Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT : Beer

asahi is one I have eyed off a few times.
There is also another Japanese beer in huge silver can that has got huge raps off the bloke who runs the bottlo in Oyster bay.
I have baulked at the price though...9ish bucks .

On becks i saw a great ad for it while in Europe.

It said ...''you don't have to be posh to swallow Becks''.

newman

Interesting side note.

I cannot drink VB. Well, I can but It makes me very, very ill. 3 or 4 of em and I will puke the next morning. Drink 10 or 11 and I am f**kED. Happens with no other beer.

I dont know how anyone can ingest this poison.

My mate home brews in kegs ...I used to do bottles but it wasn't condusive to having a social life.
( is that one long neck or 4 ?)

anyway his he uses the old ''home brand'' home brew and it actually tastes pretty damn good.
Heaps heaps heaps better when kegged than bottled.

I made a ladies lager once where I added a large jar of honey to it when I put down a brew .

The alcohol level was quite high due to all the extra sugar and it tasted very nice at first.
3 long necks later and it was like chewing glass.

Kiwishark

I enjoy a Monteiths original, from the West Coast of the South Island, not sure if you have that over there but is a solid drop that never goes wrong. Not outstanding, just reliable.

Otherwise Heineken, Corona (enjoyment multiplies with a lime) or Sol. I was told by my Mexican amigo that in Mexico they sell litre Coronas!! Will have to check that out.

Hoegardens (however it's spelt) are Belgian, and yea really summer beer at best. Had a bad experience drinking the bottom of the barrel stuff. At my Belgian bar, they sell them in two sizes, so you can go up to the bar and ask for a big Hoe, and receive strange looks.

I lived in Holland for a while and the cloggies called ( translated ) Heinekin Canal Water.
I didn't mind it at all.
They were all Groelch ( again spelling?) fans.

sharknows

newman said:
Interesting side note.

I cannot drink VB. Well, I can but It makes me very, very ill. 3 or 4 of em and I will puke the next morning. Drink 10 or 11 and I am f**kED. Happens with no other beer.

I think it's got a high amount of preservative. I like VB and think I've become immune to the side effects......

newman

Otherwise Heineken, Corona (enjoyment multiplies with a lime) or Sol. I was told by my Mexican amigo that in Mexico they sell litre Coronas!! Will have to check that out.

When I lived in Montreal, I used to head home via the Deppanyar (convenience store) and pick up 3 Corona LONGNECKS. Every day. Magic stuff.

hey Newman 3 per day is an alcoholic.

I lied to a doctor when he asked how much I drink and said between 10 and 15 cans .
He said that was too much per month!

Then I said per week.

He freaked....doctors need to harded the fug up.
What normal Aussie male could possibly only drink 10 to 15 beers per month?

Unless they have put in years of solid devotion and it is a case of stop or die I cant fathom it.

newman

hey Newman 3 per day is an alcoholic.

I lied to a doctor when he asked how much I drink and said between 10 and 15 cans .
He said that was too much per month!

Then I said per week.

He freaked....doctors need to harded the fug up.
What normal Aussie male could possibly only drink 10 to 15 beers per month?

Unless they have put in years of solid devotion and it is a case of stop or die I cant fathom it.

Yeah thats a joke. Doctors are f**ken jokes. Theyll tell you that sh*t to scare you into thinking you have some disease and go back to make extra payments on their time share in Maui.

I did have a problem at that stage in my life.

I was drinking three longnecks a night and Friday Saturday Sunday I was at Club Saphir, helping at the bar and pretty much passing out from all the free vodka, cointrau and pineapple I was drinking and then slam dancing to the Cramps. The only good thing about living in montreal was I had this French girlfriend who liked to wear bondage belts. In public.

Surely

newman said:
Interesting side note.

Same at it gives me a shocking headache.

Don't want to offend anyone, but as a publican i can tell you VB is the f**kwits choice of beer.

Surely said:
Same at it gives me a shocking headache.

Don't want to offend anyone, but as a publican i can tell you VB is the f**kwits choice of beer.
ha ha ha.

o oh

what is new?

Danger

I cant go past VB on tap, Boyles has coopers red on tap too, love that stuff... I hate that low carb bullsh*t, as if you will not put on wieght just because its low carb, aren't most american beers lowcarb, last time i checked, their still a bunch of obese heffers, so i dont see why its so appealing.

cheese

Something about asian beer that always puts me off.

I always picture them filling their beers from seedy waterways like the mekong river

Japan are germaphobes ...But some of those other 3rd worlders are a f**king worry IMO.

Having said, I have bought a carton of tiger before. Not too bad. Can't say I loved it though.

I went through a huge boutique phase, but tbh, I reckon the best beers for my taste buds are made in Tazzy.

On other oz boutiques, I'd steer clear of "bee's knee's" .....I reckon it's horse sh!t.