Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Goverment to Sponsor Souths

CLUB NEWS

Print this page
NSW Government to sponsor Souths

14 Jan 2008

Sydney-Australia-com-detail2-0290c3f5-4d75-4c41-9f71-ce74e4842482.png
NSW Deputy Premier the Hon. John Watkins MP was joined by South Sydney Rabbitohs Executive Chairman Peter Holmes à Court today to announce a unique sponsorship initiative seeking to promote Sydney as an investment and tourism destination.

SydneyAustralia.com is to appear on the front of the Rabbitohs jersey when they take on the Leeds Rhinos in the Australia Day Challenge in Jacksonville, Florida on January 26, as well as signage and promotional opportunities across the United States.

The SydneyAustralia.com sponsorship will complement the commitment made by the NSW government to the activities being conducted in the G’Day USA program of events, the largest Australian trade fair in the US spanning Los Angeles, New York and Jacksonville.

Mr Holmes à Court says the Rabbitohs are excited by the opportunity to work with the NSW government in promoting Sydney.

“We’re delighted to help profile Sydney as we take the Rabbitohs into the largest sporting and business market in the world,” Mr Holmes à Court said.

“There is a lot of excitement in Florida surrounding the game and we’re very happy to be able to help spread the message of the benefits of doing business in, and visiting, Sydney to the residents of the United States.

“I’m thankful for the business support we’ve found already in Florida and look forward to using this interest to promote Sydney.

“The Australia Day Challenge is one of the feature events on the G’Day USA calendar and the team is looking forward to playing its part when representing Sydney in Jacksonville for the two-week tour.”

Sydney Ambassador to the United States of America, the Hon. Kristina Keneally MP will be representing the NSW government at the Australia Day Challenge and at G’Day USA events during Australia Week.

Deputy Premier Watkins said: “Ms Keneally will take on the role of promoting Sydney and NSW in the US − she is a natural choice for this role as she was born in the US and has many contacts there.

“She joins a group of high profile and influential individuals who are using their networks to ensure that the strengths of NSW are well understood by business and government decision makers around the world.”

The South Sydney Rabbitohs play the Leeds Rhinos on Saturday 26 January at Hodges Stadium at the University of North Florida (UNF). The team will undertake a ten-day training camp leading up to the game at UNF, plus a number of other promotional events.

The Rabbitohs have many sponsors who do business in the US, and the Club has many Australian companies supporting the Club on their tour to Florida. Existing sponsors such as Virgin Blue, BlackBerry, Armani and Casella Wines are companies that conduct business in both Australia and North America.

For more information about G’Day USA visit www.australia-week.com. For information about holidays, business, lifestyle and study opportunities in Sydney Australia, visit www.sydneyaustralia.com.

Zigwaa

Yeah, I saw the shot of the Craig Wing wearing the jersey, jersey looks good as does Wingy back in the Red and Green.

I noticed Wingy was wearing white shorts with the home Jumper. Makes sense to have the home jersey with the white sides to be accompanied by white shorts as the away jersery, black sides with black shorts.

Dave Q

Zigwaa said:
Yeah, I saw the shot of the Craig Wing wearing the jersey, jersey looks good as does Wingy back in the Red and Green.

I noticed Wingy was wearing white shorts with the home Jumper. Makes sense to have the home jersey with the white sides to be accompanied by white shorts as the away jersery, black sides with black shorts.

I agree that the jersey and shorts looked pretty flash.

punton

backwards said:
Is this what they call a Centrelink advance payment?????:crazy:

:lol: :lol:

Old Stacey the sh*tburger!!:lol:

No it's called being rewarded for doing something for the game and your home town.

The only thing your arse of a club has done for the game is...........f**k, that's right.......f**k all.

Sugar

backwards said:
Is this what they call a Centrelink advance payment?????:crazy:

A centrelink payment would come from the federal government not the NSW government you dipsh*t.

I suggest you use your next centrelink payment to purchase a brain

Sonic Star

Why would the government waste money on the Roosters when no one watches them.
Souths will always be the number 1 club in sydney, always has always will be.

backwards

punton said:
Old Stacey the sh*tburger!!:lol:

No it's called being rewarded for doing something for the game and your home town.

The only thing your arse of a club has done for the game is...........f**k, that's right.......f**k all.

ROFLOL.

Rewarded??? Like a Mardi Gras float reward????:p

I call it a good chance to get a major injury in a nothing game in another country.:crazy:

As for our contribution ever heard of a Cafe Latte mate????

backwards

Sugar said:
A centrelink payment would come from the federal government not the NSW government you dipsh*t.

You seem to have all the rorts down pat mate. Whats that saying, you smelt it you dealt it???:p

backwards

Sonic Star said:
Why would the government waste money on the Roosters when no one watches them.
Souths will always be the number 1 club in sydney, always has always will be.

You tellem scrotum, you know all the wrinkles.;-)

STSAE

Sugar said:

Sorry mate.

I forgot I was speaking to an expert on such matters.;-)

So punton you remember me??? From here, rleague or the Wall mate????

Is sonic back soon, the naughty boy???

Anyway hope to have a bit of fun this year with you blokes. Good luck with the season, well except when our clubs clash.:p

And remember

Go Easts.