Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT. The Immortals to be named Wednesday.

Quicksilver

There's plenty of time to pick Messenger. He's dead and not getting deader.

But yeah. I think they should pick those two.

Joey and R.T Beetson.

R.T was past it by the 90s in my opinion.

Ok forgot about Artie was thinking Lewis and John’s.

But point being there are names on this list and previous lists that should have been inducted before players like John’s.

I’m mean John’s before Norm Provan is a bloody joke for starters.

I read over on the Facebook thingy that someone posted that Todd Greenburgh is going to be one of the judges.

Well I've been told by a Channel Nein Insider that he (Toddy) is behind a strong concerted push to get his man Nic Naitanui over the line. Apparently Peter Beattie has been doing the phones and is gathering the numbers

bluefox1968

Did you guys see Wayne Bennett's snipe - "If Langer was from NSW, he'd be an immortal..."?

I walked past Alfie at Caloundra a while ago, and said, in a voice loud enough for him to hear it, "ALFIE! G'day mate!" No comment, no look, NUTHIN... Just a scowl...

Okay, guess he's too big to say 'G'day' then...

Or maybe he'd been to the TAB the night before?

I read over on the Facebook thingy that someone posted that Todd Greenburgh is going to be one of the judges.

Well I've been told by a Channel Nein Insider that he (Toddy) is behind a strong concerted push to get his man Nic Naitanui over the line. Apparently Peter Beattie has been doing the phones and is gathering the numbers

Quigs, In all seriousness out of the nominations presented if you were one of the judges who would you pick?

sharkman73

In all seriousness if Dally Messenger and Norm Provan aren’t announced as the next two immortals it’s a joke.

Plenty of time to pick Meninga, Lockyer etc. The problem with society these days is they don’t respect and honour history enough. The game didn’t start in f**king 1990!!!

Yeah agree but I reckon they'll go with Messenger and Finger.

Messenger. Provan. 100%.

But I’ve always thought it was a amateurish and a really bit of a wank idea, trying too hard to outdo other codes by over-restricting past players honoured for their contribution to the game.

Too many significantly worthy players not recognised. Hall of Fame a far, far better concept.

sharkman73

Messenger. Provan. 100%.

But I’ve always thought it was a amateurish and a really bit of a wank idea, trying too hard to outdo other codes by over-restricting past players honoured for their contribution to the game.

Too many significantly worthy players not recognised. Hall of Fame a far, far better concept.

They have both which is ideal imo.

Generalzod

In all seriousness if Dally Messenger and Norm Provan aren’t announced as the next two immortals it’s a joke.

Plenty of time to pick Meninga, Lockyer etc. The problem with society these days is they don’t respect and honour history enough. The game didn’t start in f**king 1990!!!
Exactly then there is no point of having him on the trophy....

Provan was not originally picked.

4 from his era where chosen. He was not considered in the same class of the 60's.

All others came from different eras.

The did not consider Dally M or pre WWII

All others came from different eras.

Langlands played at the end of the original 4 careers 60s/70s

Then Beetson the icon of the 70's, Wally the 80's, Johns the 90's

For mine Dally M is a given, the 80's are under represented reckon Mal will be added. Lockyer next round.

I also think Glenn Lazarus should be added one day, where he was teams won premierships, NSW won and Australian never lost. One under rated mofo, before Mal for me.

Arthur Summons is on the trophy too? Do we piss him of it as he is not considered?

Immortal iconic photo V Game changing players.

Provan was more like Nathan Hindmarsh than Raper or Beetson.

Arthur Summons is on the trophy too? Do we piss him of it as he is not considered?

Immortal iconic photo V Game changing players.

Provan was more like Nathan Hindmarsh than Raper or Beetson.

Provan won 10 Premierships.

Hindmarsh won 0 Premierships.

Yes very similar. Lol.

Oh and Provan over Beetson everyday of the week. Great man Artie but please he was no immortal.