Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Onya Brian

Schiltzenberger

I hate the Roosters, I hate St.George, I don't really hate the Tigers but I'd hate to to see Sheens win again after only making the finals for the 2nd time in a million years. We'd have to put up with all the 'Sheens is a genius' type crap again.

So yeah, in the end I'll be hoping Smith can win it, the guy has copped so much crap from fans over the years when it's obvious he is a good coach.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think this could be the best halves combo that he's ever coached. As we know well and the old saying goes 'you need good halves to win a comp'.

He had JT in 2001, but his defense was always pathetic and was hidden away for most of the season because we tore the comp a new one. The Knights targeted him early on in the GF, scored a couple and got on a roll.

If you remember that season, getting on a roll was a massive trend and it was harder to stop than it is these days. We had those turnarounds where team A beat team B by 50, then team B beat team C by 50, then team C beat team A by 50, all in the space of a few weeks.
Even most of the close games had one team scoring all their points, then the other team would score all of theirs. The GF summed up that season perfectly.

Anyway I digress, go Smithy.

IFR33K

I have always had the theory that if BS could win his first premership, and get the monkey off his back, then he could win a few more at regular intervals and potentionally be one of the great modern day coaches.

IMO he is the best coach for rebuilding a club, blooding rookies and during the regular season. He always seems to stumble in september though. Hopefully that won't be the case, as he did turn our club around despite all the critisism he faced from fans and jurnos.

BTW has there ever been a coach to lose 4 GF's without winning 1?????? Also how would the knights fans be feeling right now????????

yep never thought id say this but i hope roosters win the comp! just for brian!

Plus one. I hate the roosters but want them to win for Smith, he deserves one.

And I hate the two teams playing tonight so cheering for the Chooks is a better option.

Joshuatheeel

2001 was not a choke, the Knights had a very good side lead by the best player ever.

I call 1998 and 2005 as the choke years. We should have never lost those pre finals, with 2005 being the major dissapoinment. At least 1998 we lead for most of the game, in 2005 the side just didn't show up.

But I must admit the first and only time I met Smith he has a true champion, it was after a game and he was more then willing to hang around and talk to the fans, on that occasion 1-2 of the fans questioned his team selection and he was only to willing to give his reasons for selecting the players he did, not something he needed to do. Very approachable and nice bloke.

He got us from doghouse to as least be premiership contenders most years

dazeely

Smithy was easily the best thing that could have happened to our club. I wish him luck. Great coach.

Go the drags tonight v

butch82

I actually can't believe you guys are happy to see him possibly win a premiership with the Roosters. It will be one of the most frustrating things. 2 of the teams I hate the most may win the premiership.

fully agree..also i cant talk about 2001 without wanting to punch a hole in the wall.still gives me the sh*ts..

Happy that BS & the Roosters are in the GF. Not only am I a local, but it feels this year that they earned their place through had work rather than the mighty cheque book warehousing the best talent.

Last nights game was an example in low mistake grinding footy led by two good halves.

I think the Dragons vs Roosters would be a good match up and thereafter I'm happy for either to win.

Soft spot for BS however.

Utey

Got a soft spot for Uncle B. What he did for this club was and will be unrivaled. Good luck to him, he deserves a win.

zuke

Brian used to play halfback for the rabbitohs and dragons. Maybe he could solve our halfback problem for 2011. Good luck in the GF Smithy. Have to agree. Really nice guy and was always up for a chat with Parra supporters back in the day.

zuke

You should definitely wear your Parra jersey. I'm going and I'll be wearing it with pride. At last year's GF there were heaps of supporters wearing their club jerseys. Be proud.

Maroubra Eel

I really can't see myself going for any of the remaining 3.

I sort of think it would be good to see a Dragons choke again. Also a Brian Smith bridesmaid would be sort of funny, although I would feel a bit for him. But u just couldn't bring myself to cheer for Easts.
I don't think the tigers can do it, don't like them anyway.

parra pete

I really can't see myself going for any of the remaining 3.

I sort of think it would be good to see a Dragons choke again. Also a Brian Smith bridesmaid would be sort of funny, although I would feel a bit for him. But u just couldn't bring myself to cheer for Easts.
I don't think the tigers can do it, don't like them anyway.

Bridesmaid Brian V Bridesmaid St George?
Could be a long wedding night........

Haynzy

Is that like the dude that runs the pig races at the royal show..... Ruuuuuun piggy piggy piggy piggy piggy piggy piggy piggy ruuuuun!

Kornstar

1998, 1999, 2001, 2005.....all chokes.....I just will very much question from now on (if the Roosters win) if Brian was ever a choker as opposed to a poor man who just happened to be in charge of clubs whose players had too much pressure on them due to their earlier success many moons ago......

2009 was also a massive choke imo and Brian wasn't there, the Dragons also have choked plenty since he left!

I am actually not that big of a fan of his but I wish him well. If he is playing the Dragons I hope he smashes them otherwise I want the Tigers to win!

parra pete

Smithy OVER ACHIEVES with his teams, rather than CHOKES...His time will come, and I hope it is this year...

spiderdan

kudos brian smith. hope he gets his maiden title.

also good to see him dispell one of the parrotted cliches that people hear in the media and think is gospel (it takes 18 months to turn a club around/change its culture - whatever).

hopefuly at the start of pre-season da can use the roosters' season to motivate our players and get them on the right frame of mind (plus other changes) for 2011.