Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL theme song for 2005? we need a new one!

gregstar

"florida dream" the old ABC cricket music from the seventies as heard on '72 fast & furious

izzo

Thunderstruck said:
I disagree on R&B/Hip hop song for NRL, the hip hop culture is simply nowhere near as strong, if it's even in it, as in the NBA and NFL. They should stick to rock music and pick a good one at that, the current song is crap for an intense hard hitting impact sports. They need more drum beats.

True, real Hip-hop heads in Australia are not drawn in by ad's that are displaying one of the 4 elements of hip-hop. Since the things been portrayed in the ad are usualy inaccurated or are seen as a cop out. So stick to the pimped out pop or rock and roll for the ad's..

Razor

just look at the line up's weve had the last few years for the grand final.
Billy Idol, Meat Loaf and now Chris Isaak Rolling Eyes talk about old fart syndrome.

They have more than one act at each Grand Final for the different demographics

Last year

For the over 20s - Meat Loaf
For the under 20s - Kelly Clarkson

This year

For the over 20s - Chris Issak
For the under 20s - Grinspoon

So do you want two under 20s act at each Grand Final? The best thing to do is to have 2 acts to suit the different demographics.

Kris_man

"Simply The Best" was far and away the best theme song in any sport, not just rugby league. that and "What You Get is What You See". i don't know why they ever got rid of them.

Razor

Kris_man said:
"Simply The Best" was far and away the best theme song in any sport, not just rugby league. that and "What You Get is What You See". i don't know why they ever got rid of them.

Simply The Best was fantastic. They need to bring Tina back

CC_Eagle

redVgirl said:
god NO not that bloody p.diddy godzilla song! they have played that at every sydney origin since the late 90s i swear to god. ITS BEEN DONE!

i disagree with a hip hop feel, it doesnt work with footy. and as much as i love barnsey 'no second prize' is quite a slow depressing song....not exactly one to get you hyped up. although that scribe song is great and i think it could work in some ads, it may be a bit obscure for the mainstream audience...especially the older league fans.

as for gettin out of the 80s, im all for going a bit more modern....but theres a reason why the 80s songs tend to work. because they have a bit of nostalgia to them! picking a theme song just coz its in the charts now...i dunno it just doesnt have the same feeling. classic songs are classic for a reason.

anyway i think 'thats my team' will probably go around a few more years, it is a good song ill admit.

Agree totally. If Jimmy Page was dead he would be rolling in his grave knowing that some talentless rapper was ripping off his riff (Kashmir) for some crappy hip hop song. Why they play hip hop at an Australian football game I have no idea. Agree totally about 80's songs. If it sparks a connection with the fans, be it nostalgic or emotional then why the hell not? If theres a connection generally the audience will enjoy it more.

CC_Eagle

WarriorDog said:
What was the theme song in 2002? Can anyone remember?

I like "thats my Team"..retain it for another year..I aint sick of it yet :D

Was it Tom Jones' "What a Game" or Tom Kenelley's "I love my footy"?

redVgirl

bartman said:
Surandy said:
What about Jet - "Are You Gonna Be My Team?"
:clap: That'd be great!

NOOOOOOOO! bloody jet have whored themselves out to so many companies already. its a great song but its so freaking over played.

hmmm what about the foo fighters 'hero'?? thats used really well in the 'varsity blues' movie. its got some good grinding guitar and suitable lyrics. it could work! :idea:

CC_Eagle

Jet have been sooo overkilled it isnt even entertaining music anymore. I think that no matter what the artist/band it should always be an Aussie....I reckon The Living End, The Casanovas or The Datsuns doing a cover of "Long Way To The Top" would be f**king tops for an NRL theme...

BuffaloRules

redVgirl said:
hmmm what about the foo fighters 'hero'?? thats used really well in the 'varsity blues' movie. its got some good grinding guitar and suitable lyrics. it could work! :idea:

Good call.

griff

Razor said:
Kris_man said:

I agree, Simply the Best was just awesome - how many ads do people still talk about over 10 years later?

But you couldn't really use that old a song for an ad today. It needs to be modernised a bit and that's why I suggested updating it by doing a remix of it the way they did with A Little Less Conversation. That ad (done by Nike for the 2002 soccer World Cup) was great.

CC_Eagle

griff said:
Razor said:
Kris_man said:

I agree, Simply the Best was just awesome - how many ads do people still talk about over 10 years later?

But you couldn't really use that old a song for an ad today. It needs to be modernised a bit and that's why I suggested updating it by doing a remix of it the way they did with A Little Less Conversation. That ad (done by Nike for the 2002 soccer World Cup) was great.

No thanks..That song has been way overkilled in every sporting event on earth. Thankgod it never reached the NRL." Champion" by Grinspoon would be f**king tops :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

griff

CC_Eagle said:
griff said:

No thanks..That song has been way overkilled in every sporting event on earth. Thankgod it never reached the NRL." Champion" by Grinspoon would be f***ing tops :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Mate read what I wrote.

I didn't say use "A Little Less Conversation", I said do a remix of "Simply the Best" like they did to "A Little Less Conversation".

Kris_man

But you couldn't really use that old a song for an ad today. It [Simply the Best]needs to be modernised a bit and that's why I suggested updating it by doing a remix of it the way they did with A Little Less Conversation. That ad (done by Nike for the 2002 soccer World Cup) was great.
i like the old simple version of the song, but i reckon that'd work too. people have suggested "where's your head at", "champion" grinspoon. the latter's a top moshing song or just to crank up loud, but the NRL theme song?? no way, i just can't see its connection with sport. on that's my team: it's too "happy". i want a bit of oomph, a big of gusto in the theme song.
i don't like this idea of taking an old song and just changing the lyrics, eg, "that's my team" and "are you gonna be my team", it sounds cheap. has anyone here heard the Raiders theme song? it's awesome: aggressive, it gets you pumped, and best of all, you can sing along with it.