Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: American footy thread

Ron Jeremy

How about chips drafts Ron?
Im looking forward to smoking use up this year.

Didn't really see much of the eagles draft, mainly only focused on afc teams naturally.

No chance, I will be surprised if we didn't beat everyone in your division comfortably ha, but the afc is much stronger then the NFC, and afc east is now the toughest in the NFL, and probably by some margin too

shiznit

Watch out for Oakland-Big improvers this year. Addressed there needs have a franchise QB. They wont finish last this year.I can see atleast 6-7 wins.Maybe more
I'd take 6 or 7 wins this season...

We certainly addressed some glaring needs... Especially in regards to weapons for Carr with Amari Cooper and that TE outta the U.

But I'm not sold on Mario Edwards Jr in the 2nd round... We needed more productive pick than him... I'm hearing we only went with him because our new LB coach was his positions coach at Florida State... So he knows his potential.... I'll have to wait and see on that.

Something that went under the radar for us... We picked up by far Derek Carrs favourite college receiver as an undrafted free agent. I think he could turn out to be our slot guy... Because he has strong chemistry with Carr.

Didn't really see much of the eagles draft, mainly only focused on afc teams naturally.

No chance, I will be surprised if we didn't beat everyone in your division comfortably ha, but the afc is much stronger then the NFC, and afc east is now the toughest in the NFL, and probably by some margin too

I think yo might be in for a shock Ron-Giants are going to be a lot stronger.And Dallas an Philli shouldnt be a push over.
I agree the jets-miami-Bills are on the rise..

Which side is stronger well much is a stretch-especially when green bay and seattle are in the opposite side.Along with Dallas detroit. I guess with New orleans and San fran building you are right thou.
I do think Arizona and falcons are going to be good sides this year thou.And i still think Philli experiment could work.
As for your side i reckon the bottom sides like oakland-jacksonville-tennesse will all improve a lot. Thou the chargers and broncos will drop off.

I cant say use have the toughest group untill i see use all play. I have to lean towards bally-pittsburgh-Bengals-browns. The browns should have a great defensive unit-Aslong as they can score some point.

Anyhows cant wait till it starts

Ron Jeremy

mate I just dont rate that division, to me even dallas would be lucky to finish 8-8 in our division with the defenses in the AFC east, they are all big time apart from the Pats who have brady instead.

We swept the packers division last year with a far less side, now with all the weapons we have i just cant see it. In saying that I think giants and redskins will be far better this year, and will make it harder for you guys and teh cowboys.

The philli experiment wont work mate, you dont just loose quality like you did and get better. I think defensively you guys will be better, but just remember chip is no defensive guru, he will rely on the offense to get them over the line, and one thing i have learnt by watching the NFL is that the best d will always beat the best O in the vast majority of cases.

Dont rate pittsburgh that highly this year tbh, nor denver, manning is a choke away from a reitrement

Cards dont worry me either tbh, they remind me abit like the colts without luck, have pieces but not quite there yet.

I actually think jags and raiders will win 5-7 games this year, there drafts were great imo

I like your optimism Ron.
Keep in mind we have added Murray and Mathews plus drafted a highly rated wide receiver.If bradfords fit he will run us around well.

I wish your bills luck, but when use visit I doubt use go home with the chocklates.

Dallas where only a few points away from beating Green bay in the plays off's and had beaten seattle that year. Romo thou is he capable of two great years in a row?

Im just worried about your QB not sure how you can bag Bradford and rate cassel?

Pazza

Keep in mind we have added Murray and Mathews plus drafted a highly rated wide receiver.If bradfords fit he will run us around well.

Murray, Mathews, Sproles, Ertz, Celek, Mathews, Agholor, three pro bowl quality line men and the best pair of tackles in the game. Plenty of offensive weapons for Chip to use.

Im really looking forward to watching this fast break offence without McCoy's negative plays.

Mcoy is a beast of a player once there is a bit of space.But when you just need to get those yards he doesnt fit well.Plenty of times he makes nothing, but given space he is a weapon. Its when he gets his 15 yard runs thou it brings his average up.He really struggled the start of 2014 with yards per run.

Pazza

Mcoy is a beast of a player once there is a bit of space.But when you just need to get those yards he doesnt fit well.Plenty of times he makes nothing, but given space he is a weapon. Its when he gets his 15 yard runs thou it brings his average up.He really struggled the start of 2014 with yards per run.

Very true

A quote to highlight this point from the Philly Voice

McCoy had a league-high 125 carries since 2013-14 that have gone for zero or negative yards. Those are drive killers. And while the Eagles have made a habit of scoring quickly in Chip Kelly's fast-pace offense, the drives that fail stall just as quickly, putting addition strain on the Eagles' below average defense. Maybe Kelly would prefer a runner with more of a north-south mindset, rather than a guy like McCoy, who has a habit of going east-west before turning up the field.

Also lets not forget how ineffective he is in red zone and short situations. To the point that third string running back Chris Polk was taking those snaps. I like watching McCoy when he makes those long runs, making guys miss etc but at 10 mil plus for a RB that isn't a three down player, you can understand the decision Chip made.

How do you feel about the draft for the eagles hindy?

Not too far away...... Who is excited. You ready for the Superbowl bound bills vs Philli season Ron Jeremy?

We are going to whip your pedestrian A$$Ses when use come too town. May as well hand the win too us now.
Phlli- Phlli-Phlli

T.S Quint

Packers will be tough.
Same with Seattle. Pats will be up there again as usual. I'm thinking the Cowboys are in with a shot this season.

Ron Jeremy

Lol, Super Bowl-bound Bills.
Great defence. No QB.

Amazing defense, and don't underestimate ej or tyrod - both have far outplayed cassell thus far in training .

And besides, we will be ground and pound this year, short passes up the likes of Watkins, woods, McCoy, harvin for huge yards after catch.

The bills will bs huge this year, our defense alone last year won us 9 games.

Ron Jeremy

Cowboys no chance, they will get wiped when they play all 4 afc easy teams tgis season, that o line of there's will be sucking there thumbs, and will show that Seattles d is a myth

Eagles drafts well - if fit Bradford is a better QB than Foles. They have two very good running backs to replace mcoy.
Id expect there first two round draft choices to be in the team. I do not know enougha bout the game in certain positions to know how losing guys like cole will effect us. Overall Chip has taken a gamble. I reckon we are a better team but there are a few injury risks thats all

Amazing defense, and don't underestimate ej or tyrod - both have far outplayed cassell thus far in training .

And besides, we will be ground and pound this year, short passes up the likes of Watkins, woods, McCoy, harvin for huge yards after catch.

The bills will bs huge this year, our defense alone last year won us 9 games.

I reckon your whole group will be cracker. Patriots more than likely still top it but it wont be by 4-5 games.
Miami should be a strong unit.

I am hearing good things about the bears and the vikings.There group will also be a cracker with greenbay and detroit.
Id say along with Bally-putty and bengals those are the three most interesting groups. I expect the Giants too improve too...

Ron Jeremy

Mate pats won't take the division, and if they do , it will be at a 9-7 record. I don't you think you understand how elite these defended are, they are all big time good apart from the pats who look. Horrible on d now.

Vikings I like, think they are in for a huge year