Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Olympic-proportion apology

Shark

Very silly Shark got home just now and realised how dopey he was this morning.

Millers and myself ended up in a pretty dumb slanging match today, which I took way too far.

He was just fishing. And he gave me plenty of line. And plenty of bait.

And I swam past the bait while I was in the wrong frame of mind.

I had plenty of chances to spit the rather unpleasant bait out, but for some unknown reason I hooked on real good and wouldn't let go.

And then I typed an entry that was inexcusable, and for this I owe Millers an unreserved apology. Which I hope he accepts.

Yes he wound me up before I lost my head. And yes he has been giving it to me all day since, it would appear. And some others have joined in too, which in a public domain is their right. That's all OK by me, I deserve it, but I hope this apology brings a swift end to that.

I'm a pretty easygoing bloke, and plenty of regular posters in here know that. Usually a pretty straight-up and clear thinking kind of bloke too.

But some things upset me. Stuff like jokes or throwaway lines about people killing themselves. Millers hit some of those buttons today. He didn't mean to, at first. And as I said before, he didn't miss later on!

So since lunchtime, I've been labelled as everything from a priest to a kiddie fiddler, and plenty in between. Well, like I said, a bit of a caning from a couple of you is probably deserved, but let's not turn one series of blow-ups about self harm into an even more dangerous area, hey folks?

You're one of the few regular guys from the forum that I haven't met yet, Millers. But I hope you accept this very genuine apology and let me buy you a beer or two sometime soon. Might even buy Reefy one too, if he's keen.

Best regards guys,

Matt.

pogo

geez shock horror an instant appearance from shire nark.....marginally behind backflip....

dont put on the brakes backflip it could get ugly.

i reckon forget it shark and move on.

believe it or not they all support cronulla!!!!

SirShire

Settle lads. After watching the flogging and reading all the depressing shite posted on this forum in the last 48 hrs, the last thing everyone wants to read is another shit fight.

pogo

come on nark encourage some harmony here mate.....your good at that ..

get a bit of camaraderie going.......shark feels bad.....he wants a happy forum......

help him out...for christs sake its the olympics give him an OLIVE BRANCH!!!

Keep ignoring me then boy wonder. Reefy told you to, so you must obey.

Shark, nice touch mate!

PJ

the last thing everyone wants to read is another sh*t fight.

Unfortunately that's about all you get on the forum now, and personally it's a pain in the arse.

At least last year we could argue about the footy and the coach, now it's just all personal bullsh!t with factions left right and centre.

Nice touch Shark, when you meet Millers you'll like him, he just loves a good stir.

SirShire

PJ said:
the last thing everyone wants to read is another sh*t fight.

Unfortunately that's about all you get on the forum now, and personally it's a pain in the arse.

At least last year we could argue about the footy and the coach, now it's just all personal bullsh!t with factions left right and centre.

Yeah, shame everyone cant just get over all their issues and get on with the footy.

PJ

I think he's banging a tambourine and looking for a Malvern Star with his daughter

millersnose

ok

i am willing to read this - the title is about right

Shark said:
Very silly Shark got home just now and realised how dopey he was this morning.

Millers and myself ended up in a pretty dumb slanging match today, which I took way too far.

He was just fishing. And he gave me plenty of line. And plenty of bait.

And I swam past the bait while I was in the wrong frame of mind.

actually shark you started it but lets read on

I had plenty of chances to spit the rather unpleasant bait out, but for some unknown reason I hooked on real good and wouldn't let go.

as you started it and picked the original fight its a little disengenious to suggest i was baiting you but hey...if you want to save a little face thats ok with me

And then I typed an entry that was inexcusable, and for this I owe Millers an unreserved apology. Which I hope he accepts.

actually you posted 2 posts refering to my children and your sorow for them as i was an unfit parent..not one

Yes he wound me up before I lost my head. And yes he has been giving it to me all day since, it would appear. And some others have joined in too, which in a public domain is their right. That's all OK by me, I deserve it, but I hope this apology brings a swift end to that.

i have fought long and hard with just about everyone on these forums at one time or another and even the most bitter fights did not include attacks on family members

that was pretty much the worst i have ever seen

I'm a pretty easygoing bloke, and plenty of regular posters in here know that. Usually a pretty straight-up and clear thinking kind of bloke too.

But some things upset me. Stuff like jokes or throwaway lines about people killing themselves. Millers hit some of those buttons today. He didn't mean to, at first. And as I said before, he didn't miss later on!

well guess what society is what it is - i am not responsible

humorous references to suicide are rife - in music - on tv - even football commentary

So since lunchtime, I've been labelled as everything from a priest to a kiddie fiddler, and plenty in between. Well, like I said, a bit of a caning from a couple of you is probably deserved, but let's not turn one series of blow-ups about self harm into an even more dangerous area, hey folks?

dont ever mention my family again

You're one of the few regular guys from the forum that I haven't met yet, Millers. But I hope you accept this very genuine apology and let me buy you a beer or two sometime soon. Might even buy Reefy one too, if he's keen.

Best regards guys,

Matt.

apology accepted

millersnose

What's_in_a_Name said:
geez, tough school this forum.

<<shocked>> dunno how to do the little men

they are on the left of the screen Wain in replies

put your cursor in the box and clickon the little yellow fellers

and dont worry

i live by the sword on these forums and enjoy a good tussle

there are several here who do the same and it gets ugly sometimes

there are some lines you shouldnt cross though...

millersnose

Captain Dread said:
I didn't like millers when I met him. He kept making fun of me. :(

i just say to your face what everyone says behind your back

what do you expect with that haircut?