Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Reopens Melbourne Storm Salary Cap Investigation

I just walked past billy slater and ben barba outside the GF breakfast at pyrmont .... it crossed my mind to push billy in the harbour, but didn't think he was worth the jail time ....if cameron smith had of been standing there instead i would have been more tempted

DeanPay98

That comment from Smith is really insulting. They cheated the entire NRL for four years. If it had been any other club the penalties would have been more severe and the investigation would have been more extensive. I really think that Smith and the other three should have been banned for three years from the game.

Utey

I want the Dogs to win, but I just can't see it happening. Melbourne will wrestle and generally bore the sh*t out of us all for 80 minutes, get the rub of the green and go on to win what I believe is an illegitimate title. Hope I'm wrong.

born an eel

I think this attitude and lack of action from the NRL gives the green light to all clubs to cheat the cap, just try not to get caught. The penalties will never match the crime in my opinion.

How come a comment from a coach about an obviously wrong decision gets a $10k fine for bringing the code into disrepute but comments like these go unchecked.

Simple thing to do is just cheat the cap, get caught and independently release the players you need to to get back under the cap. History suggests within two seasons you win a comp. You mAy lose or play for no points in whatever season you are caught however other than the financial penalty you aren't subjected to really intrusive scrutiny and if the players refuse to be involved in any investigation there isn't any real problem.

Sphagnum

I think this attitude and lack of action from the NRL gives the green light to all clubs to cheat the cap, just try not to get caught. The penalties will never match the crime in my opinion.

How come a comment from a coach about an obviously wrong decision gets a $10k fine for bringing the code into disrepute but comments like these go unchecked.

Spot on, mate. The arrogance shown by this pack of w@nkstains is intolerable.

It's unbelievable that the NRL sit back and let them sh!t all over their decision without taking strong action against them for it.

He's a great player - Cameron Smith, but he will always be remembered by me as one of the most ungracious, arrogant, self indulgent f*$kwits to ever have laced on a footy boot.

Kornstar

I want the Dogs to win, but I just can't see it happening. Melbourne will wrestle and generally bore the sh*t out of us all for 80 minutes, get the rub of the green and go on to win what I believe is an illegitimate title. Hope I'm wrong.

This is exactly what will happen, sadly :(

It makes me wonder what the players and coaches of the other NRL teams think of comments like these.
Seems they only say these kinds of things to a newspaper reporter or in front of their own teammates...but never in front of their opposition.
There may be an incredible hatred brewing towards Smith and the like when these comments come out.

What does his own teammate in Todd Lowrie think of this?
He may say that he doesn't give a shit, but I would bet that underneath he is absolutely seething. Honestly who wouldn't be?

Tooooks

Smith is an absolute disgrace. The arrogance of this bloke is amazing. There's no doubt in my mind he was aware - at least on some level - of the rorts occurring in the club during 06-10. He manages his own finances does he not? He refuses to co-operate in an investigation and gets of scot free (along with the other cheats). He is teflon.

Joshuatheeel

Smith is an absolute disgrace. The arrogance of this bloke is amazing. There's no doubt in my mind he was aware - at least on some level - of the rorts occurring in the club during 06-10. He manages his own finances does he not? He refuses to co-operate in an investigation and gets of scot free (along with the other cheats). He is teflon.

I believe all the players that signed two contracts or received large gifts must have realised some thing was not right. Also how the hell does the coach not know - if I was a nrl coach I would want to know/be in charge of determining what players are offered and how the cap is looking .

I also believe Brian Waldron has been made a scapegoat in this whole rort as there is no way only one person could do all the cheating within a club with out several others knowing / assisting - one day he will hopefully talk and let us all know the full story

he was supposed to be writing a tell-all book dunno what happened to it

What does his own teammate in Todd Lowrie think of this?
He may say that he doesn't give a shit, but I would bet that underneath he is absolutely seething. Honestly who wouldn't be?

todd has had ample time to voice his concerns by now i haven't heard a peep from him

for that matter when it came time for the big player cleanout to get back under the cap why wasnt todd the first one to put his hand up?