Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

King-Gutho94

*the majority of the 65% that bothered to vote in a non-compulsory election... so around 34% of the eligible voting population
I do wonder if Australia didn't have compulsory voting.

How much of the eligible voting population would go and vote.

I reckon it would hover around 80-85% maybe even lower perhaps depending on whose putting themselves up.

Like atm we have 2 clowns no one really likes and its been that way for a while.

And if it wasn't compulsory i reckon a fair chunk wouldn't be bothered going because of the quality of candidates.

I reckon it would hover around 80-85% maybe even lower perhaps depending on whose putting themselves up.

Like atm we have 2 clowns no one really likes and its been that way for a while.

And if it wasn't compulsory i reckon a fair chunk wouldn't be bothered going because of the quality of candidates.
Mate 80% participated in a optional non-binding same sex marriage plebiscite.

King-Gutho94

Mate 80% participated in a optional non-binding same sex marriage plebiscite.
Well your basically just agreeing with my argument going off those figures i would be around the mark then.

Around 80-85% of eligible people would probably vote if it wasn't compulsory.

Which leaves 15-20% who probably couldn't be stuffed if voting wasn't compulsory.

Well your basically just agreeing with my argument going off those figures i would be around the mark then.

Around 80-85% of eligible people would probably vote if it wasn't compulsory.

Which leaves 15-20% who probably couldn't be stuffed if voting wasn't compulsory.
Not at all. It was a mobilisation of punters for a matter that in the scheme of things was insignificant compared to a federal election. Common sense tells you that more people would participate in a general election which actually impacts their daily lives.

Someone sent me a compilation of all the crazies on Tik Tok losing their shit, absolutely hilarious.

Jimmy Kimmel crying like a little girl was also amusing, funniest thing he has ever done.
Good to know. I don't really follow politics on tiktok tbh. I like it for stand up and merkins who hunt down new Sydney restaurants and bars.

I'm not going to miss that stupid f**king laugh that Harris does everytime she is nervous or stumped for something to say. She did it again during her concession speech. Easily one of the dumbest politicians in recent memory. Haven't hated a person more since Hillary.

And our own idiots scrambling to cover up their own social media f**k ups. Kevin f**king Rudd. I shake my head. He’s on borrowed time in the U.S. and should stock up on trinkets while he still can—something to remember before he's inevitably kicked out.

Albo’s time will come as well—he’s just a slimy, snivelling weasel hanging on, but his day of reckoning is inevitable.
:clap::clap::clap:

In 2020 81 million voted for Biden and 74 million for Trump.

In 2024 68 million voted for Harris and 72 million for Trump.

A lot of people just couldn’t be f**ked to vote for Harris, same with Trump, just less.

Harris failed to motivate full stop.

Trump looks like he lost supporters, but picked up others in different demographics.

I am sure there are other ways to slice and dice those stats too.

This is raw, and has sweary words so > NSFW <. British journo/comedian breaks down Harris’s campaign.

Yes ... she is a useless clown .... its incredible anyone ever thought she had any chance.

The delluded all claimed Biden was ok .... until he suddenly wasnt .... then all fell inline to try and prop up his inept sidekick and carried on the dellusion thinking she was capable .... but guess what - she wasnt ..... no amount of media favouritism, editing interview answers, propaganda and lame celebrity endorsements could get people motivated

Maybe the few people on here who kept saying she was useless were right afterall

bazza

I don't see why we would be any higher than the US/UK - though perhaps being conditioned for compulsary voting and it being held on the weekend and not being shit fight makes it more likely

I assume that if voting was not compulsary we would end up with candidates that appeal to those that vote. Those that would actually end up voting would probably be skewed to
- "elites" - professional, university educated
- religious zealots voting the way their religion tells them
- union members voting the way their union tells them

Scotty's tradies and Howard's "battlers" would be the ones that don't bother

Good to know. I don't really follow politics on tiktok tbh. I like it for stand up and merkins who hunt down new Sydney restaurants and bars.
Austin Powers Doctor Evil GIF

Yes ... she is a useless clown .... its incredible anyone ever thought she had any chance.

The delluded all claimed Biden was ok .... until he suddenly wasnt .... then all fell inline to try and prop up his inept sidekick and carried on the dellusion thinking she was capable .... but guess what - she wasnt ..... no amount of media favouritism, editing interview answers, propaganda and lame celebrity endorsements could get people motivated

Maybe the few people on here who kept saying she was useless were right afterall
Your post would have merit if there was any likelihood that you would have acknowledged that an alternative democrat candidate to Harris was worthy. None of you would have as you are all rusted on right supporters. So your post is really just tossing some smug around.

Delboy

Your post would have merit if there was any likelihood that you would have acknowledged that an alternative democrat candidate to Harris was worthy. None of you would have as you are all rusted on right supporters. So your post is really just tossing some smug around.
Pot - kettle - black

as far as your opinion on anything remotely right of centre, your manic postings of anything critical of centre right politicians is evidence.

Enjoy your day.

King-Gutho94

New MAGA hat soon to be available

Make Albo Go Away

addendum, take that idiot Bowen with you
But isnt Albo not only going to save rugby league but also Australia from China by bringing in an NRL team for PNG.

Albo's PNG Kumals.

He wont even be in charge when they come into the comp.

Complete and utter horseshit from you once again

Many times I said i would have given RFK Jr my vote if i were a yank ..... he is of course a long time democrat, yet they intentionally analed him to force him out of their primary .... he was probably someone who would have had a legit chance if they got behind him. But they wont, cos he is not a yes man puppet for the people who really control things.

Dont bother replying .... blah blah antivaxer, blah blah antiflouride, blah blah israel, blah blah blah more gronk speil

I also think they may have had other more likely winners .... but a combo of factors led them to place her as their designated puppet - she is an ideal puppet, no other merkin willing to risk losing to trump, money already put into biden