Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL360

Vee

FWIW, I'd like Lara in charge. I've been a fan for years but find my interest waning as the journos' egos continue to mushroom out of control and they yell louder and louder as they try to talk over each other as they become more and more addicted to the sound of their own voices.

The choice of new host is important to me, I'm just about ready to give up on the show.

I'm not interested in the opinions of Sloshfeld and the bald idiot, just give me their inside knowledge and f*ck off.

A pleasing sub-plot is developing where the other three lol laugh openly at Sloshfeld when his dementia kicks in and he starts yelling at clouds.

FWIW, I'd like Lara in charge. I've been a fan for years but find my interest waning as the journos' egos continue to mushroom out of control and they yell louder and louder as they try to talk over each other as they become more and more addicted to the sound of their own voices.

The choice of new host is important to me, I'm just about ready to give up on the show.

I'm not interested in the opinions of Sloshfeld and the bald idiot, just give me their inside knowledge and f*ck off.

A pleasing sub-plot is developing where the other three lol laugh openly at Sloshfeld when his dementia kicks in and he starts yelling at clouds.
Drop Hooper and Slothfield and just have Hadley and see if Masters is interested. At least they can talk without shouting! Grahama nd Marshall are great. Time to hit the refresh button on the show after ten years.

The scary thing is in recent times Slothfield has made the most sense out of them all!!

Vee

The scary thing is in recent times Slothfield has made the most sense out of them all!!
It doesn't happen often but yes, I have seen it and yes, it is scary, and sad and a damning indictment on theothers. Not often enough for me to sift through the dross of his opinions searching for the occasional nugget.

I agree with all of this. I like Lara too, the only thing I worry about is without an influence like Ikin there, Kent and Hooper will just bully her.

Despite that, unless they materially change the make-up of the regular guests they bring on each week, I personally think that the show needs a thoughtful ex-player to lead it. The amount of times that Kent, Hopper and Crawley have been rabbitting on with some agenda-driven crap, and it pans to Ikin to smack the down, is significant. He doesn’t say ‘look I am the youngest ever origin player, played 15 times for my state, 150 first grade games and won a premiership and the three of you are just well connected fans who don’t know sh!t’, but he can be disdainful and suggest it with what he says. Best example was when Hooper and Crawley got hysterical about the Chrichton/Tapine incident earlier this year; Ikin was like ‘just a young player and a bit of pushing and shoving’. I think that is a role that Jimmy Graham would play really well.

But realistically I think Hadley gets it. They didn’t introduce him to the show a few weeks ago to debate Crawley once a week; even if you aren’t a fan of Hadley’s you have to admit that is beneath his talents.

The Marshall

NRL 360 new co-host Yvonne Sampson to take over after Ben Ikin’s exit​

Ben Ikin’s shock departure from NRL 360 has opened up the door for one of Australia’s most talented hosts to join Paul Kent on the popular sports show.

Yvonne Sampson has promised there will not be any sort of NRL-type crackdown on heated exchanges when she steps up as the new co-host of NRL 360.

Instead, Sampson will encourage the animated conversations which have become a trademark of the thee-time a week rugby league panel show.

Sampson will officially replace inaugural host Ben Ikin to partner Paul Kent on the desk from Monday night. The face of Fox League is ready to enter the lion’s den when the likes of Kent, Phil Rothfield, Lara Pitt, Paul Crawley, Ray Hadley, James Hooper, Benji Marshall and James Graham go head to head while discussing the news of the day.

Sampson joined Fox League in 2017 to head-up its match day coverage.

“You’ve got to let them go at it,” said Sampson, who has filled in for Ikin previously. “I’m not afraid of the conflict, I’m comfortable with it. I feel like it’s my job to make sure we stay on topic and we have a discussion where people are hearing differences of opinions. If you’re hearing something which resonates with you then I’ve done my job.

“It can get heated. I want it to get heated but I’m not going to be the one involved in a slanging match. Ben Ikin is one of the most incredible minds in rugby league. We lose so much. I’ll do my best to keep up with the pace of the show and how robust it can get.

“It’s an incredible opportunity and I have loved the show since it started. We are going to keep that hard-edge the show is known for.”

Ikin quit the post he held for the past decade last week to become Brisbane Broncos’ head of football.

Fox Sports executive director Steve Crawley discovered Sampson when she was working in regional television, bringing her to Channel 9 in Brisbane. She then moved to work at Channel 9 in Sydney before following Crawley to Fox Sports.

Crawley said Sampson was a natural choice.

“Ben is very hard to replace,” Crawley said. “He is recognised as a voice of reason, youngest ever Origin player, played for Australia and you’d have to walk a long way to find someone that doesn’t like Ben Ikin and Vonnie is the same. I watch people’s reactions to Vonnie and she is one of the very few prominent television people who isn’t criticised. I’m sure there has been some critical comment here and there – that’s life. She is very well accepted and that’s because of the way she presents herself on television. There is no tokenism. She is as authentic as there is. She’s earnt a place in the top bracket of Australian sportscasters.

“This is a big gig NRL 360 – it’s the show for rugby league people. I’m not talking about just pay television but free to air and radio. There is no better rugby league show for the purists and people who live and know the game than NRL 360.”

Her chemistry with Kent will come naturally. The duo – who live in neighbouring suburbs – celebrated Sampson’s appointment and undertook a planning session over lunch in the inner-West on Friday.

Kent said the pair already have a close bond.

“It might surprise a few people but we are actually very good friends, get on great and socialise together,” Kent said. “The chemistry is there before we even start. I can’t wait to work with her, she’s the best in the business and understands the show.

“Buzz (Rothfield) sent in his audition tape, it was a close call but Vonnie got the nod in a photo finish.”

Good luck to her controlling the kiddies.

this made me choke on my coffee lol

“There is no better rugby league show for the purists and people who live and know the game than NRL 360.”

blaza88z

NRL 360 is just a platform for these agenda journos to express themselves

The only time you get a decent footy chat is when they bring on the players

Vee

Well that’s settled any potential interest in resuming watching this show. I find Yvonne Sampson’s style insincere and condescending. She speaks to an audience as if we are children… like a politician giving a wooden speech..

They missed a trick by overlooking Lara Pitt or even Warren Smith IMO.
Agree with all that. Vonny's appointment is the last nail for me. I'm done with that show.

Headless Chook

As much as I disagree with everything Hadley says outside of rugby league I thought he would have been a good fit for an opinion based show like 360. He’s had decades of experience in a host capacity and I kinda thought it may have been the reason he started getting a regular panel slot.

I also think they could cut the show back a night or two. It’s pretty annoying when essentially the same stories of the day are regurgitated from the preceding 6pm show.

edabomb

Well that’s settled any potential interest in resuming watching this show. I find Yvonne Sampson’s style insincere and condescending. She speaks to an audience as if we are children… like a politician giving a wooden speech..

They missed a trick by overlooking Lara Pitt or even Warren Smith IMO.
Remember Wazza having his League Lounge show for a season once? That was a shocker, may have been because his co-host was Brandy the flog.

Agree with the Vonny talking down to the audience comment. Also agree Monday and Wednesday would be plenty of 360. Review and preview. Not happening though as last week Hooper pretty much called himself a tabloid journo.

Vee

First time I haven't watched it for a long time. Not sure that's a fair sample, I couldn't have put up with the wank-fest Origin pile-on from the NSWankers on the panel anyway, but atm, I'm not inclined to check it out again.

Sloshfeld, Hooper, replacing Read with Hadley, Sampson, they're just gutter-feeding click-bait.

Remember Wazza having his League Lounge show for a season once? That was a shocker, may have been because his co-host was Brandy the flog.

Agree with the Vonny talking down to the audience comment. Also agree Monday and Wednesday would be plenty of 360. Review and preview. Not happening though as last week Hooper pretty much called himself a tabloid journo.

i never saw the league lounge show but agree Alexander isn’t a great advert. I’m not his biggest fan. He’s best when he’s being interviewed or answering questions - not commentating or promoting opinions. Similar to Braith Anasta.

blaza88z

Kent doesn't strike me as the kind of guy that women enjoy being around with his narcissistic tendencies, not sure Vonny is the best option to host that show.

At least someone like Ikin every once in a while wouldn't take a backwards step without sounding like Genghis Khan.