Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 1 2025 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

It's here again, and who's not refreshed and ready to go?

Apparently, NRL fans are getting married in LV, and that's all good, as long as it lasts, but we should be wary of a marriage between the game and gambling. The two have always co-existed, there's no denying that, but how long is this 'marriage at first sight-esque' extravaganza going to last? The full five years, then more? We'll see.

On to footy, albeit six or so metres less of it for the first two games. I was encouraged when I read our tipping thread and the Warriors raced out as clear favourites, but then some regular, wary, posters came down hard with Canberra. Look, it's gonna be close. We know this. There's pressure on both coaches after poor seasons in '24.

The Sharks have our former big guy there and he'll want to make an immediate impact. Do the Panthers still have that hard edge after five seasons of grand final action? Their fans are all over LV, bugger me, you go all that way and it's like being at Panthers Leagues?

Thursday, back on home turf. Roosters v Broncos. Big egos shunted out of 'Vegas. Robbo has 'got to go', according to my hardcore Chooks' mate. His roster should mean more success. People talk about the back-to-back '18/19 premierships but that's like ancient history now, Tedesco, Cronk, Cordner may as well be Tiberius, Socrates and Aristotle in that context. Life moves so fast.

Friday, Wests have a pretty good spine, but Benji is still an unknown, and the Knights are wooden spoon favourites. Break out the Tigers gear, it's all love and optimism at this time of year, and I even had a regular customer at work who was head-to-toe with it all through the summer (he's a bit 'simple' though, as you'd expect).

Dolphins v Rabbitohs. Ol' Wayne will want his way over Woolf. Tipping's tough! Souths have pivotal injuries though, with Mitchell and Murray. Is Cody still surly too? Off-field poison is so damaging.

Saturday, the Dragons and Bulldogs is standard Sydney fare, and Manly are at home to NQ, where Daly will be the NRL's last player born in the 1980s still running around!

We close with the dreaded Storm hosting Parramatta. Tipping's easy, sometimes! Looking way ahead, to grand final night, if it has to be Melbourne playing the inevitable Penrith, then I'll be in purple. That shows how desperate I am for change!

Enjoy!

Blair

Getting home after a loss is never nice. Here's me thinking about depressing train journeys through western Sydney! On this note, let's hope the Warriors win.

Blair

Blair is back, it must be footy season !! Manly v Cowboys is on the beaches mate

Speaking of depressing, my aunty had a medical issue at Auckland Airport and couldn’t get on the plane to Vegas, the things supporting the Warriors can do to your health !!
I passed by Brookie a few times during the summer, just groundskeepers mowing lawns, a club official or two milling around, a tradie or two measuring something up. It was very tranquil and a nice change from the busy road. That all changes next week!

Sorry to hear about your Aunt missing the trip.

Big Marn

Blair is back, it must be footy season !! Manly v Cowboys is on the beaches mate

Speaking of depressing, my aunty had a medical issue at Auckland Airport and couldn’t get on the plane to Vegas, the things supporting the Warriors can do to your health !!
That sux about your Aunt....

Blair

A nice touch from the LV Raiders would've been four commemorative helmets to each visiting NRL team. It's something the Warriors would always have at their HQ.

But let's hope the LV Raiders are even aware that we're there!

Blair

The England women’s side are terrible, have to think the Kiwi Ferns would’ve been a better opponent.
It's a bloody long flight home for many. At night, somewhere over the Pacific, where turbulence is an issue, Webby might have a good think about things.

Blair

Have a rule that I don’t change my tips after I put them in

Changed Panthers to Sharks a day or 2 after entering them …

Penrith won't get beaten from here. 24-10, 24 mins to go.

How many Warriors fans have stuck around?

Edit: it's a new season. The Sharks might win! 24-22, Panthers. Nine mins left.

Blair

Panthers did the job and closed it out. Good game though, Sharks in it to the end.
28-22. Final. That might be the GF too. Although Melbourne might also be in the mix. So, Fonua-Blake was really good but, just like with us, it's not enough to win every game.

'Vegas' is done for another year. Thank god, what a circus. I know people dig it though.

Meth

I said this elsewhere, but I was gutted that we went to Vegas. I knew we'd shit the bed and I also think it'll have an impact on our season. I'd be surprised if we're fresh and raring to go against Manly.

Blair

I said this elsewhere, but I was gutted that we went to Vegas. I knew we'd shit the bed and I also think it'll have an impact on our season. I'd be surprised if we're fresh and raring to go against Manly.
If anything it feels more like an end of season exhibition. After a long season the club gets to unwind, then have the summer to recover.

I remember how dizzy I was after my US trip, way back in '95. It took me a long time to get back into normal life. Las Vegas was a magical experience.

Penrose Warrior

Sharks can win the premiership based on that performance. Trindall was bloody great, so was Kennedy and their forwards are elite. They only got beat by Cleary magic and a side who knows nothing but winning