Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ossie V Paul Kent - Mat Johns show.

Parra Guru

I love the Eels. The club has it's moments, I certainly wouldn't throw money at it for nothing in return.

eels_fan

Sorry guys, can't agree. Mostly what you have all written here is a description of what a fan is. I have the same thoughts on this matter as South Sydney's Shane Richardson. As most of you have either read or heard when he is approached by a member of the public and asked a question in regards to Souths, the first thing he responds with is are you a member or what is your number.

If they aren't he hands them the membership forms and asks them to become a member and he will then answer any questions they may have. This is also the approach that AFL clubs and supporters have. It is a subtle but significant difference between the two codes and a major clue as to why Souths are now leading the membership drive in the NRL.

Look I get it, I understand that you all bleed Blue and Gold, that is not in dispute here, but even if you are not in Sydney, or can't make it to the games for whatever reason, you can still give something($$$) directly to our great club and be a member. It should be a given without expecting trinkets or some other benefit in return. I don't get it, people keep stating how much they love this club, but then apathy, change of address, or what do I get in return for my hard earned, are all stated for NOT SUPPORTING the club that they love so much.

And yet I bet most of us and that includes me, can blow $100 or $200+ on a single drinking session out, or clothes that we don't really need and may never even wear or any number of other things that we don't value anywhere near as much as our beloved Eels.

I know I can't nor would I ever tell anyone where or how to spend their own money and that is not what I am trying to do here. But I do think that we need to have a collective mind shift in the way we personally view and value membership of our clubs. I hope one day that we are all fighting to be a member of all our football clubs like in other countries where there are 20 and 30 year waiting lists. Those people, as do that other mob down in Victoria, WA and SA, get it, we unfortunately here in NSW and QLD don't anywhere near as much, yet.

you're entitled to your opinion, but as far as i am concerned it's stupid and borders on moronic!

If i saw Ozzie in the street and said hi and asked him a question and he responded "you have to be a paying member to talk to me" i would not follow the team anymore - i dead set mean that. What a ridiculous money grabbing STUPID rule/theory is that??

The fact that someone paid $1000 for 'Hayne' level season ticket, and i live in QLD and am not a paying member, does not in ANYWAY give them more right to call themselves a supporter than me.

If you're stupid enough to go and blow $100-$200 a weekend on beer then you must make a s**t load of money! But even then, its your choice what you spend your money on.

The day that rugby league and/or the parramatta eels decide that the amount of money you pay to them per season determines how 'genuine' a supporter you are is the day that football and my beloved team is dead to me.

RAM - someone brainwashed you hard man. You comment that "people stating they love the eels move address etc and then stop showing support the club by not paying" is the biggest crock i've ever heard.

I dont know what your situation in life is, but personally i support a family on my one wage, pay the bills, pay a mortgage. I go to every eels game vs broncos and titans, and cheer as loudly and proudly as possible. I live within my means. I deck my kid out in parra gear, and when we are playing the whole street hears me when we score a try. If that doesnt make me a supporter - then i'd like to know when the hell sport and loving your team became more about money than fun

TheRam

you're entitled to your opinion, but as far as i am concerned it's stupid and borders on moronic!

If i saw Ozzie in the street and said hi and asked him a question and he responded "you have to be a paying member to talk to me" i would not follow the team anymore - i dead set mean that. What a ridiculous money grabbing STUPID rule/theory is that??

The fact that someone paid $1000 for 'Hayne' level season ticket, and i live in QLD and am not a paying member, does not in ANYWAY give them more right to call themselves a supporter than me.

If you're stupid enough to go and blow $100-$200 a weekend on beer then you must make a s**t load of money! But even then, its your choice what you spend your money on.

The day that rugby league and/or the parramatta eels decide that the amount of money you pay to them per season determines how 'genuine' a supporter you are is the day that football and my beloved team is dead to me.

RAM - someone brainwashed you hard man. You comment that "people stating they love the eels move address etc and then stop showing support the club by not paying" is the biggest crock i've ever heard.

I dont know what your situation in life is, but personally i support a family on my one wage, pay the bills, pay a mortgage. I go to every eels game vs broncos and titans, and cheer as loudly and proudly as possible. I live within my means. I deck my kid out in parra gear, and when we are playing the whole street hears me when we score a try. If that doesnt make me a supporter - then i'd like to know when the hell sport and loving your team became more about money than fun

Mate did you even read or understand what I have been writing?

My comments are NOT directed to those that genuinely have money restraints. Jeez how hard is that to understand, and yes I agree with you, you sound like a great supporter of the Eels.

As for getting your nose out of joint if Ozzie were to ask you about your status in relation to membership, it doesn't seem to have hurt Souths or the AFL none. You just don't get it yet. Like I said it is a mind shift that if fostered long enough will eventually happen.

cgee221

There is nothing greater than being a Rugby League and Parramatta supporter. Brilliantly said Daneel, I have no doubt we all feel like we're the number one supporter. We all feel like we have something to contribute to this team and hence why we all contribute to the forum. I don't have many posts here but that doesn't make me any less or any more of a supporter than someone with more/less posts.

Sure, more STH would be great and it is the way of the future for clubs in terms of revenue rather than relying on the LC grants however just because some supporters don't become STH doesn't mean they're not as big supporters as those who are STH. This is my first official year as a STH but I've been to every home game since the beginning of the 2007 season anyways and before that I was still regularly attending games.

In what ever shape or form we all bleed blue and gold and we all yearn for that elusive premiership.

hindmarshisgod

To all those who are saying they dont need to be sth for whatever reason is a crock of sh*t. The truth of the matter is that you are either a tightass, or arent as passionate as you think you are.
If you tightasses put away 1 buck every day for a year, you can get a very decent season ticket package for the following year.
For something that provides so much entertainment for 8 months, you think it wouldnt be too difficult to part with.

hindmarshisgod

Eelementary, you truly demonstrate a real tribal love for the Eels and is why this great club will only get better and be very successful. The love you/we pour into the eels is the energy of life, the power of creation we each create. This attitude of your creation (and others) is what makes me feel so proud to be part of a bonded Eels tribe. The Eels will win this years GF. Go the Eels..... and PO & DA (and others in officialdom and the players), I do not want INU & Mateo to go. They must stay. Time to readjust all your contracts to demonstrate how you all bleed for the Eels Tribe...
Casper
stay away from the mushrooms casper

eels_fan

To all those who are saying they dont need to be sth for whatever reason is a crock of sh*t. The truth of the matter is that you are either a tightass, or arent as passionate as you think you are.
If you tightasses put away 1 buck every day for a year, you can get a very decent season ticket package for the following year.
For something that provides so much entertainment for 8 months, you think it wouldnt be too difficult to part with.

doosh

so you save up $1 a day out of the pocket money your mummy gives you each week hey?? nice one

fish eel

didnt see the matty johns show this week, and 120 posts in this thread and I've no idea what was said between Ossie and Kent. lol

natheel

do u realise some people dont have the money to part with in the first place? idiot....so i have to put my money into the club to be seen as a 'true passionate supporter' in your eyes? well sorry mate but thats absolutly ridiculous at least The Ram isnt doubting our loyalty or support of the eels! u my dear friend cant think out of the box.

why dont u get a family on minimal wage to see what its lik, get health problems and lose jobs as a result because of it and see how hard it is, just coz we who can't become members dont have the money doesnt give u the right to say whether we r true supporters or not

Tin Man 4.24

didnt see the matty johns show this week, and 120 posts in this thread and I've no idea what was said between Ossie and Kent. lol
To sum things up for you. Ossie passed a comment to Darryl bout having a hand up his backside. Dickie Knee popped up and made the obligatory double entendre. Pan to studio audience, who laughed on queue... Oh, wait are we talking about Hey, Hey it's Saturday?

Parra

Some people also consider that there is no value in paying good money for sh*thouse service at the ground. High prices, plastic buckets to sit in , being told what you can and can't bring in with you ( down to brand names) , only two games with a one hour gap, exorbitant prices for food and drink, beer lines a mile long, 2 beer limit in sh*tty plastic cups, bars closing during the match, no parking at all.

When an arrogant CEO like Richardson asks "are you a member" he deserves a gobful. He should also be asked why his club plays at Homebush in a sterile environment and why, with the same cap available as all other clubs, the team can get nowhere near the finals. This is in a comp where 50% of the sides make the finals.

If clubs want members they should stop begging and start delivering some value.

salvy71

I suppose the former CEO never came out with silly statements?

Did I say he didn't ? I was talking about Osbornes appearance on controversy corner and that he admitted to an error of judgement in regards to not re-signing players ....and gave him credit for that .....I'm gobsmacked that anyone could take that as a defence of Fitzgerald to be honest .
As far as I'm concerned Fitzy is in the past and don't really care about what he did or didn't do .

TheRam

Some people also consider that there is no value in paying good money for sh*thouse service at the ground. High prices, plastic buckets to sit in , being told what you can and can't bring in with you ( down to brand names) , only two games with a one hour gap, exorbitant prices for food and drink, beer lines a mile long, 2 beer limit in sh*tty plastic cups, bars closing during the match, no parking at all.

When an arrogant CEO like Richardson asks "are you a member" he deserves a gobful. He should also be asked why his club plays at Homebush in a sterile environment and why, with the same cap available as all other clubs, the team can get nowhere near the finals. This is in a comp where 50% of the sides make the finals.

If clubs want members they should stop begging and start delivering some value.

Sorry they didn't allow you to bring in your comfy lounge from home. What about doing what a lot of others do including myself and bring in your own food and drinks if you can't afford the high prices.

Someone once said, "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country."

Look all sports need volunteers and hand outs to survive to some degree. It is a fact of life. All I am saying is if you can afford it, then I think we should help out monetarily in a direct way and that way our club will only grow and thrive and in the end what seemed like money for nothing in return will actually be rewarded in many ways down the track.

Is it really that hard to grasp? Bitching about how great a supporter you are and being put out by an administrator trying to better the fortunes of his club and I might add his methods have seen Souths lead the way in club memberships, even with a losing team, is ridiculous and myopic. Tens of thousands of supporters on plastic seats is a real indicator of a clubs success and value to its community.

Sure I am not blind to the problems we all encounter within the stadiums on game day, but that should never cloud your judgment in regards to monetary support for our club.

Parra

You are coming across as an up-yourself-twat just because you choose to go to live footy.

Plenty of people make the choices they do for their own reasons. We have a club who chooses to move their home matches to a foreign ground for reasons other than competitiveness. Yet you keep making the point that people who don't do what you do are somehow less loyal or less worthy.

It is bullsh*t.

hindmarshisgod

You are coming across as an up-yourself-twat just because you choose to go to live footy.

Plenty of people make the choices they do for their own reasons. We have a club who chooses to move their home matches to a foreign ground for reasons other than competitiveness. Yet you keep making the point that people who don't do what you do are somehow less loyal or less worthy.

It is bullsh*t.
I dont know if your statement is directed at me, but i will just let you know that i get a season ticket every year and will be lucky if i make 4 games live. I prefer to watch at home in the comfort. I am not loaded with money either. I just dont want my team to fold or merge due to financial reasons, so i will happily contribute each year. Its the least i can do for something that provides me so much entertainment and adrenaline.

To me all people who dont have some sort of memberships are leeches that want the world for free and bitch and complain.

TheRam

It is bullsh*t.

Oh what crap. you just don't get it mate. I couldn't give a stuff whether you go to the game or not. What I am saying is if you can afford it, JUST GIVE MONEY TO THE CLUB THROUGH SOME SORT OF MEMBERSHIP!!! It is that freakin simply. Clubs need membership/money. That's it, that other bullsh*t your going on about is just that.

You love the club, well then the club needs your support not just in spirit but in monetary support IF you can afford it. I don't get it, I'm proud to say that I am a member, that to me is a buzz in its self.

How hard is it mate, really. The more you protest the more you sound like a tight arse. Fair dinkum.

Parra

Oh what crap. you just don't get it mate. I couldn't give a stuff whether you go to the game or not. What I am saying is if you can afford it, JUST GIVE MONEY TO THE CLUB THROUGH SOME SORT OF MEMBERSHIP!!! It is that freakin simply. Clubs need membership/money. That's it, that other bullsh*t your going on about is just that.

You love the club, well then the club needs your support not just in spirit but in monetary support IF you can afford it. I don't get it, I'm proud to say that I am a member, that to me is a buzz in its self.

How hard is it mate, really. The more you protest the more you sound like a tight arse. Fair dinkum.

you don't get it either it seems.

The answer is NO.

The club is not a charity. I don't know why you think it is, or why it should be.

You do what you want with your money and I'll do what I want with mine.

hindmarshisgod

do u realise some people dont have the money to part with in the first place? idiot....so i have to put my money into the club to be seen as a 'true passionate supporter' in your eyes? well sorry mate but thats absolutly ridiculous at least The Ram isnt doubting our loyalty or support of the eels! u my dear friend cant think out of the box.

why dont u get a family on minimal wage to see what its lik, get health problems and lose jobs as a result because of it and see how hard it is, just coz we who can't become members dont have the money doesnt give u the right to say whether we r true supporters or not
yeah i guess all those who dont have memberships have some sort of hard luck sad story to tell. Its not as if you are paying thousands for a membership idiot.
I am not doubting your support and passion. Im just saying that your are a leech and a tightass.

here's a crazy thought how about using a bit of diplomacy and encouraging people to become members instead of insulting and belittling them for not being members already