Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

O.T. Heard today Joe Frazier is not well.

I heard on the ABC news 24 that Joe Frazier has been diagnosed with liver cancer.

I've heard nothing more since. Can anyone confirm the release.

I still remember watching those fights with Ali. Wow.

Edit.. Just found this on Fox

Thanks Miller

I remember watching as a brat the fight between Joe and Foreman. At the time I thought no one could beat Joe. But bloody nora, George landed some big whoppers on Joe and rocked him. Think he went down three times.

I just thought where do the yanks get these monsters from.

Jeeze they were powerful athletes.

I reckon Tyson styled his hook off Joe.

webShark

I heard on the ABC news 24 that Joe Frazier has been diagnosed with liver cancer.

I've heard nothing more since. Can anyone confirm the release.

I still remember watching those fights with Ali. Wow.

Edit.. Just found this on Fox

Sad , he was/is one of a kind. Bar room brawler style but beat Ali fair and square when he was still a great fighter.

Would have had the Klitscho's for brekkie. By gone era , Leonard, Duran , Hearns, Hagler, Ali, Frazier , Foreman to name a few.

Now we have Mayweather and Paquio who will never be allowed to fight. Boxing is like footy, politically incorrect and on the decline. It's bad enough these days saying you play footy.Imagine saying you want to box!

Yes in this day and age when you can have 39 or whatever world heavyweight champions and there are 6,306 world boxing title divisions. I just don't think the game will ever be the same.

If you liked the world of boxing, then I think we were lucky to be around when those fights were going around.

And who can forget Ali outside the ring in his prime.

Those suckers here in Aus that live off everyword the worlds greatest boxer Choc spews out of his mouth have not witnessed The Greatest (Ali) in his prime.

I rate those in the Press who run with everyword that Choc says as similiar to those blonde bimboes who report the going ons in our Parliament these days. They wouldn't know the difference between Arthur Caldwell and Arthur Quid.

Windy70

Sad news. A true champion Quigs.

Do you remember Dave Sands? My grandfather was very close to him and was one of his sparring partners. Man he told me some stories. Dave had something like 100 fights. How many fights to modern day boxers average?

Sad news. A true champion Quigs.

Do you remember Dave Sands? My grandfather was very close to him and was one of his sparring partners. Man he told me some stories. Dave had something like 100 fights. How many fights to modern day boxers average?

Crikey Windy how old do you think I am.... Sands died three years before I was born.

But here just found this... CLICK HERE TRIBUTE TO DAVE SANDS.

It was very interesting times Cools no doubt about that.

The mafia had Sonny The Bear Liston in their pocket when Clay (no mans n****r - Clays talk) took the title.

Some still say the fight was fixed. They had a great doco on Liston some time back.

But Clay just took on the best and was as brilliant off court as on court. I remember how he had the press in the palm of his hand and they were just lining up waiting for someone, hopefully a whitey would whoop Clay / Alis arse.

When he got barred - luckily there was Frazier and co in the field to keep up the very high standard.

I could go on ... but look up when the blacklisted ali walked in on Fraziers training in NY. Ali called him outside into Central Park to settle it once and for all. It hit the radio and over 10 thousand people went to Central Park waiting for Frazier and Ali to get it on bare knuckle in the Park.

Great times.

Frazier played his part too.

I think that when Miiiike Tyyyyyson hit the scene (Although already in a lull) is when it became somewhat farcical... The 20 second fights, Don Kings dominance.. etc.

It's in another lull now and has been for a while.

We were lucky Cools to be around when those ali frazier type of title fights were on.

Tyson was class but those around him were mostly over the hill.

the fight game will never be the same until they start to pull in some of those bullsh!t title groups.

Unify some weight groups and piss off most of them... bloody super light weights super bantamweights etc

The bloody Central Qld Capricorn Coast Heavyweight Champion of the world type of thing.

Won't happen though.

Its all about "in my day" now.

haha exactly, problem is that no Boxing Org wants to fall on thier sword for the good of the sport. There is no FIFA of boxing so to speak... Shame really as it's becoming less popular and UFC etc is really starting to take over. Not that thats a bad thing but like you Quigs I'm old school and prefer toe to toe.

webShark

I think that when Miiiike Tyyyyyson hit the scene (Although already in a lull) is when it became somewhat farcical... The 20 second fights, Don Kings dominance.. etc.

It's in another lull now and has been for a while.
Cant agree. Early Tyson was as good as any of the old timers.

Maybe hype wise WS but I have to disagree strongly there ol' mate.. Ali, Frazier, Foreman ... Tyson may have had a killer upper cut but he would have been monstered by any of those greats technique, he has even admitted it.

webShark

Maybe hype wise WS but I have to disagree strongly there ol' mate.. Ali, Frazier, Foreman ... Tyson may have had a killer upper cut but he would have been monstered by any of those greats technique, he has even admitted it.

We will never know. I rated all 4 of the mentioned fighters. You have a point, they fought more accomplished boxers (i.e each other). Before Foreman lost to Ali, he was like a giant Tyson and Ali found a way to beat him. Highly debatable. Ali was floored by Henry Cooper who couldn't punch as hard as Tyson.

Tyson self destructed. The others didn't. IMO,the only class heavy of recent times was Lennox Lewis.

My favourite boxer was Hagler. Ripped off against Leonard and never fought again.

webShark

The Rumble in the Jungle

Coolum I can recommend the movie ' The Fighter'. It is actually based on fact. I hadn't heard of the Boxer , but he would have been massive in Boston. Hard to believe a boxer could be a success after losing so many early fights. Goes against logic.

'The Warrior' is ok too.But not based on fact and centres on MMA (which in reality is fairly boring). Good film and has an Aussie in one of the lead roles.

I remember the Rumble in the Jungle. Couldnt believe Ali won after George had literally knocked Smokin Jo off his feet in an earlier fight. Those were the days when you had to watch a big fight at the Movies (at some weird hour) or listen on your tranny.

What an era

Just heard 300 million people watched Ali v Frazier in 1971 (on closed circuit TV) and the Vietnam War was stopped for 4 hours during the fight. Source Frazier's Manager on BBC News

I still cant take George seriously selling his kitchen range.