Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

bazza

You need to say china in Trump's voice.

On EVs I am still wondering why the hydrogen cars never "took off"
from what I know of the technology hydrogen is the least dense element so needs more room for the same energy
Also would need more infrastructure to re-fuel hydrogen as not everyone has a hydrogen fuel cell at home like most people have electric power points

Also the current main method to produce hydrogen uses lots of greenhouse gases. To make clean hydrogen you need to power an electrolyser with renewable electricity. There don't seem to be many of those around currently

See 7 years is good for recouping the costs of the car
I think it's wrong to include a car in the costs. If I choose to buy a Model S Tesla this year instead of a Mercedes, I am still buying transport for my family which is around the same price.

He is also a mechanical engineer, who writes opinion pieces on Climate Change. Has he ever authored peer reviewed papers on the topic ?

What I don't understand with people like Tom Harris is that if he possesses data driven facts that can flip science on it's head, then why not purse it by collating his rigorous research ? Write a scientific paper. Submit it to a reputable journal. Have it peer reviewed to the top science guys. After it is published others will engage and also test the robustness (is that a word) of the claims. If his data is repeatable, then science will have no choice to accept and he gets nobel prize.

I say this because I personally know an aussie who is very much like Mr Harris. Lovely man. Unlike ^^ Harris he is a tad more quailified. He is trying to get his stuff published, but so far has not been successful in getting his methodologies survive robust scrutiny. Good on him however, he is dedicated and not taking money from vested interests and does not disrespect his scientist peers.

Mate you bring up a great point.

I don't know. I know a family who have an EV and roof top solar and now don't buy petrol, have a gas bill and hardly tap into the grid for power.

He says that the outlay is repaid in 7 years. He reckons the infrastructure to his house in recouped in the increase in value to the home anyway.

His claim is also that the EVs have less maintenance costs that ICE cars.
Do you have an EV?

If he steps down I bet he does not end up living in Ukraine.
Considering that there is a list of about 1,000 people who have fallen off buildings, been stabbed by umbrellas with poison tips, died in plane crashes etc who have dared cross Putin, you reckon it's safe there ?

I know the narrative is "he's stolen all that money, he will live in the south of france", but in the fair dinkum department, do you reckon he is safe living in Kiev ?

Considering that there is a list of about 1,000 people who have fallen off buildings, been stabbed by umbrellas with poison tips, died in plane crashes etc who have dared cross Putin, you reckon it's safe there ?

I know the narrative is "he's stolen all that money, he will live in the south of france", but in the fair dinkum department, do you reckon he is safe living in Kiev ?
He has more to fear from his own people than Putin. They will turn on him. Him stepping down is the ‘honourable’ thing to do seeing that he actually thought a mouse would be able to f**k an elephant.

Ah OK. I should have known I was wasting my time.

He has a strong approval rating in his own country. He is well respected across europe and the world.

Do you have an EV?
No, I don't see the point in buying into rapidly advancing technology. As soon as you buy a 2025 car you are getting late 2023 tech that has been tooled for mass production and shipped down under. You're turning the key on redundant technology.

I will buy one when the tech plateaus, has fast charging and long range.

No, I don't see the point in buying into rapidly advancing technology. As soon as you buy a 2025 car you are getting late 2023 tech that has been tooled for mass production and shipped down under. You're turning the key on redundant technology.

I will buy one when the tech plateaus, has fast charging and long range.
You virtue signalling f**kwit.

f**kING TYPICAL.

@Gronk now it’s also time to move out of the tough streets of the eastern suburbs, swap the almond Latte for international roast and see how the real battlers live around the areas you constantly defend and try and educate us about.

You are a f**king joke and are in no position to comment on f**king anything west of Anzac Parade.

You dribbler!!

You virtue signalling f**kwit.

f**kING TYPICAL.
@Gronk now it’s also time to move out of the tough streets of the eastern suburbs, swap the almond Latte for international roast and see how the real battlers live around the areas you constantly defend and try and educate us about.

You are a f**king joke and are in no position to comment on f**king anything west of Anzac Parade.

You dribbler!!
Well aren't you an angry ant. Being very judgy from the Shire.

You now cannot comment on anything north of Kingsway.