Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Official Team v Souths.

antonius

I can't understand why both Cooper and Brown are there. I would've had at least Snowden, or White before Cooper, Browns played well in his games in first grade, and has been one of the best in premier league.

Jono078

Not too bad of a team, hopefully everyone is over their sicknesses and can play their absolute best and beat the Rabbits.

Brown hasnt come close to impressing me even once this year... I know people love him but I just think that he offers nothing.

northey

I can't understand why both Cooper and Brown are there. I would've had at least Snowden, or White before Cooper, Browns played well in his games in first grade, and has been one of the best in premier league.
i totally agree, i was shocked to see that kade wasn't there

antonius

Sir Knight82 said:
Brown hasnt come close to impressing me even once this year... I know people love him but I just think that he offers nothing.
He's been Johnny on the spot backing up for a couple of tries this year, and been in great form in premier league.

The only thing I can think of is Cooper could be there to cover a few positions in the backline, considering Thaiday may still not be 100%. Doesn't explain why Brown is there then, considering Lowrie might be able to cover some of the forwards at a pinch.

northey

i think brown shouldn't be there and snowden should be. you are right about cooper and lowrie

roopy

Cooper has made a very good transition to the forwards.
I think he has been more impressive every game I have seen him in.

I don't think this will be the final side. Hagan doesn't really take naming the side on Tuesday that seriously. He won't decide on the final make-up of the side till late in the week.

antonius

strewth_mate said:
The only thing I can think of is Cooper could be there to cover a few positions in the backline, considering Thaiday may still not be 100%. Doesn't explain why Brown is there then, considering Lowrie might be able to cover some of the forwards at a pinch.
I think if he's worried about covering backline positions then Seage would be the better option, along with Lowrie, Davico, and another forward (Snowden/ White.) Cooper isn't the greatest at fullback, where as Seage can cover fullback, wing, and centre. With Lowrie covering 5/8th/Lock/Backrow. All of which Brown could also cover. So yes maybe only one of Brown or Lowrie were required.

Jobdog

Pretty much the same side as last week, which is obviously a little concerning. We should beat Souths, but as has been said before, we're only going to beat Souths if Kidley doesn't try to run the show all on his own. Bedsy also needs to give Mullo more time with the ball in his hands.

northey

we can win

all that needs to be done is for us, the fans, to cheer as loud as we can. that is about all we can do.

As Roopy said, we may see a different side on the weekend anyway so he may just be covering his bases. I have a feeling though that if nothing happens injury-wise, he'll just use this side anyway.

Nowadays we consider Cooper, Brown and Lowrie to be utility players so it is a bit strange that we see them all named, especially considering it's not an 18- or 19-man team we'd expect to see if some are under a cloud. I guess that on a good day this bench would be able to do the job very well, and if we've got good momentum they'd most probably carve it up if the plan is to dominate in the forwards from the start then move the ball around; I don't think that Souths could handle that too well. But I would feel much more comfortable if Brown were to be swapped for another forward anyway. Brown had indeed been playing very well in PL, but Hagan might have chosen the wrong circumstances and timing in which to reward him, as strange as that may sound. Time will tell.

aqua_duck

I'm not at all confident especially with Kidley running the show once again. Mullen needs to put his foot down and try to lead the side around the park. People keep saying he's too young and not ready, but I believe if you're good enough you're old enough, eg Greg Inglis.
The forwards got bashed by Melbournes no frills forward pack last week and will need to keep an eye on Joe Galuvao and David Fa'alogo (who I reckon has been just about souths best player this year). The return of Ben Walker should also boost souths, he's an absolute turnstyle in defence but adds stability to their attack. Also Nathan Merritt at fullback should mean that every half chance for us should lead to a try.

Whats Doing

antonius said:
He's been Johnny on the spot backing up for a couple of tries this year, and been in great form in premier league.

He has also let in some very soft tries with very ordinary defence. I prefer Cooper who has more utlity value than Brown.

Bring it home Knights

roopy said:
Cooper has made a very good transition to the forwards.
I think he has been more impressive every game I have seen him in.

I don't think this will be the final side. Hagan doesn't really take naming the side on Tuesday that seriously. He won't decide on the final make-up of the side till late in the week.

I don't agree :? . Out of all the coaches, hagan is one of the rare ones that sticks with the team he choses at the start of the week

Misanthrope

Seems like a good side. I'm excited about seeing Davico in the red and blue, and I think Cooper has plenty to offer as well. Not sure why Brown is still there, he certainly hasn't set the world afire this season.