Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Top 5 Pubs In Australia.

SirShire

The Attorney said:
I'll weigh into this one

Miami Hotel (miami Gold coast)

What a real beach side pub should bee Reminded me of old northies and served cougar bourbon and coke on tap by the schooner.

Taren point hotel
My "local" and once had the best night club the shire had ever seen

Beach hotel Byron bay

This place has it all. only problem is while i was there i should have been at shark park watching us beat the dragons not just hecking the local stgeorge supporters

the nomanby
Dont know if it was that great a pub or the CSSC guys i was there with made it that way. either way i have good memories of that place

Northies
Both in the old and new versions. if you dont like the metros emos and security just ignore them or heckle them about wearing pink shirts or polos with the collar up.

Plus its only a twenty dollar cab from my place and a bus will drop me to sutho after a gillies pizza.

no better way to spend a sunday night

A fine selection there Jimmy. ANZAC Day at TPH is possibly the greatest pub experience that one could ever ask for. Amazing.

As you can imagine I have had some stunning ANZAC days. Nothing will ever compare with the Rocks. It's the best day of the year.

Herbie

Top 5 Pubs

1.Breakfast Creek Hotel (Brisbane)
2.(The old) Golden Sands Tavern (Nambucca Heads, Mid North Coast NSW)
3.The Caxton (Brisbane)
4.V-Wall Tavern (Nambucca Heads, Mid North Coast NSW)
5.Nudgee Beach Hotel (Banyo, Qld)

Southern Shark

What about just Sydney and decent pubs in good locations. Plenty of good pubs in the suburbs and CBD but all they have to offer as a view is passing traffic and four walls. We really lack coastal or water view hotels. Mick MOYLANS comes to mind but same old story re development.
Como is about the best pub in the shire re views.
Can't think of any in the St George area
Clovelly in the east maybe. Coogee Bay but it's a bit of a dive these days.
North Shore maybe The Steyne or Newport Arms?

Here is a tip for future reference.
Oatley hotel on a Friday night.

It has just been refurbished so that the accom upstairs is now all bar area with lounges and flat screens and balconys.
It is a classic old pub on the outside and all modernised inside.

The outdoor beer garden is still getting finished...but when finished it will be a 3 tier setup .
Catch a train... it is the next stop after Como .

The Attorney

didnt know oatley pub had been done up

The only decent place ive been to in the st george area

I live in Como, not bad having a few beers at the Mo then walking across the bridge.

I love any place thats easy to get home from

The Attorney said:
didnt know oatley pub had been done up

The only decent place ive been to in the st george area

I live in Como, not bad having a few beers at the Mo then walking across the bridge.

I love any place thats easy to get home from
I looked at a block of land where if you looked out the front door ( proposed spot for it) you can see Como pub.

They wanted about 120 grand too much.

Yep Oatley is a nice quiet joint .

Fri bands
sat bands
sun arvo jazz
and trivia and comedians on through the week.

sterling perv on Friday nights.

..and you have to really be naughty to get turfed.

Nothing wrong with Oatley Pub. It's almost shire territory. Definately Shire minded people drink there. I remember seeing a pretty good band there last year . . .

hahaha
they had a framed and signed dragons jumper on the wall.
Somebody broke in and pinched it but left the frame.
So they just left a framed red background ther for about 2 years.
I stuck a sharks jersey car deodoriser in its place and it stayed for months.

Danger

I haven't been there since it was done up, ive been to the comedy nights a few times there and everytime ive been, ive had a good night, ill have to go check it out.

Frenzy. said:
What's the name of the pub in Brisbane where you used to get beer "off the wood"? I think that was the term.

How nice is that drop??? :O :O

Best beer in Qld.

5. Scarborough Hotel (in the 80's)
4.The Wharf Tavern Mooloolaba
3.Beachy At Byron
2.Breaky Creek Hotel Brisvegas
1.Star hotel Macksville... It's where I cut my teeth....:)

coolumsharkie said:
How nice is that drop??? :eek: :eek:

Best beer in Qld.

3.Beachy At Byron

we use to have a billet thing with Macksville high school back in the 80's.

Mooloolabah ??? Is that "Fridays"?

Fridays?

Yeah mate... they changed the name for obvious reasons after someone got stabbed to death out in the car park ... but it's still the best spot in the world for the furry magnet.

coolumsharkie said:
Fridays?

Yeah mate... they changed the name for obvious reasons after someone got stabbed to death out in the car park ... but it's still the best spot in the world for the furry magnet.

oh dear ..stabbed hey.
I didn't hear about it.

I use to go to the old Mooloolabah that is now an Irish pub ...then Fridays came along.

I can say that one of the hottest bar maids I ve ever seen worked there...I will check for a pic.

Herbie

carcharias said:
we use to have a billet thing with Macksville high school back in the 80's.

Hey Carcharias,

Star Hotel @ Macksville..............on the river, can get a bit rough at times.

I went to Macksville High School between 89-92.

Did you go to Peakhurst High or Richmond High???????

peakhurst
I left in 86

I billeted some good looking dude ..his last name was peterson or peterkin .

The chicks were all over him.

Herbie

coolumsharkie said:
How nice is that drop??? :eek: :eek:

Best beer in Qld.

3.Beachy At Byron

Hey Coolumsharkie,

Teeth????????? Story behind that one??????????