Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT. Speed camera North bound inside runway tunnel

bubs

DUMBITRI IS (almost) correct. FIRST TIME IN FORUM HISTORY.
All fixed speed cameras require THREE warning signs in advance of the camera itself.
There is no fixed camera in the tunnel.
However, you may have got done by a portable camera hand held or set up on the side of the road. They only require a small blue sign "SPEED CAMERA IN USE"
That is probably what got you.

The Popper

You're right, Bubs. There have been times when police officers have operated cameras inside the northbound tunnel.

you may have got done by a portable camera hand held or set up on the side of the road. They only require a small blue sign "SPEED CAMERA IN USE"

Doubtful, where would cops pull over in that tunnel?

Blacktip you could just be wrong for what, the second time ever?
But I bet you dont mind, looks like youve missed out on a speeding ticket.

Ive been lead to believe that Particular camera gets you boths ways. My source works for the RTA and we had the conversation the other day whilst we passed it.
I will confirm it just for the record . I have a mate who got done there 3 times in one day. He he went back and forward through the tunnel twice so it would make sense I suppose.

Correction:
I just spoke with him & it is south bound only , they have the signs on both sides to trick you into believing it will get you both ways.
However , I was in a taxi out near Parramatta this week and the cabbie pointed out a new camera that was a combo of three different thick white poles with bigger white boxes on top. He reckons that one is a new sort that does get you boths ways.
My RTA source has just started a new government job away from that area and wasn't sure about the new camera's.
So , once you get done twice in one day as I have and then again by the same camera on Henry Lawson drive @ Picnic point a few weeks later , you learn to take notice of those warning signs.

for the record I wrote a letter and got out of 1 of the fines I got in the one day double fining.

I was merely drawing attention to the fact that he has claimed in the past that he's only been wrong once - on the Vagana issue.

Another time though he did suggest that Sullivan should be Sharks halfback instead of Kimmorley, I think that was just a bit of comic relief though, or he'd forgotten to take his pills that day, surely.

Yeah right SS. Just admit it. Since you found out that BTR was as big a Northies bloke as you, you have agreed with everything he says. :lol:

gunnamatta bay

I reckon all traffic lights should have cameras. I walk a lot and often see blatant red lighters. The cameras would pay for themselves in no time and make drivers think. When a crash occurs the cops would have a photo of the culprit.

What I can't agree with is the school zone on Taren Point Rd on the southern side of Captain Cook bridge. The speed limit on the bridge is 90 then decreases to 70 as you approach the lights but during the school zone times it is sudenly 40. I reckon school zones are a great idea but the school in this case is fenced off with a two metre cyclone fence topped with barbed wire. Kids are picked up from the front of the school right round the corner and no kids could possibly be anywhere near the main road.

Look!!!
I think I know what a flash is when I see one! Or , in this case, two!

I've either got a fine coming or some weird ahhss freelance photographer for Nat Geo, has me spotted for the next cover.

Crazed blacktip speeding through cavern!!

Since you found out that BTR was as big a Northies bloke as you, you have agreed with everything he says

Since the man has a less ideologically driven agenda now that Anderson is gone, he's a lot easier to agree with!

That's not the point though. The point is that youre acting like a jilted ex-lover! It doesnt matter what I say now, you have to move on!

:lol: :lol:

cheese

*delusional thoughts about hack players
*flashing lights

it could be time for an MRI, reef. Im worried. xxoo

The point is that youre acting like a jilted ex-lover! It doesnt matter what I say now, you have to move on!

Spike

ShireShark said:
you may have got done by a portable camera hand held or set up on the side of the road. They only require a small blue sign "SPEED CAMERA IN USE"

Doubtful, where would cops pull over in that tunnel?

If they were using a Lidar (portable camera) there is no need to pull the car over. I've used them before. Works the same way as the fixed RTA speed cameras. You'll get a happy-snap in the mail.

ShireShark said:
Since you found out that BTR was as big a Northies bloke as you, you have agreed with everything he says

Since the man has a less ideologically driven agenda now that Anderson is gone, he's a lot easier to agree with!

That's not the point though. The point is that youre acting like a jilted ex-lover! It doesnt matter what I say now, you have to move on!

:lol: :lol:

Jilted ex-lover. Please? You are really taking the bait there SS. What's the matter mate, don't like it when people are laughing at you? I'm over it.