Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Bandwagon

You missed the point. That is employers get screwed more then employees a lot of times and no one says boo.

No I didn't, there's a power imbalance there and it's well in favor of the employer. If an employee is taking the piss, you f**k them off, what have you lost? A shit employee.

It's a pain in the arse 'cause you gotta go an employ some other merkin, but no one's losing any sleep over it.

On the other hand if an employer is ripping off an employee, they are losing their income.

I mean just like they can sack someone an individual not being paid properpy also has the option to leave.

Sure, and if they don't get another job straight away, they can always sleep in the car.

Seriously dude, what we are talking about here for the most part is low skilled low paid jobs, these people aren't just walking into a better job most the time. Sure if you have in demand skills it's not hard, but usually those kinds of workers aren't getting ripped off because it's much harder to replace skilled workers.

As far as sacking someone goes ifs a huge expense. Not just for paying a bludger but for taking time to train them, iniforms, interviews. On larger scale jobs it's not so easy to spot the ones there to take it easy.

It really isn't that big a deal. If a merkin's useless or taking the piss and you don't pick it up, that's a failure of management. On a big project, it's just a bigger failure of management. And a trainee that wants to work will soon be more productive than a lazy as f**k expert.

I'm all for companies who rip workers off being exposed but where is the protection for employers hiring a lazy merkin?

Why does a business need protection from itself? No merkin forces them to hire any particular merkin, they do their due diligence, and make a decision. It doesn't take that long to check references etc, if a resume is full of shit, you'll soon find out if you make the effort.

No I didn't, there's a power imbalance there and it's well in favor of the employer. If an employee is taking the piss, you f**k them off, what have you lost? A shit employee.

It's a pain in the arse 'cause you gotta go an employ some other merkin, but no one's losing any sleep over it.

On the other hand if an employer is ripping off an employee, they are losing their income.

Sure, and if they don't get another job straight away, they can always sleep in the car.

Seriously dude, what we are talking about here for the most part is low skilled low paid jobs, these people aren't just walking into a better job most the time. Sure if you have in demand skills it's not hard, but usually those kinds of workers aren't getting ripped off because it's much harder to replace skilled workers.

It really isn't that big a deal. If a merkin's useless or taking the piss and you don't pick it up, that's a failure of management. On a big project, it's just a bigger failure of management. And a trainee that wants to work will soon be more productive than a lazy as f**k expert.

Why does a business need protection from itself? No merkin forces them to hire any particular merkin, they do their due diligence, and make a decision. It doesn't take that long to check references etc, if a resume is full of shit, you'll soon find out if you make the effort.

I'm all for protecting the worker. They deserve to be paid properly. It's sad companies would do this. I also reckons it's extremely rare. Unless it's an ABC story.

I also think many small businesses COULD go under from 1 or 2 lazy workers who take the piss. Is that OK? Their fault for hiring them you suggest? Bit of a peanut call if ask me.
We need something in place to protect small businesses from lazy workers.

Bandwagon

I also think many small businesses COULD go under from 1 or 2 lazy workers who take the piss. Is that OK? Their fault for hiring them you suggest? Bit of a peanut call if ask me.
We need something in place to protect small businesses from lazy workers.

Employment law for small business is a lot more business friendly, and flexible. But to address the bold, if you're running a small business, it is all on you mate. Peanut call my arse. You choose who you hire, you monitor their performance, you choose to f**k them off if they aren't up to the job, or to give them a raise if they're worth it.

Who the f**k else makes these decisions? Who the f**k else is responsible if not the business owner?

For sure sometimes you get it wrong, and you have to cop it on the chin, you learn, you move on. No big deal.

Employment law for small business is a lot more business friendly, and flexible. But to address the bold, if you're running a small business, it is all on you mate. Peanut call my arse. You choose who you hire, you monitor their performance, you choose to f**k them off if they aren't up to the job, or to give them a raise if they're worth it.

Who the f**k else makes these decisions? Who the f**k else is responsible if not the business owner?

For sure sometimes you get it wrong, and you have to cop it on the chin, you learn, you move on. No big deal.

You sound a lot like this guy

images (8).jpeg

You sack their sorry arses, it's not that f**king hard, sure you have to cross the tees and dot the eyes, and merkins complain about that shit, but it really isn't all that onerous.
I agree. I've seen plenty of examples where people could easily be punted, but managers and organisations are spineless and don't take action. It isn't hard.

Bandwagon

It is different in every industry. On job sites it is heaps easy to bludge and not get noticed.

I don't think anyone's gonna argue it doesn't happen, or that merkins won't take the piss, but if merkins are able to do it at will then that's poor management, which to be fair is pretty rife, particularly in larger companies where there's layers of management whose jobs appear to be justifying the existence of their job first and foremost.

It still all comes back to management. That's the job.

King-Gutho94

Australian dollar to the US Dollar has dropped from 0.69/0.70 to 0.61 in 3 months.

Thats a really big drop considering.

We have basically lost 10 whole cents to there dollar.

We have to go back to March 2020 when the lockdown's started for our dollar to the US to be this low

JokerEel

I don't think anyone's gonna argue it doesn't happen, or that merkins won't take the piss, but if merkins are able to do it at will then that's poor management, which to be fair is pretty rife, particularly in larger companies where there's layers of management whose jobs appear to be justifying the existence of their job first and foremost.

It still all comes back to management. That's the job.

Bloody hell do you work at my company?

You just explained exactly what happens there and they are a big big company...

You can turn up and do sweet f**k all and no one gives a shit as long as you tick a few corporate boxes..