Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT - Oztag Rules

Oztag players on here (newman, carch perhaps)

i have a question. can you steal the ball from your opponant ala 1 on 1 strip?

also..when they say the ball cant be kicked above the shoulders, dows that apply if the ball bounces over the shoulders or is it just the initial kick?

cheers

I doubt you can steal the ball ...I haven't seen it happen.
In fact I highly doubt you can

The kick is over the shoulder off the boot.
So yes the ball can bounce off the ground above shoulder height.

newman

Carchs dead right. You definitely cant 'steal' the ball.

Even if you 'accidently' knock the ball out of the guys hands (loose carry) whilst reaching for a tag, they will give the ball back to the attacker.

Kick offs and drop outs can go as high as you like too. But kicks in play must go below shoulder height off the boot as Carch said. The refs use discretion with the shoulder height thing too. Ive seen kicks at waist height get penalised, a grubber is really your only option.

hmmm

so you cant run up and rip it out? (i suppose that would be contact).

oh i have another one. my passing is pretty good (in my own mind) right to left, but very suspect left to right (sounds like a certain halfback we have). can you throw it over arm ala nfl but backward or flat?

Ausguy

its a $hit of a game if your new to it...... and if your playing mixed u WILL have some girls make u look like a complete amatuer. You will prbably say nah im good ive played touch for years etc etc.... oz tag is completely different.... you can be twice as fast as someone but if u miss that tag the one chance u get then they score.... oh and if its a girl it counts for 2 tries.... we plaed a game and scored 5 tries to the other teams 3 but they had 3 girls score.... eg we lost 6-5.

best tip i can give u - go for the top of the tag where it attaches to the shorts, its the only part that doesnt move!!!! oh and good luck.

I got sent off playing mixed touch once.

A young space cadet on the other side was yelling and screaming and hysterically waving his arms every time he came in to make a 'touch"

My patience wore thin - and I bounced the pointy bit of the ball off the tip of his nose followed up by a short sharp right cross. He went down for the count - the refs arm went up - shiellahs were screaming and I got marched.

f**king idiot referee, I should of got the penalty for bringing sanity back into the stupid game.

But such is life.

Declared Idiot #88

Pie Floater

So what should happen if you make a break, you're screaming towards the try line, when the opposition winger catches up with you, tackles you to the ground, you get up and both tags are still on?

The ref laughed and said to me "we'll call that a tag".

It was pretty funny at the time, but could have been a try.

Snoop Shark

Pie Floater said:
So what should happen if you make a break, you're screaming towards the try line, when the opposition winger catches up with you, tackles you to the ground, you get up and both tags are still on?

The ref laughed and said to me "we'll call that a tag".

It was pretty funny at the time, but could have been a try.

Yeah i hate the "knee rule"

jc155776

always wanted to give Oz tag a go.

Played touch and normal footy but never gave it a thought really but i hear about it all the time.

Sounds much better than touch with the bullsh*t air calls.

it is unreal.

I have played since it's inception.

sadly though I am getting injured a lot lately.
I may be watching from now on ....or worse..ref.

carcharias said:
I may be watching from now on ....or worse..ref.

Call yourself a Ref - you farkin' wanker ... get a guide dog .

(sorry carch - just getting in some practice)

Declared Idiot #88

Pie Floater

OzTag is huge in the shire, but in my travels, it seems not as big outside the shire. I like touch footy for the pace of the game, but it's bloody frustrating sometimes. I play in a comp that my rugby team runs in the off season, so there's plenty of laughs.

I was in Melbourne last year, on the tram to the place melbournians call a beach, and as we went past a uni, I thought I saw an Oztag comp in progress. Looked a bit closer, and saw that they were playing ultimate frisbee.

Snoop Shark

Pie Floater said:
OzTag is huge in the shire, but in my travels, it seems not as big outside the shire. I like touch footy for the pace of the game, but it's bloody frustrating sometimes. I play in a comp that my rugby team runs in the off season, so there's plenty of laughs.

I was in Melbourne last year, on the tram to the place melbournians call a beach, and as we went past a uni, I thought I saw an Oztag comp in progress. Looked a bit closer, and saw that they were playing ultimate frisbee.

Oztag is big out west and also down this part of sydney. Some of the girls that play in the mens comp here in the east deadset carve up.

stevie013

oztag is very fastly growing. the last state cup had a sh*t load of teams, and we have just started an over 30's mixed at state and regoinal cahmpionships, and im sure there will be an aust over 30's mixed side as well.
not sure when over 30's mixed will be implemented into comps played during the week, but im sure it wont be too far away.

warren

Snoop Shark said:
Oztag is big out west and also down this part of sydney. Some of the girls that play in the mens comp here in the east deadset carve up.

yep im in two diff teams here

oztag is heaps of fun, but i still prefer touch. queens park always have a goo comp going.

jc155776

Snoop Shark said:

tries are worth double for them too.

f**ken sexist!!