve the game.

Moffo

Errrmmm, if i can draw a comparision to support my point. Sport is entertainment, fair enough?? OK, say if you applied a similar situation to a movie at the cinema. You sit there for 2hrs and at the end your left at a climax (which is usually the case at the end of a drawn game), and they leave you hanging and tell you to pay $15 next month to see the second installment (like the Matrix). Do you feel that you deserved some sort of conclusion for the money and time that you invested??

Well i do :DAnyways, thats a warped view on the point im trying to make.

Moffo

I already said I agree with the idea that the more footy we get the better. I just don't think this has been that well thought out.
Consider again how you would feel if a team, say Canterbury, were beaten in extra time by Parramatta courtesy of a wind assisted 40m field goal... all because they won the toss at fulltime.