Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Comrade corner:

Look at this decrepit entitled lot whinging on, none of them have done anything for anyone except try and promote themselves.

Multi millionaires, backstabbing specialists, the unfaithful and Gladys just wanted to be loved!

Glass houses and stones scenario 101.

Scomo would be well advised to post these condemnations as far and wide as possible.

People expect the odd dose of bullshit from pollies, it really depends on whether you get personally reamed by it.

This disheveled bitter lot and their sour recriminations make our troubled Scotty look like Mother Teresa. Aloha.

Im not sticking up for scotty, he is a smug prick ... but all those people either have an axe to grind or have their own fibbing issues or are ridiculed themselves .... its like taking james hooper's word over crawley's

Yeah.

They could have found some better role models to utilise to make the point, but it’s often the race to the bottom and then the sharp operatives wonder why us filth get jaded etc.

I don’t think anyone should be concerned about how they look if they support anyone. Go for it I say. No worries.

I met a guy once. He was a hillbilly redneck. And unsure how true this is but he was saying if any boats landed up top of Aus they'd mow them down. Reckons plenty would land in middle of nowhere and the Aboriginals or locals would destroy them or they'd just starve to death trying to find a town.
Again unsure how true this is but he sounded genuine.

I met a guy once. He was a hillbilly redneck. And unsure how true this is but he was saying if any boats landed up top of Aus they'd mow them down. Reckons plenty would land in middle of nowhere and the Aboriginals or locals would destroy them or they'd just starve to death trying to find a town.
Again unsure how true this is but he sounded genuine.

Abbott, Tony Abbot, shaken not stirred…

Working for a foreign government, we should abduct him when goes to renew his passport at the Australian High Commission in London.

6D16AEB1-8893-4869-9BA6-FCCD22C8AEAC.jpeg

Underneath the mango tree ma honey…

Bandwagon

that is interesting ..... not so much the teal bit, thats a stretch i think - but no logo is no accident

The colour is likely intentional, remember the mild bruhaha over the Liberals use of AEC purple for some of their signage in 2019?

That also was very clearly deliberate. Branding is a thing, and colour play a significant part in brand recognition.

The Chinese have stolen a long March on us per the Solomons.

And all we’ve asked them to do is not to sign it and are still willing to keep a security pact with them. It looks to me to be all out of control.

I can just see it now, Australian subs keeping the bustling naval port of Xin Hua safe from us and our allies.

Soon the big cash and infrastructure from the PRC will arrive and maybe trickle down into their economy, ten times the cash we give in the aid and all in our backyard.

Then a couple of the other islands get the same idea and soon we have the Pacific Cold War on our doorstep.

I don’t want to alarm anyone, but what happens if they want to install some serious weapons in the Solomons and we have a new Cuban crisis thing.

A bit like a re run of McHales Navy.

We were supposed to be a Deputy Sheriff and we’ve been at the donut shop for years.

As I said a few weeks ago, instead of begging these Gilligan Islanders, we should send over a few sorties of Raptors to send a message.

5DF3C219-7363-4D76-AB62-93877FCF2A50.jpeg

A symbol that we won’t be intimidated.

Then ask the usa to pony up and help them develop. Improve life for their people.

This is a big fat fail for Dutton and Australian Intelligence seemed to miss it completely. What’s our embassy doing over there?

Cold wars are expensive and take resources away from health and education.

2320751C-09FD-4E2D-BF9D-888BA6EC9029.jpeg
The Mighty HMAS Parramatta- should send her up to the Solomons as an optic for the chief.

Hopefully our relations are better with our other neighbours down the back.

SMH/Nine seem to have flipped a bit too ... it was endless weeks of Lib/scomo bashing, now they are talking up their latest poll where everyone lost faith in Albo (tho they just went to undecided lol)

Me thinks its good for business if the election looks close with twists and turns - keep the people entertained and they will come back

Stuff the leckshun there’s another ‘Nam brewing up in the Pacific

PLAN carrier task force berthed on our porch.

“It ain’t me, it ain’t me, I’m no senators son”

BE0FD5AE-CEB6-4E1B-9C79-E648DBDC1E80.jpeg
Source abc.net.au

Hope I don’t miss the draft this time around.

SMH/Nine seem to have flipped a bit too ... it was endless weeks of Lib/scomo bashing, now they are talking up their latest poll where everyone lost faith in Albo (tho they just went to undecided lol)

Me thinks its good for business if the election looks close with twists and turns - keep the people entertained and they will come back
If people havne't made their mind up (either way) already after the last 3 years of..., then a they almost don't deserve to vote! The "campaign" is just an expensive sound-byte spin-cycle for the value free and easy to convince - the dwindling "swinging voter".

By asking a different 1,000 people each time the polls give the impression (especially in the useles question of "preferred prime miniter - which no-one can actually vote for) of people being undecided or swinging about which party/local condidate they'll support - when in reality I reckon the huge majority already know/have already decided exactly how they'll mark their ballot paper, and the media/campaign is just stringing us along.

Bandwagon

If people havne't made their mind up (either way) already after the last 3 years of..., then a they almost don't deserve to vote! The "campaign" is just an expensive sound-byte spin-cycle for the value free and easy to convince - the dwindling "swinging voter".

By asking a different 1,000 people each time the polls give the impression (especially in the useles question of "preferred prime miniter - which no-one can actually vote for) of people being undecided or swinging about which party/local condidate they'll support - when in reality I reckon the huge majority already know/have already decided exactly how they'll mark their ballot paper, and the media/campaign is just stringing us along.

There are plenty of folk who don't give a f**k about politics until they have to go to the polling booth.

Some will vote on what they see in the campaign and what it offers them, some will vote on "feels" others will go with whatever picture the media paints.

And in a two party system where as little as half a percent or so can decide the outcome, those folks votes are just as important as any other merkins, but probably more highly valued by the parties, because their mind can be changed right up to the point where they enter the booth.