Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: The Olympic thread

newman

One forumer would of been absolutely flabergasted at the sight I saw this Morning.
Beach volley ball at the Olympics and guess what was happening before the match????
Yep cheerleaders!

Ha. Yeah. And I read in the paper thats whatshername was sooking that having the cheerleaders was "degrading" her sport and women. News flash to her: To make those statements, you need something called credibility.Running around in about the hungriest pair of budgie smugglers that youve ever seen showing your arse off to the world does not give you that cred.

Even though I dislike the olympics, im very surprised with how successful we have been. And ive got to admit, I even watched a WHOLE event and was into it. Shock horror. For some reason I sorely wanted the boomers to beat the dream team. Chokers. I must have given em the kiss of death.

Nuffs

liesel jones is without doubt the most ungrateful swimmer i have ever seen swim for australia

"i suppose my best just isn't good enough"
*angry want-to-kill face*
"it wasn't meant to be"
*how dare the other girls swim faster than me face*

if i won a bronze or silver medal at the olympics, i'd be the happiest person on the earth. especially if i knew i gave my best

yes she did great in winning gold, silver and bronze medals and congrats to her. but someone tell her to accept she got beaten by a better swimmer, wear her olympic medal with pride and get over herself

Isurus

I see your point Nuffs - its not a good look, especially on TV.

Surely there is some acceptance that as the World record holder, she has the right to be disappointed? And remember, these interviews happen about two minutes after the race finishes. Are you saying she should lie in the interview and pretend she is happy, even when she is not?

And what about footy players when they lose a GF and they sit around sulking on the field, and in some cases shedding tears. Should they too be the happiest people on earth, because they gave their best but were beaten by a better team.?

Nuffs

it was the things that she said in the interview that got to me. and her evil faces!

it was as if she had expected to win every race and smash the world record. and when she didn't she was disappointed

i'm going to offer her $1000 for her bronze and silver medals. chances of getting them? the way she acted, it would seem she'd want to give them away

Jimbo

Our Jana has made the final of the 400m!! Isn't that wonderful?

What an inspiration!! It's just so special...

I don't want to stir up any more trouble but geez there is some tall poppy syndrome in here still.

Liesel Jones showed her disappointment and she is branded a spoilt brat. She is a world champion and didn't swim her best time, she is allowed to be disappointed. She'll win Gold next time.

Jimbo

McSharkie said:
I don't want to stir up any more trouble but geez there is some tall poppy syndrome in here still.

Liesel Jones showed her disappointment and she is branded a spoilt brat. She is a world champion and didn't swim her best time, she is allowed to be disappointed. She'll win Gold next time.

I agree with that. She said she wasn't good enough to win, which in my book shows realism, not arrogance.

Nuffs

but the manner in which she said it was my big problem

it was a "the world is against me" attitude

I think you misread it Nuffs. She was extremely disappointed with herself. She had very high expectations and didn't meet them. She failed to reach HER goal. I have no problem with her being angry. That's what will make her win next time. That memory. She was honest, and she said it herself, "it happened for a reason".

et

Chantelle Newberry, our diving gold medallist, looks like Danny Nutley's twin. 8)

About Jones, I thought she was OK until I read this: "While Hanson and Jones had been good friends before the Games and kissed and made up at a team reception on Saturday night, Hanson said she still could not understand why Jones had virtually ignored her for five days after the 100m breaststroke final, in which the 26-year-old won silver and Jones the bronze. "
http://www.smh.com.au/olympics/articles/2004/08/22/1093113054975.html

wittyfan

:clap: Jane Saville was heaps gutsy in winning bronze in the 20km walk this afternoon. Especially after the trauma of the disqualification in Sydney.

et said:
Chantelle Newberry, our diving gold medallist, looks like Danny Nutley's twin. 8)

About Jones, I thought she was OK until I read this: "While Hanson and Jones had been good friends before the Games and kissed and made up at a team reception on Saturday night, Hanson said she still could not understand why Jones had virtually ignored her for five days after the 100m breaststroke final, in which the 26-year-old won silver and Jones the bronze. "
http://www.smh.com.au/olympics/articles/2004/08/22/1093113054975.html

She was obviously devastated by losing to her. While they are on the same team in Athens let's not forget that it is an individual race. The girl is only 19, she had the shits, she has moved on now. There are far more mature people on this forum that have ignored me for alot longer than 6 days. Explain that.

Booyah

Do you know much about swimming Booyah

A little. I used to be one of those poor saps that was up at 5 am toiling away in the pool.

To me it looked alot like Thomas and Henry won us that relay.

I don't like Jones, so I'll nit pick her any way I can.

As an aside.. did anyone see images of Liesel's Mum in the crowd when she came second? No wonder the kid acts like that..

I can't stand parents like that.

pogo

what about fanny the greek in the hurdles......

where s dick pound when you need him.......mate if shes not on something other than fetta cheese i will be very surprised.

maybe she got costas and katerinas leftovers!!