mean_maori_mean
Firstly, Smith is only young & got a ways to go (why he is not in the starting line-up right now I guess).
Secondly, the team is made up of first timers for U20s & some from last year while the warriors are pretty much all 2nd year players (am I right?). Storm's other 2nd year players are coming back from injury or have moved into NSW comp.
Thirdly, Storm is trying hard to move Victorian players up the ladder & it will take some time to have the numbers through all the grades - their recruitment is pretty good but its a market out there whether you like it or not - what's good about Storm is the boys who come through will more than likely have every chance to reach their potential under the system there.
Last point is that's just the way of it & says more about the warriors retention policies and the cap.
BTW jordan meads wasn't making it at Storm when he was there - a year makes a huge difference at that age
Yes, the Warriors have natural talent - a lot of PI & Maori size, strength & flair - is that enough? Was last year & possibly this year in the U20s - will it translate into huge numbers making it in NRL? Probably not but the cream will rise to the top no matter what club they end up at. Take Nafe for instance, awesome to watch at U20's level & getting small glimpses at the moment but has a long way to go at FG level. Absolutely I'm sure he can get there (heaps of natural talent) but FG is a whole other ball game. IMO Storm seems to be able to spot the ones that will get there - that is their strength to me
Mate totally agree with everything you have said.
NYC is not everything.
I mite have come a little blunt but was posting from my fone.
Melbourne Storm easily have the best development system in the NRL.
They also are pretty good with their recruitment.
I think they do an awesome job nobody can doubt.
I think the Storm will go well in the 20s.
But Ive seen them and they usually base alot around the hooker.
Griffin is a very good player but more a back rower, centre.
You guys are more than welcome to talk them up, I was pointing out what I see as a defiancy.
While I support the Warriors particularly the NYC team as they are young kiwis coming through the system.
I too am quite critical of the Warriors Juniors system.
I support any young kiwis players NYC.
Some warriors fans think just cause they are winning that they are doing a good job.
Auckland/NZ has the biggest talent pool and will also feature in finals no matter who they select or who is coaching them.
But they also have some extremely talented footballers even in the half, hookers, fullbacks unfortunately Warriors compound this issue by generally picking the biggest, blackest, fastest 17 players they can find.
So while they dominate at times.
What does it really mean??
Teams should be picking those players with the most potential long term not just the biggest, strongest and dominant teenagers out there.
As for Jordan Meads - he came back and played club footy and from his tv games I watched he didnt stand out at all.
However this year he doest have some big units hanging off him which was always gonna give him space.