Agreed, amongst other things.Pretty sure Phil would’ve been more fun to have a beer with
Tommy is to Rock n roll what Pat Callinan is to 4wdAgreed, amongst other things.
I used to go see him @ The Cambridge many years ago.
UJ left us all too early unfortunately. Funny bastard that he was.What about UJ Neil & The Funbusters?
UJ left us all too early unfortunately. Funny bastard that he was.
I found this on YouTube:
I did a handful of shows with him back in about 2010. We were doing a Woodstock show and he was the main drawcard. Without doubt the best guitarist I've had the good fortune to share the stage with. He was also a *very* loud player. His open back amp was up on my riser at most of the gigs and eventually I had to have a baffle put there so I wouldn't go deaf.
Amazing player and great guy.
RIP
Thanks mate. I still have that kit, but don't use it at the moment. I got something lighter and smaller. This is my current gig rig...Sweet kit Feej. Love the 8” & 10” toms.
It was basically a gig about the gig. Most of the big acts. Loved playing the Cocker stuff! Phil was there mostly for the Santana bit of the show. He used to do the second half of the show after interval and would always go missing when we were on stage doing the first set. We had one stagehand who's main job during the gig was to go out and find Phil during interval and bring him back to the auditorium. He was usually found at the pokies.What was the Woodstock show?
A gig about the gig
Or
A a gig sponsored by the drink
Phil was a huge Shadows fan. Did a few shows back in the 90s featuring their music but didn't gain the interest it deserved. Last time I saw him was a few months ago in Coolum at a charity gig for my mate who was struck down with the big C, he's fine now.
My step bro played heaps of gigs with them over the years, i used to tag along back in the 80s as a roadie.