Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Old Sharkie Players, WHERE ARE THEY NOW.

Harold Holt said:
Yeah, Steve Kneen lives In Loftus in the shire, His daughters went to my school. Fine young ladies.

Ive met Hayseed once before, hes a larrikin.

Gidday Harold, I hope you can tread water better now.

An old Gymea Boy hey,

I am now 49 years old, played league all my life, never at any great level but now I am old, I am at the legend level, especially at closing time and in my own mind only. I played my last season at 35.

The only comp I ever won was playing C grade, Under 18s for Gymea way back in 1972 or 73. Played with the Buchanan boys, Phil Moate, (st george) and Steve McAlpine, (a sharkie) A guy called Phil Smith was our coach. Corea Rd oval clubhouse was only a rock block dressing shed with a concrete slab roof. I still remember the guys that sold the grog out of the back of the ute that raised the dough to help build it. Ahhhh the good old days.

After game drinks at the Kremlin ( the Tradies) I was a member there at 16, but don't tell anyone.

Memories.... hey 31 years later and I am still talking about them. One day I'll have to get back to Corea Road Oval.

We had to do road runs for training down to Sylvania then up the Taren Point Rd and down Parraweena Road. Every road run we stopped at the Sylvania Millers hotel for a schooner (pub long gone now) and one at the Taren Point pub.

Zack DLR

Sounds great Quigs, glad youve got such fond memories of the club.

I havent played for them since I was a boy, but I still get down to Corea road to watch my mates son go round.

Nothing better than a beer up in the club house (AKA "David Hatch stand") looking out over the oval.

Still sponsored by the tradies too.

Its a great club, First grades not going too bad this year either.

Harold Holt said:
Sounds great Quigs, glad youve got such fond memories of the club.

I havent played for them since I was a boy, but I still get down to Corea road to watch my mates son go round.

Nothing better than a beer up in the club house (AKA "David Hatch stand") looking out over the oval.

Still sponsored by the tradies too.

Its a great club, First grades not going too bad this year either.

Say Gidday to Alan Prince for me..... last time I heard he was still involved with Gymea...

I knocked around with Hatchies older brother Mark. If you see David tell him Jeff Quigley sends his regards.

I travelled down to the Broncos game against the Sharks in about 88 and Dave took me son who was about 12 then into meet all the guys.

Hey catch you later Harold

Docking

Last I heard, Jon Docking was running a small business based in Caringbah. I can't remember the name but I believe it was a consulting company.

Docking ehhh, a great and loyal club fullback...

but he is not what I need to know.....

where are they now

these guys,

1. Tommy Bishop (the greatest)
2. Cliff Watson
3. Steve Kneen
4. Dane Sorensen
5. Kurt Sorensen
6. Steve Rogers ( But I know what he is doing these days and where he is.)

Ihave had some valuable feedback but would like to hear some more.... so get to it Sharkies.

gunnamatta bay

Graham Bowen can be found at Cronulla rsl most arvos. He used to be secretary manager at the Sutho United Services but I'm not sure now.

Gidday Gunna

If you see Graham Bowen, tell him Quigs (Jeff Quigley) says gidday. He was me coach in 73, 74 in a special wednesday afternoon comp......won't tell you which one though..

p-57.jpg

Nice black eye GB has in this post 73 Grand Final pic.
Bloody Bob Fulton, Gaaawwwdddd I dislike him

Gunna Matter said:
I'll let him know. He should be amused your living with emus.

Its on the coast east of rockhampton, just where the tropic of capricorn crosses the east coast......overlooks a little island called Great keppel Island (7km away as the crow flies) and 17 other islands of the Keppels. A one pub town, nearest set of traffic lights is 44km away... Suits this old drunk right down to the ground. Yeah I know its hard but someone has to live somewhere.....

pic13-gki.jpg

See http://www.emuparkonline.com.au Take a visit to the scenic tour.

The only problem living in Emu Park is the canetoads... Place is full of Queenslanders, and you know you cant take the cock out of the cockroaches...... 18 years north of the Tweed and it is still Go the Blues.

Quigs.

Nullajet

I ran into Kurt Sorenson in Brisbane when I went to see cold chisel play..the bloke hasn't changed. Huge arms!!!! He signed an autograph for me.and i think was quite shocked anyone even recognised who he was!!

He is living on the Tweed Heads area somewhere.

Nullajet said:
I ran into Kurt Sorenson in Brisbane when I went to see cold chisel play..the bloke hasn't changed. Huge arms!!!! He signed an autograph for me.and i think was quite shocked anyone even recognised who he was!!

He is living on the Tweed Heads area somewhere.

Hi Nulla,

got this one of another sharkie fan out there, For your info and the info of others.

Kurt now lives on the Gold Coast and is actively involved with the Burleigh Bears. He has two sons playing for the Bears. Both are backrowers like their illustrious father and are pretty handy footballers. Kurt jr plays in the Bears U 19 Colts side which is coached by another blast from the past in Mark KoCass. (thanks Paul Glock)

imasharkie

Quigs said:
Gidday Gunna

If you see Graham Bowen, tell him Quigs (Jeff Quigley) says gidday. He was me coach in 73, 74 in a special wednesday afternoon comp......won't tell you which one though..

p-57.jpg

Crikey Quiggs how good would it be to have an old Cliffy running round in sharkies gear

imasharkie said:
Quigs said:
Gidday Gunna

p-57.jpg

Crikey Quiggs how good would it be to have an old Cliffy running round in sharkies gear

Gidday Ima

Mate I'd like to see not only Cliffy but all five of em running around with the Sharkies....

One thing Cliff spealt was respect.......with a capital 'R' and that little bloke in the front was pretty handy too...... great days indeed.

I recall a 'hard'man who wasn't with us for a long time, but bloody hell it was a good time!!! Anyone recall Dave Watson??? Was it Manlys full back Matthew Ridge he clocked at Shark Park one day???

gunnamatta bay

Pierre the Horrible said:
I recall a 'hard'man who wasn't with us for a long time, but bloody hell it was a good time!!! Anyone recall Dave Watson??? Was it Manlys full back Matthew Ridge he clocked at Shark Park one day???

He was a Maori who spent a lot of time in England. Plenty of talent but a short wick. Liked the wacky tabaccy.