Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ossie V Paul Kent - Mat Johns show.

Captain BF

To me the whole thing felt like it was staged or put on. I got the feeling that 'Ozzy' & Kenty (as Osborne kept calling him) are probably mates.

To be honest nothing was achieved from either side IMO. The only real thing that can be taken out of it as far as i'm concerned was Osborne's admission that he was out of line speaking out about the off contract players.

Daneel

Daneel, they are fans yes, supporters no. If you are not a member(people with financial difficulties excluded) in some capacity, then where is the real support? Words and love from a far do little to fill the grandstands or the coffers of the club, that these supposed supporters keep telling us they love so, so very much. Where is their skin in the game so to speak?

Sorry to go on about this, but I have heard it all to many times, words are cheap, football clubs are not.

And yes I know that some will say that by just watching their team on the tele, it brings in more financial reward then any club membership could, due to the bigger TV deal that that brings in. Well that is like saying, I only eat my mothers amazing cooking because it makes her really, really happy.

Well we will just have to agree to disagree because as far as im concerned money doesn't come into it. As i said before it is how the team makes you feel.

I think the proof is in the pudding, The eels have 10000 members what percantage of people that consider themselves eels supporters would that be? Quite low i think.

To accuse people of not being supporters simply because you are a member and they are not is poor form really. If i wanted to be narrow minded i could suggest that you are not a real supporter of the eels as you want to change the mascot. Do you think that is a fair assumption? I don't as i don't think it is fair of you to put restrictions on other people as to what makes them a supporter.

eels_fan

Daneel, they are fans yes, supporters no. If you are not a member(people with financial difficulties excluded) in some capacity, then where is the real support? Words and love from a far do little to fill the grandstands or the coffers of the club, that these supposed supporters keep telling us they love so, so very much. Where is their skin in the game so to speak?

Sorry to go on about this, but I have heard it all to many times, words are cheap, football clubs are not.

And yes I know that some will say that by just watching their team on the tele, it brings in more financial reward then any club membership could, due to the bigger TV deal that that brings in. Well that is like saying, I only eat my mothers amazing cooking because it makes her really, really happy.

Have to disagree with you there Ram

like daneel, I think money is irrelevant when it comes to wheter you are a supporter or not

I was a season ticket holder for 6yrs, then moved to QLD. I am no longer a member in any capacity because I won't be going to games in Sydney and I don't need a new eels cap and sticker to add to many I already have. Does this mean 4 years I turned from a supporter to now just a 'fan'??

Furthermore, is Danny Green, Nathan Bracken and our other celebrity supporters indeed supporters in your eyes? Cos I can guarantee you Green gets his box seat free, was given the jersey and is wined and dined. In fact I'd be surprised if his 'support' has been even $1 monetarily!!

If you feel enraged when a call goes against you, heartbroken after a loss, buzzing for the whole weekend after a win - that's a supporter.

bildo

To me the whole thing felt like it was staged or put on. I got the feeling that 'Ozzy' & Kenty (as Osborne kept calling him) are probably mates.

Osborne is never going to be a quiet achiever, its not what he is about . Maintaining a high profile is in his best interest, until he can eventually find a retirement job. 'Ozzy' and 'Kenty' need the likes of each other, to survive .

natheel

f**k it despite what anyone says even though im not any type of 'member' of the eels im still a true supporter and noone can tell me otherwise.

f**k sake, i wear the jersey i fly the flag from my car ive got stickers on my car to show my support, just coz i dont put money into the club to become a member im not going to let people on their high horses tell me im not a true supporter. i also attend games when i can, i live in kiama i go to win stadium when they play there, i travel to parra stadium, ANZ or cambelltown stadium also.

put it this way if u ask someone on the first tim u meet them who do u barrack for in the NRL? what do u say?

what team r u a fan of? OR who do u support in the NRL?

to me fan and supporter means the same bloody thing!

supporter fan, fan supporter? who bloody cares we r all here together because the parramatta eels r what we live and breathe

Snoochies

f**k it despite what anyone says even though im not any type of 'member' of the eels im still a true supporter and noone can tell me otherwise.

f**k sake, i wear the jersey i fly the flag from my car ive got stickers on my car to show my support, just coz i dont put money into the club to become a member im not going to let people on their high horses tell me im not a true supporter. i also attend games when i can, i live in kiama i go to win stadium when they play there, i travel to parra stadium, ANZ or cambelltown stadium also.

put it this way if u ask someone on the first tim u meet them who do u barrack for in the NRL? what do u say?

supporter fan, fan supporter? who bloody cares we r all here together because the parramatta eels r what we live and breathe

AMEN brother!!

Being from Brissy no point in membership as most of the benefits are for those who can actually attend the games etc. I have merchandise, memorabilia and I pay Foxtel $68 a month to watch Parra play. I am a true supporter and anyone who takes the time and effort to create a name and identity and come onto LU to chat to other Parra fans in my book is a die hard supporter. :thumb

SDM

I am a true bandwagon supporter, I even have a Dragons jersey I will dust off if we are no hope in a couple of months, and then a Storm jersey for after the choke.

good on ya eele, i too have only been a supporter a shorter time than some on this forum (due to my age more than anything) been a supporter 17 years now and love the Eels, ive been up to brisbane with them when i was sick and that was a donation by the club for the starlight foundation (even though i never wished for that) they got wind of it that i was an eels fan and offered it too me along with a signed jersey etc etcthat was back in 02 and was the best week of my life so far.

i believe we can still make something out of this year its only early. i may not be the biggest league head and may not totally understand some aspects of th game etc but i understand my club the parramatta eels and when i was younger my parents use to always catch me out with the big league or on the eels website when i was meant to be studying or doing homework i could recite eels scores etc this frustrated my parents to no end 'why can't u recite ur multiplication tables like that' hahaha

i ahve faith in this club and will follow them till the day i die with my heart and an eel on my sleeve!

Good on you, mate. I reckon anyone on these forums who takes the time to sign up and add their point of view to a discussion is a true supporter of this great club.

And there would be a lot of people who aren't on these forums who are also true supporters.

One thing's for sure, though - Parra 'till the day I die!

I've never met you mate but we have had a couple of PM's re off topic stuff.
Don't believe the wanker hype.
You are as true as a supporter as parra pete or Lingard or Crazy Eel - those that have been following the Eels for 40 years or more.
Keep it up and keep us proud.

Thank you.

It's mostly due to work commitments that I can't get out to games and meet you great people and watch the boys go around. If I had my way, I'd go to every Toyota Cup game, Wenty game, First Grade game...Alas, it's important to support my family and so I work as hard as I can to keep them afloat. Until I can get that together I won't be able to see too many Eels games live, but I stay positive. Or, at least try to!

Eelementary, you bleed with the rest of us Eels supporters, ticketed members or not, overseas, interstate, rural or not. There are blind & deaf Eels supporters too. And then there are many many thousands who are poor, who can't afford anything bar watching on free to air TV or at the local club or pub or at a mates house. To us they all bleed silently but they scream hoarse when we do, they cry when we do, they jump for joy when we do, they hug one another when we do. Drama queens or not, male or not, fat, thin, tall, short, privileged or not, we all bleed blue and gold mate. Keep up the great work you do on this forum. I enjoy your posts.
Casper

Ditto, Casper - I always enjoy reading your posts.

I love you too Eele :eek:, It's those tight arse wankers, who can afford to fork out for some kind of membership and don't that I have no time for at all. Laziness and or tight arse stinginess is the death knell of many a club.

So to whoever can afford some form of membership, any type, just do it, the club and the game need you. Get into the habit of being a life member. It is a gift that just keeps on giving. Think of all the hundreds of hours of entertainment that this club has given you, don't they deserve a little help from you? Besides membership is a badge of honor and pride really isn't it?

Sorry everyone, I just think that everyone that follows this club or any other for that matter should show their support by way of membership. Anything short of that, then you are kidding yourself if you think that you are a supporter. You are merely a fan.

Of cause this only applies to people that can afford to be members and by no means am I trying to put down anyone that genuinely cannot afford to spend the money on some form of membership.

P.s.
If you are a smoker and not a member, sorry you are in the 'Can afford to be a member group', but choose not to. :x

It is indeed - I always show off my little keyring saying I'm a member, and my car keys are on the Eels lanyard portraying I'm a member and, truth be told, I get a little proud - I show it off to anyone who will listen!

I love you too, man!

I can totally understand where you're coming from on this Eele. And trust me, getting a season ticket doesn't make you love the team any more than you already do.

I have only held a season ticket for the past 3 years, and I mainly keep it so I can sit with my other buddies at the games. I've been a fan all my life but started attending regular games in 1996, and I haven't missed many Sydney games since then.

We apparently have this 'army' (and don't get me wrong, I'm happy to pay for my 2 memberships) however it seems that the club is only interested in the supporters at home games (yay we can buy merchandise from the shop and drink at the leagues club). But with 10,000 members, I really thought more interest would be shown in getting things together for away support too.... You have to wonder where the focus is.... For me, the #1 priority is watching the boys on the park and getting behind THE TEAM as much as possible.

Well said!

I guess for me, what really shows I love this team...I don't care if we've lost every game of the year or won every game by 50. If I get a chance to go to a game, I will jump at it.

In fact, I was so stoked when my boss tapped me on the shoulder the day before the Grand Final and said, "Go watch the game with your dad and sister. I've got your shift." We went to PJ Gallagher's to watch the game and even though we lost it was the best night I've had. I never knew the atmosphere in a pub could be like that - when we started making that comeback the place went nuts...I still get goosebumps!

Some of my best memories are at Parramatta Stadium. I was there when Melbourne beat us on the bell when Lee Hopkins gave away that unfortunate penalty (I can't remember the year now). My best friend and I ran to the front row after full time and gave the team a standing ovation for their efforts. Lee Hopkins came over and thanked us for coming - he was in tears, the poor bloke. That was one of the best nights ever for me. Here was a man who gave my beloved club his all for 80 minutes and he was thanking ME for merely coming and screaming myself stupid? It was a great moment.

/rant

being a fan or a supporter of a team has little or nothing to do with how much money you spend on memberships, merchandise and tickets.

It also is not signified by how long you have supported your team (allthough some period of time must elapse before people will take you seriously).

The only real way to know if someone is a fan is by how the team makes you feel. The extreme highs of winning a game, to the lowest of lows after a loss. It is the feeling in the pit of your stomach that gives it away ( I will also point out that these feelings for me anyway seem to increase the longer i am a supporter).
So the only person who knows if you are a real fan is yourself. Everyone on hear will know what i mean you will all feel like this after wins and losses, sometimes more extreme than others depending on circumstances.

I honestly think no one takes a loss as hard as me, and no one celebrates a win the way i do. The interesting thing is im sure we all feel like that, that we are the no1 fan of our team and nobody loves them more. This forum has taught me that. Living in Qld and supporting a nsw club you can feel like you are the only one who cares.

So in summing up lets all agree each and everyone of us is the no1 supporter of our great club and get back to what we do best and that is providing support.

Well said.

Well said!

AMEN brother!!

Being from Brissy no point in membership as most of the benefits are for those who can actually attend the games etc. I have merchandise, memorabilia and I pay Foxtel $68 a month to watch Parra play. I am a true supporter and anyone who takes the time and effort to create a name and identity and come onto LU to chat to other Parra fans in my book is a die hard supporter. :thumb

Hear, hear!

Casper The Ghost

:lol: Classic!

Hear, hear!

Well said!

Well said.

Well said!

I guess for me, what really shows I love this team...I don't care if we've lost every game of the year or won every game by 50. If I get a chance to go to a game, I will jump at it.

In fact, I was so stoked when my boss tapped me on the shoulder the day before the Grand Final and said, "Go watch the game with your dad and sister. I've got your shift." We went to PJ Gallagher's to watch the game and even though we lost it was the best night I've had. I never knew the atmosphere in a pub could be like that - when we started making that comeback the place went nuts...I still get goosebumps!

Some of my best memories are at Parramatta Stadium. I was there when Melbourne beat us on the bell when Lee Hopkins gave away that unfortunate penalty (I can't remember the year now). My best friend and I ran to the front row after full time and gave the team a standing ovation for their efforts. Lee Hopkins came over and thanked us for coming - he was in tears, the poor bloke. That was one of the best nights ever for me. Here was a man who gave my beloved club his all for 80 minutes and he was thanking ME for merely coming and screaming myself stupid? It was a great moment.

/rant

It is indeed - I always show off my little keyring saying I'm a member, and my car keys are on the Eels lanyard portraying I'm a member and, truth be told, I get a little proud - I show it off to anyone who will listen!

I love you too, man!

Ditto, Casper - I always enjoy reading your posts.

Thank you.

It's mostly due to work commitments that I can't get out to games and meet you great people and watch the boys go around. If I had my way, I'd go to every Toyota Cup game, Wenty game, First Grade game...Alas, it's important to support my family and so I work as hard as I can to keep them afloat. Until I can get that together I won't be able to see too many Eels games live, but I stay positive. Or, at least try to!

Good on you, mate. I reckon anyone on these forums who takes the time to sign up and add their point of view to a discussion is a true supporter of this great club.

And there would be a lot of people who aren't on these forums who are also true supporters.

One thing's for sure, though - Parra 'till the day I die!

Eelementary, you truly demonstrate a real tribal love for the Eels and is why this great club will only get better and be very successful. The love you/we pour into the eels is the energy of life, the power of creation we each create. This attitude of your creation (and others) is what makes me feel so proud to be part of a bonded Eels tribe. The Eels will win this years GF. Go the Eels..... and PO & DA (and others in officialdom and the players), I do not want INU & Mateo to go. They must stay. Time to readjust all your contracts to demonstrate how you all bleed for the Eels Tribe...
Casper

TheRam

Sorry guys, can't agree. Mostly what you have all written here is a description of what a fan is. I have the same thoughts on this matter as South Sydney's Shane Richardson. As most of you have either read or heard when he is approached by a member of the public and asked a question in regards to Souths, the first thing he responds with is are you a member or what is your number.

If they aren't he hands them the membership forms and asks them to become a member and he will then answer any questions they may have. This is also the approach that AFL clubs and supporters have. It is a subtle but significant difference between the two codes and a major clue as to why Souths are now leading the membership drive in the NRL.

Look I get it, I understand that you all bleed Blue and Gold, that is not in dispute here, but even if you are not in Sydney, or can't make it to the games for whatever reason, you can still give something($$$) directly to our great club and be a member. It should be a given without expecting trinkets or some other benefit in return. I don't get it, people keep stating how much they love this club, but then apathy, change of address, or what do I get in return for my hard earned, are all stated for NOT SUPPORTING the club that they love so much.

And yet I bet most of us and that includes me, can blow $100 or $200+ on a single drinking session out, or clothes that we don't really need and may never even wear or any number of other things that we don't value anywhere near as much as our beloved Eels.

I know I can't nor would I ever tell anyone where or how to spend their own money and that is not what I am trying to do here. But I do think that we need to have a collective mind shift in the way we personally view and value membership of our clubs. I hope one day that we are all fighting to be a member of all our football clubs like in other countries where there are 20 and 30 year waiting lists. Those people, as do that other mob down in Victoria, WA and SA, get it, we unfortunately here in NSW and QLD don't anywhere near as much, yet.