Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rookie Show

taipan

I enjoyed the show.
Any publicity IMO is good publicity for the NRL,after all the over hyped crap we get about fumble ball in the media.

Clifferd

Yeah I enjoyed it also, I'll be watching it regularly

It's a shame they didn't persist with Seppo Hayne, would have been interesting to see what he could have done with a bit more training

Clifferd

Most of the challenges have f**k all to do with rugby league. Who gives a rats arse of you can bungee jump or hold your breath or piggy back your gay mate.

That's the point? Challenges to test your mindset

During an NRL Pre season the first couple months would have f**k all to do with rugby league also, it's all about getting up to scratch in the fitness and mentality part of it all.

LeagueXIII

Exactly, it was about mental strength, which is a huge part of rugby league and puts it above other codes.

Usain Bolt

They could do without all the slow motion dramatic scenes. It's obvious they're trying to be like Hard Knocks on HBO. Show us more of the footy

How the f**k did Rowdy Shearer's boy make the cut?

I really enjoyed it. Will watch again.

Most of the challenges have f**k all to do with rugby league. Who gives a rats arse of you can bungee jump or hold your breath or piggy back your gay mate.

You obviously didn't watch Cricket Superstar with Alan Border.

expansionist

How the f**k did Rowdy Shearer's boy make the cut?

I really enjoyed it. Will watch again.

My thoughts exactly.

But then of course i would say a lot of these guys were chosen based on back stories or other factors than just ability alone.

What does really get to me though is these guys (such as the American) who were selected despite not playing RL. Id be happy to be proven wrong but he never played RL in the US and came to Australia to play RU?

If I was the selector for NRL Rookie, I would look at some of these guys and say to myself - So.. he's so keen to make it in the NRL that he chooses to play a rival sport??

Broncos93

A huge part of the selection criteria was personal circumstance and back story.

Psychology testing and a interview with the producers was part of the trials.

Weiry

Damn gotta feel sorry for Hamza didn't even touch the ball! I'm thinking there maybe will be some returns half way through the series thinking Hamza, Seppo Hayne and the Cop would be my top 3 to return (If there will be rookies returning)

Bit of a shame that there aren't any other former NYC players other than Lou Goodiwn. I know that Ben Hannaway, Fred Latulipe, Alvin Matavao and Byron Freuan all signed up and I thought atleast one or two of them would be on it. Latulipe was surprising because his video was getting a lot of attention.

Just watched the encore on Ch 9. I actually thought it was good. Although I would've thought they cut a few players each episode rather than 14. Must be a short series but I'll definitely watch the next one.

Seems pretty pointless to choose an NFL guy who has never played and cut him after one episode.

Enjoyed the show and will continue to watch. Someone like Matty Gorman could be the type of player this show should seek to unearth. Didn't start playing until 18 so would have missed most of the rep stuff rather than guys who have had shots already at the NRL and not made it.

Some of these 27 year olds will be ready to retire by the time the rookie contract is awarded.

DiegoNT

Only watched the 1st bit of it. Did the former pommy union player make it through? My Gaydar blew up big-time before he even mentioned he collected women's handbags. How many episodes until he comes out do you guys reckon?

thorson1987

Only watched the 1st bit of it. Did the former pommy union player make it through? My Gaydar blew up big-time before he even mentioned he collected women's handbags. How many episodes until he comes out do you guys reckon?

Yeah both poms made it through.

Matty Gorman plays for the Corrimal Cougars and Daniel Caprice plays for Berkley eagles yet they have them playing for other clubs lol.