Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old school banners

The Major

Hey guys. I was just wondering what old school banners some of us are still in possession of?? Old classics like Kram I think who brought out Awesome Ainscough last week, and some of the more memorable ones from yesteryear, men in blacklock, stone cold treacy, choc full of magic etc.
I was thinking maybe, well kind of a passing thought really, that maybe we should all go a bit retro for the SCG match in a few weeks and bring out some of the old banners if anyone still has some laying around. Kind of fitting for playing back at the old ground in a way. Thoughts?

DaSuperHero2

"Moderator"
Maccas one is still one of best ive ever seen

GOD
BE
WITHERS

ps always wanted to know what was the story with PISS ON ME lol

STG-MACCA

I don't have much at all, they all went missing over the years.
I do have "Do it for Stoney" but it was just a quick one I whipped up after his passing.

Adam has a tonne (and some of mine no doubt) but he has moved multiple times, and they are well and truly packed into the 'archives'

St.George Forever (Batman symbol)
Ripper Raper
Coyne Worth Every Cent
You'll never walk alone
Tallis the traitor / terminator
Step on the Gaz
Red & White dynamite

between Richard gay is god & adam, they have the bulk of them.

Seeing that our greatest halfback has been a bit crook lately, how about something like this?

sh_billybanner1968.JPG

From the SCG, 1968

STG-MACCA

Seeing that our greatest halfback has been a bit crook lately, how about something like this?

From the SCG, 1968

Willow, do you have any pictures of the Billy Smith banner "Billy the 7 million dollar man" that was burnt at the 1975 grand final by roosters supporters? (Anyone for that matter)?

Sorry no. The above is the only Billy Smith banner I've got. It's a capture from a video tape about the history of Saints.

Dragon Dave

Great idea Ray.

There is an image in the book Saints - The Legend Lives On with a great pic of the army and some of the old banners. Anyone got that pic scanned?

The Major

I quite like Potsie's Stewie Griffin banner. Adam has been kind enough to loan me the 3 giant flags (diamonds, swirls, and Maccas big striped one) Also the "Dragon Army" banner circa 92 I think. I've also got the original big jersey in my possession. Also got my "Browns Babes" banner laying around somewhere also.
So anyone else keen on the idea of doing a retro army at the SCG?

Great idea Ray.

There is an image in the book Saints - The Legend Lives On with a great pic of the army and some of the old banners. Anyone got that pic scanned?

that book's a great read!!

When I was at uni I did sports mabnagement and we had an assessment where we had to analyse a sporting organisation or soemthing like that and naturally I did the Saints.

That book had some great info in it

boxa777

I rate the idea.. Perfect for a sunny day at the SCG on the cream seats.

I've got quite a few signs from the old days that i made. Some good, some cringeworthy now but i started making them heaps young. A couple are featured above when i was in my early to mid teens. Also my big flag with the rectangles is in that 96 pic, dwarfed next to Adam's golden diamond number.

I had made -

Flying
Ricky

King
Tallis

Red Hot Saints

MrBrilliance
Bartrim

Hard As A
STONE (Dont ask haha)

If It's
This Good
It's Peters

CHOC
Full of
Magic

Barrett
GOLD (again haha)..

Probably have forgotten a couple.

I think I know where my old man keeps them in his garage. None have sticks anymore but I might bring the Choc sign if Ray's idea gets support.

Would be great to see some of the old signs again. Always loved the Men In Blacklock, Tallis/Thommo the Terminator and the St.George Forever (Batman) signs.

SaintTPP

It's a good idea if atleast 6 signs/banner's come out.
All of Macca's old signs are with Adam and he can't find
any of them but we can bring 'do it for stoney'.

Gas Panic!

I think "PISS ON ME" was immortalised on the Saints On TV website from the game in which it appeared. I believe there was a story behind that sign which I never heard, but had something to do with Darren Treacy? Definitely at the SFS but buggered if I know what year it was, 2002 or thereabouts.

Maybe STOOPID EEGLES could come out too.

Gas Panic!

Just thinking of old banners, the "BOMB THE SHIRE" is one from a little more recent times which should be held in high esteem. Shame we haven't seen it at all since.