Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Weekend Vs NFL Sunday

Bgoodorgoodatit

was just thinking about this the other day and thought i would jump on and guage a response from some league diehards such as myself

do you think it would be possible for league to imitate what the nfl does and play all games on sunday bar one on a monday night.

i understand that this would probably never happen but during my time in the states i came to enjoy having a masive day of football on sundays

proposed benefits-

contribute greatly to crowd numbers with maybe 5 games played through the day with two sunday night games and on monday night game.

this would be great for families and season ticket holders alike with a majority of day games for the little ones as well as season ticket holders knowing that there game will most likely be on a sunday (no more waiting for draws to see if your able to make the game)

i also imaginge that most games would be played on a dry track which would be more condusive to a faster more open style of rugby league that fans such as myself love. thus further improving the spectical and bring fans back to the game.

oh and before everyone starts geting to me about tv rights and how day games wont work, remember that the NFL is the single biggest sporting product in the world as far as crowds and television rights are concerned and the networks over there scramble for it with differnt channels having the rights to different games the majority of which are played through the day!

oh and one other thing i grew up playing for paddington tigers and roosters juniors in sydney and remember that which my rego i got a card that got me into any game for i think it was like 5 bucks or something. does anyone know if the NSWRL still do this? cause if so then maybe you could play all the junior league games on saturdays giving all the kids a chance to get to the NRL games on sundays.

thoughts?????

griff

The US has more games in different time zones, which allows them to schedule games that don't clash but that are played at decent times of day.

I think we should have more Sunday games though. In the old days they used to announce the scores from the other games over the speaker and you really felt like you were part of something bigger than just the one game you were at.

Dogs Of War

Nine wouldn't allow to have no games on Friday night.

No one says you have to abandon Friday night. Just have the one game on Friday, Saturday and Monday nights. The rest are played on Sunday afternoon. Probably be able to schedule every warriors home game on a Sunday afternoon for double header purposes, and some 2pm games, and some 4pm games to allow for a Super Sunday. Hopefully later if a Perth team is introduced, then you can have there games on Sundays as well allow for another game to be televised (as they are a different timezone).

wittyfan

this is obviously something that would have to be done upon renegotiation of the television rights in 2011

but more importantly what do you think of the idea?

I pretty much like the way it is now, though I would move the Monday night game to Sunday arvo.

eastsrule

The whole game day feel really contributes to the atmosphere at stadiums and gets fans more excited.

With a game one game on friday, one on monday and the rest on a mixture of times on sunday afternoon, it would be a great idea.

1. Friday night
2. Friday night
--
3. Saturday arvo
4. Saturday night
--
5. Sunday arvo
6. Sunday arvo
7. Sunday arvo
8. Sunday arvo (occasional Monday)

Mong

Not living in Sydney i like having a string of NRL games to watch on a Saturday night as my only option to watch the Game ( i won't pay to go to a broncos game unless my team is against them)..

I am pretty happy with how it is, only change i would make would be to get rid of the second Friday night game..

Lockyer4President!

I'd love to see the NRL play a majority of games on a Sunday or Saturday arvo with a night game or two on another time.

Unfortunately I can't ever see the NRL or ARL having that much bargaining power with the tv networks, especially when some other comps are more than willing to sell their souls for the TV dollar.

Mr Opinionated

Here is why the majority of NFL games are on Sunday:

Friday = High School Football
Saturday = College Football
Sunday/Monday = NFL

The only time you would find an NFL game not on Sunday or Monday is on 'special' occasions like Thanksgiving or the start of the season or when the college football season is over.

Johnny Bravo

As said before, in the US, they have college football shown the other nights in the weekend. (Which actually has a larger viewing audience than the NFL in some games). We simply do not have the quality of competition to support something like that in the other days. The US has a large timezone span that allows them to fit more live games into one day without putting the games at ridiculous times.

That type of model simply wouldn't work IMO. To be honest I think the current model works for us, on sundays anyway. You can watch footy from 11:30am (Toyota Cup) till 6pm. It'd be great if we could limit the amount of night games but the reality is, that as it stands, there isn't much room for improvement. Saturday day games can't happen due to junior sports and sundays are already pretty full.

With a WA team and another NZ team it is more possible. Sunday afternoons would definately be a big crowd booster I would say.

sretsoor

I like how the NFL has bidding for different games not years with the TV rights. Thus why one week one game is FOX or ESPN, ABC or whatever. Makes a lot more money rather the selling the whole package (cheaply).

LeedsRhinos

I like how the NFL has bidding for different games not years with the TV rights. Thus why one week one game is FOX or ESPN, ABC or whatever. Makes a lot more money rather the selling the whole package (cheaply).

The NFL is marketed far better and is bigger than the NRL, Super League, Super 14 or any Rugby competition in any code worldwide, thems the facts.

They need to show a game or two on Sunday on delay so when you get back from the live game you can sit down and continue the RL Sunday feast!

Johnny Bravo

That's not entirely true, some channels get the AFC and others get NFC. It's only playoffs that are auctioned isn't it?

In-goal

I like the idea, if the NRL expands by 2 more clubs creating a 9th fixture the draw should be as follows

1 Friday night
7 Sunday Afternoon
1 Monday night

The Friday and Monday matches are to be nominated before the season commences.

In-goal

Futhermore, Sunday afternoon kickoff should be 4pm to allow people time to get jobs done on a Sunday morning and still be able to make it to the ground with plenty of time to be home early after the matches.