Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Official Wentworthville Magpies Thread II

I have the 86 GF on VHS. I think a highlight is the players being individually announced to the crowd and then running onto the field. "Parramatta No 5 - He's Rock N Roll, He's a Runner, He's Eric Grothe" :D:D

Yeh, and at the end of the telecast Channel 10 played this song that went something like 'Run like the wind Blue and Gold Warriors'.....which I've never heard since. No idea where it came from.

I have the 86 GF on VHS. I think a highlight is the players being individually announced to the crowd and then running onto the field. "Parramatta No 5 - He's Rock N Roll, He's a Runner, He's Eric Grothe" :D:D

Everything from the early 80s resembled the Rocky Horror Picture Show.

It's astounding...

Chipmunk

Yeh, and at the end of the telecast Channel 10 played this song that went something like 'Run like the wind Blue and Gold Warriors'.....which I've never heard since. No idea where it came from.

Well if I could find the video and someone with a VHS player (I think my parents might have one) I could play the video and find out for you...

Cheers mate. I suspect I might also have the tape at my parents place....but finding it would be tricky. Perfectly possible that over the years I've imagined words that aren't actually in the song. I'm pretty sure it was an alternate version of one the 'Parra Power' songs.

EelsFan05

I reckon that somewhere at my parents house I have 3 Betamax video cassettes with 81,82,83 grand finals on them (complete with the regional TV adds of the day). Probably won't play too well on the i-pad i guess.

Believe it or not I'm most probably one of the least technically minded people you will meet. I didn't know it was frowned upon to support a team if you were only in your early thirties though...

???? Who's frowing on you? Certainly not me. Apologies for whatever caused offence. The i-pad thing was not a Gen Y comment....

That said, if you were in your early twenties you'd have to be a complete.......;-)

EelsFan05

???? Who's frowing on you? Certainly not me. Apologies for whatever caused offence. The i-pad thing was not a Gen Y comment....

That said, if you were in your early twenties you'd have to be a complete.......;-)

All good:) I'm just on the defensive cause Pou could pop into this thread at any time.

Bow_rider

Don't think Sandow will play for Wenty this week. Looked injured after the game last week, and probably not that happy.

Wenty set for Stormy union
The Storm are set to take a greater foothold into the Sydney market by using Wentworthville as their feeder club from next season. The Storm currently share their non-NRL players with Cronulla in the NSW Cup but it is an uneasy marriage that has both clubs unhappy. Wentworthville, a strong league nursery in Sydney's west, has been aligned to Parramatta for many years but this relationship is also strained. Enter the Storm, who will plough money and playing resources into Wenty to make the club a powerhouse in the NSW Cup.

If thats the case then we must have plans for our own NSW cup team as Parra Eels and not Wenty.

There was talk about this at the start of the season.

Problem for the Storm maybe that they have to start with a clean plate cuz most of the current Wenty players belong to us.

I heard Alex chan is the one orchestrating the move with the enticement of being the coach of the state cup team

hybrideel

TBH growing up playing footy for Merrylands we pretty much hated Wenty, so not having to feel dirty everytime i cheer them on will be fine by me.
I will have the best of both worlds, getting to hate Wenty for being Wenty, and also for their storm connection.
Parra will however have to stay on their toes and make sure the local juniors don't end up in the storm system

TBH growing up playing footy for Merrylands we pretty much hated Wenty, so not having to feel dirty everytime i cheer them on will be fine by me.
I will have the best of both worlds, getting to hate Wenty for being Wenty, and also for their storm connection.
Parra will however have to stay on their toes and make sure the local juniors don't end up in the storm system

As it also stands at Mounties, where those maggots from the country club are currently picking the eyes out of our juniors...

So the NRL club have now managed to piss off Wenty and Mounties enough that they are aligned with other clubs or soon will be. Is Cabramatta still pissed off with us?? The carry on over the past seven or eight years with our junior leagues is ridiculous. If it wasn't such a serious issue it would almost be a joke.

Forty20

I heard Alex chan is the one orchestrating the move with the enticement of being the coach of the state cup team

Can't speak on the politics behind the move as I know absolutely nothing but assuming the club takes the right steps in establishing our own squad in the NSW Cup, I wouldn't be against it at all.

We need to make the NSW Cup a stronger tool for the final stages of player development and with the current joint-venture with Wenty, I'm not sure if Stuart and Nolan have enough control to ensure that it can function so.

Ideally the NSW Cup squad should be X% NYC graduates/accelerated talent : Y% Surplus NRL talent/second-tier players but right now we are running our (admittedly ordinary) X% and Y% to a worryingly large Z% of park footballers that do very little to benefit any aspect of the team (e.g winning, development etc).

I have already advocated that it would be ideal to see a large portion of the current NYC team transition into the core of our future NSW Cup team, where if you add any additional external youth signings plus the aforementioned Y% talent you can look to establish a Storm/Panthers/Roosters-like pathway to NRL within a year.

Penrith (who ironically are in a joint-venture with Windsor, which does weaken my point a tad :p) in particular have established an excellent model to follow this year as they have prioritised resources to the NSW Cup by promoting their highly rated NYC coach to the NSW Cup role mid season, pushing a lot of youth talent through, recruiting well in the second-tier cap and are now well positioned for depth and competition in spots across the NRL roster.

Obviously there would be a greater financial burden on the club to support the full brunt of a NSW Cup squad but if we are serious about long-term strength then it would most likely be the best option.

Our local juniors could end up in any club's system if we don't sign them up.

Every club scouts in western Sydney, just like western Sydney clubs scout everywhere else.