Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Association Football

I would love it if Parra had 5,000 fans meet in Prince Alfred Park and walk the last 300 metres down Vic Rd as one. Especially as the opposition bus rolled into the carpark.

Wish the Blue and Gold Army or the Swarm or whatever they're called could arrange something like this.

Will never happen. Our fan base is full of Gary's and Phantom's and Maroubra's. They prefer knitting and cups of tea.

spiderdan

Spoken like a man who's never had to paint a tank.
Yep. Best way to piss off a Mediterranean_Descendant is to wreck his duco.

In college it was really boring going anywhere with the other Mediterranean_Decendants that had cool cars because all they ever wanted to was guard their paint job. One of my cousins (I think he was a cousin as we are all apparently related) once racially vilified, threatened to kill and chased an Indian miner bird because it shat on his sports car.

Daneel

Yep. Best way to piss off a Mediterranean_Descendant is to wreck his duco.

In college it was really boring going anywhere with the other Mediterranean_Decendants that had cool cars because all they ever wanted to was guard their paint job. One of my cousins (I think he was a cousin as we are all apparently related) once racially vilified, threatened to kill and chased an Indian miner bird because it shat on his sports car.

I think you mean Native American miner bird you racist prick

B-Tron 3000

haha - should have chucked the dog down

i'm not saying this to stir the pot or anything - it all looks very controlled and well organised - its just my general beliefs in life, but I just don't really think its right for people to expect everyone else to stop everything (ie traffic) so they can walk to a sporting game in a big group .... and i wouldn't expect it to happen for me or the team i support

dunno - maybe i am just a boring wanker

No, just ignorant of the real situation.

No-one from the RBB expects or even wants the police presence and the traffic barricades. It happens because the police seem to think that there will be trouble if they don't show up and guide people through the march.

The fact is that when the police haven't been there the Wanderers fans have, shock horror, managed to get to the stadium ok and not disrupt anyone much.

On top of this, the original march was only intended for a small group, and that number has now grown. In fact, judging by the amount of people who take photos/film it/or just generally watch it go past with smiles on their faces, most people seem to like it.

The police, in their wisdom, consistently show that they have no idea how to handle this, and are the ones that usually make the situation a problem, by doing things like getting people to walk on the footpath even though they are blocking the road anyway with their police horses, or forcing people to walk on one side of the road because they are wearing a Wanderers jersey and therefore must be "one of them", when the other side of the road has a totally empty footpath.

On Grand Final day last year, the police decided that no-one was to walk on the road during the march from Central to the SFS. Of course, that meant that they were overbearing wankers and stopped people even so much as walking in a lane with parked cars. The fans eventually tired of being treated like children - it was making the walk take 4 times as long as it should have - and through sheer weight of numbers poured out on to the streets. What eventuated? Well, yes, traffic was stopped for all of about 5-10 minutes, but in fact quite a few locals came out to take pictures and the "marchers" interacted with people in their cars by pretending to clean their windows etc. It was all in good fun, and people got on with their lives afterwards. I reckon I could have a stab and say that no-one's life was negatively affected by being 5 minutes later to wherever they were going on a Sunday afternoon. In fact, some were enriched by the experience.

No, just ignorant of the real situation.

No-one from the RBB expects or even wants the police presence and the traffic barricades. It happens because the police seem to think that there will be trouble if they don't show up and guide people through the march.

The fact is that when the police haven't been there the Wanderers fans have, shock horror, managed to get to the stadium ok and not disrupt anyone much.

On top of this, the original march was only intended for a small group, and that number has now grown. In fact, judging by the amount of people who take photos/film it/or just generally watch it go past with smiles on their faces, most people seem to like it.

The police, in their wisdom, consistently show that they have no idea how to handle this, and are the ones that usually make the situation a problem, by doing things like getting people to walk on the footpath even though they are blocking the road anyway with their police horses, or forcing people to walk on one side of the road because they are wearing a Wanderers jersey and therefore must be "one of them", when the other side of the road has a totally empty footpath.

On Grand Final day last year, the police decided that no-one was to walk on the road during the march from Central to the SFS. Of course, that meant that they were overbearing wankers and stopped people even so much as walking in a lane with parked cars. The fans eventually tired of being treated like children - it was making the walk take 4 times as long as it should have - and through sheer weight of numbers poured out on to the streets. What eventuated? Well, yes, traffic was stopped for all of about 5-10 minutes, but in fact quite a few locals came out to take pictures and the "marchers" interacted with people in their cars by pretending to clean their windows etc. It was all in good fun, and people got on with their lives afterwards. I reckon I could have a stab and say that no-one's life was negatively affected by being 5 minutes later to wherever they were going on a Sunday afternoon. In fact, some were enriched by the experience.

Maroubra? Phantom? Strider? Delboy.
Any of you flogs want to have a go at the newby?
Don't forget that this is a football thread, so If you guys hate the sport, I'd be surprised if you are even reading it.
Oh, hold on....

B-Tron's not a newbie. He's a robot that transforms into a hip-hop dancer, and he's been around for ages.

Some might say he's old skool.

Chipmunk

I'm not going to search back almost 3000 posts, but has anyone ever asked the question why the sport is called 'Association' Football? It's always been one of life's conundrums for me

phantom eel

Ok then, since you insist... and no-one said anything about hating the sport, just the wanker active support.

In fact, judging by the amount of people who take photos/film it/or just generally watch it go past with smiles on their faces, most people seem to like it.
Or are laughing at it, if the march is always like the video link that Suitman posted. Why the megaphones? Why the need for capos/leaders? Why do it in a big group - if you're worried about finding your way to the grounds, surely someone can fire up google maps on their smart phone and the rest can follow at their own pace(on the footpath, in an orderly fashion).

Fancy wanting pedestrians to walk on the footpath in cities! And fancy wanting to keep one footpath clear so that anyone going in the other direction can do so safely! Yep, the police have no idea and make the situation into a problem....

The fans eventually tired of being treated like children - it was making the walk take 4 times as long as it should have - and through sheer weight of numbers poured out on to the streets. What eventuated? Well, yes, traffic was stopped for all of about 5-10 minutes
...say no more. RBB = childish wankers.

phantom eel

I'm not going to search back almost 3000 posts, but has anyone ever asked the question why the sport is called 'Association' Football? It's always been one of life's conundrums for me
I think it's because the rules for soccer were originally laid down by the Football Association ie the FA in FA Cup?

Kind of the same how Rugby had a Union (two actually) and eventually we had our League and the codes are also known as such.

Maroubra Eel

My mate lives on the street in that video. He's a surgeon and works odd hours. He was trying to get some sleep but was woken by all the carry-on. Unfortunately he couldn't perform a very important operation that night as he wasn't well rested.
Think about that RBB.

Don't forget that this is a football thread, so If you guys hate the sport, I'd be surprised if you are even reading it.
Oh, hold on....

So he pretty much just said the opposite to you - ie that the fans don't want the police involved, yet you said they work hard to get permission, permits, etc etc ..... who to believe?

If they simply don't think it necessary to have the police turn up and deal with hundreds of people traipsing through the streets to a footy game then they must be daft - of course it is going to be a hazzard. Should the cops wait til someone gets run down? Or a driver gets the shits with a mob in their way and it ends up a bit of road rage? Of course a bucketload of people is gonna need some sort of escort

as i said it all looks well organised and very friendly ... i just think its a bit rough and self centred to expect a big chunk of sydney stops for you to walk to a footy game when it's not really necessary

Did anyone notice that the Malaysian Airlines jumbo jet disappeared on the same day as the WSW-SFC derby? And that the plane turned around after leaving KL? Maybe the pilot was doing the Posnan? Or wanted to get to Sydney for the march to the game?