Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

When all you have is Sky News nut jobs who support your view, mate you are struggling.
Typical. When someone has a different view we are either stupid or just nuts. They make valid points you entitled virtual signalling Softcock. Would you like to send our kids to war and support those poor Ukrainians? You can still stay at home and eat your daily smashed avo.

Joshuatheeel

Trump is being consistent to what the MAJORITY, remember that word the MAJORITY of the voters in the US wanted wanted.

That's incorrect, Trump did not get majority support. The majority voted against him.

He got 49.8% of the vote (Harris 48.3%).

"Trump failed to secure a majority of the popular vote, at 49.7 percent, unlike George W. Bush in 2004 (50.3 percent), Barack Obama in 2008 and 2012 (52.9 percent and 51 percent) and Joe Biden in 2020 (51.3 percent)"

His victory is one of smallest since Nixon won. Not a landslide.

That's incorrect, Trump did not get majority support. The majority voted against him.

He got 49.8% of the vote (Harris 48.3%).

"Trump failed to secure a majority of the popular vote, at 49.7 percent, unlike George W. Bush in 2004 (50.3 percent), Barack Obama in 2008 and 2012 (52.9 percent and 51 percent) and Joe Biden in 2020 (51.3 percent)"

His victory is one of smallest since Nixon won. Not a landslide.
Do another search, this time try and filter out the fake sites. I’ll even let you use CNN. He won the popular vote. And his victory was even greater than against Hillary in the electoral college where in 2016 he did not win the popular vote. Are you confused or am I with the point you are trying to make?

I just did an edit on this post because I know you are not stupid.

For the first time in 20 years, a Democratic presidential candidate lost the popular vote. This was a historic swing. Not that the popular vote actually matters on its own just like our preferential system here. But when you combine the electoral college result with the popular vote, it was a landslide.

Joshuatheeel

Do another search, this time try and filter out the fake sites. I’ll even let you use CNN. He won the popular vote. And his victory was even greater than against Hillary in the electoral college where in 2016 he did not win the popular vote. Are you confused or am I with the point you are trying to make?

I just did an edit on this post because I know you are not stupid.

you said majority....there is a difference between majority and popular vote...

He did not win the majority of the vote but he did win the popular vote (by one of the smallest amounts ever)

you said majority....there is a difference between majority and popular vote...

He did not win the majority of the vote but he did win the popular vote (by one of the smallest amounts ever)
Come on mate, I realise we are from the opposite sides of the political spectrum but I think you may be clutching at straws. Read my post after that one.

Joshuatheeel

Come on mate, I realise we are from the opposite sides of the political spectrum but I think you may be clutching at straws. Read my post after that one.
How? It just shows, how divided the US is, and refutes the claim Trump's victory was a landslide with the majority not supporting him. Pretty much as many that support him, don't support him...

But in saying that, he won fair and square and has the right to do what ever he wants (within the law).

How? It just shows, how divided the US is, and refutes the claim Trump's victory was a landslide with the majority not supporting him. Pretty much as many that support him, don't support him...

But in saying that, he won fair and square and has the right to do what ever he wants (within the law).
But it’s nearly always been like that. The Republicans hardly ever win the popular vote. Don’t blame Trump for the divide they have always been divided.

lucablight

Trump is being consistent to what the MAJORITY, remember that word the MAJORITY of the voters in the US wanted wanted. That is to stop the proxy war and money being handed to Zelensky. Instead Zelensky tries to argue his case in front of the cameras which appears ungrateful. Those discussions should be done behind closed doors.

He is a moron.

Trump didn’t get a majority of the votes. He got a plurality.

lucablight

Was the electoral college victory a landslide or not?
Yes. I just wanted to push back against the claim that it’s what the majority of voters wanted. That’s not really the case because that would require having more than 50% of the voters vote for him (he didn’t get that). In terms of electoral college voting he crushed Kamala but that means he won more of the states that mattered.

84 Baby

Trump is being consistent to what the MAJORITY, remember that word the MAJORITY of the voters in the US wanted wanted. That is to stop the proxy war and money being handed to Zelensky. Instead Zelensky tries to argue his case in front of the cameras which appears ungrateful. Those discussions should be done behind closed doors.

He is a moron.

My point was you seem to have no issue with Trump using his presidency to become wealthier

bazza

Good point made at the end. All these weak presidents tweeting their “support” for Ukrain, what does that achieve? The only real way to defeat Russia (assuming nukes aren’t used) is for foreign ground troops to step in and fight alongside the Ukrainians.
The Afghans defeated the Russians without any foreign help

Are they willing to do that? Is Albo going to send Australian troops? Would the lefty keyboard warriors here be happy to see their own kids forced into war? Or do they prefer to play tough on a footy forum, spewing nonsense while avoiding reality?

Seriously, let’s cut the crap.
would righty keyboard warriors be happy to see their kids sent over to simp for Putin?

Is he doing it in a corrupt manner?
Technically yes.

He corruptly breached election financing laws to pay hush money to women he slept with out of Wedlock.

He was found guilty on all 32 counts by a Jury.

As such every dollar he makes from the presidency is corrupt.

He has already golfed more days at Mar-a-largo then spent in the oval office. Charging the American taxpayers to put up all his staff and hangers on at a club/ hotel he owns.

But hey at least he isn't supposedly selling weapons