Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ot: Townsville.

Danger

So I'm going up for the game this weekend. Never been there before.
Does anyone have have any suggestions for other things to do there? Any good pubs that I should hit up?

Thanks.

Vin Fizz

Go over to Maggie (Magnetic Isl). Hop on a jet ski tour. They'l take you 10ks off the isl shore which is about 30 ks off the Townsville shore. They'l then tell you not to worry about the sharks, whales, sting rays etc. Youll shit but great fun.

So I'm going up for the game this weekend. Never been there before.
Does anyone have have any suggestions for other things to do there? Any good pubs that I should hit up?

Thanks.

Casino, titty bars, plenty of nightclubs all in and around the CBD. I love the Townsville trip. Dairy Farmers is a pain as it's no where near the center of town. So you got to line up and do the bus thing. Painful.

Great ground though, and good crowds.

Danger

Thanks guys.

Yeah Vin, doing the magnetic island trip on Sunday, heard its a nice part of the world.

Yeah Aus, keen as, never been to an interstate game.

Beave, my mate organised all that, I think we are staying at the holiday inn.

And cools, titty bars eh... Any good ones you know of in particular?

beave

My advice to get to the game is to get cowboys leagues club membership and get the courtesy bus in for about $5ish. Though if there's a few of you a cab bill wont be so bad. Across the road from the holiday in is the leagues club which is not too bad foodwise but the the best place for food is Palmer st, if you have an iphone it is easy to find. There is an amazing indian joint there called 'Masalas' give that a try if you are into indian (jc will probably back me up with that). You arent far from the night club precinct on flinders st but my word of advice is if you go out after the game, regardless of the result, go back to your room and change out of your sharks gear. A lot of the places won't let you in if you are wearing sports logo attire (even cowboys stuff)

If you get here friday, the watermark on the strand has 2 for 1 drinks from 5-7 so that could be an option for you boys.

If you boys are keen for some trekking up castle hills tracks on saturday morning to get the heart pumping give me a pm as I will be doing it and can meet u there and show you the way up.

Danger

Thanks Beave... Yep, we fly in Friday morning so the watermark could be an option.

We were planning on getting a cab back after the game.

One of the guys suggested hiring a car and driving to mission beach. Do you think that would be worth doing?

shaggs

I'm heading up on Friday. Prob go to magnetic island on Saturday.

Second away game for the year. No home attendance yet.

Thanks guys.

Yeah Vin, doing the magnetic island trip on Sunday, heard its a nice part of the world.

Yeah Aus, keen as, never been to an interstate game.

Beave, my mate organised all that, I think we are staying at the holiday inn.

And cools, titty bars eh... Any good ones you know of in particular?

It may have changed around a bit, been a few years but just ask the local lads, they will point you in the right direction.

bubs

Cowboys Lagues in the middle of town opposite Holiday Inn has courtesy buses to and from the ground. But there are huge queues to get back after the game so be prepared.
The ground is out in the sticks so the bus is really the best option.

Nightclubs abound in Townsville. They all suck.

webShark

Thanks Beave... Yep, we fly in Friday morning so the watermark could be an option.

We were planning on getting a cab back after the game.

One of the guys suggested hiring a car and driving to mission beach. Do you think that would be worth doing?
Cab would be costly as its about 40 mins. We paid $10 each return on the bus from the leagues club. Joining there Leagues club might be the go.its cheaper or even free on the bus. We stayed on Magnetic Island which is nice but quiet. Townsville shuts on Saturday afternoons (ie shops etc) . Aquarium is good if you like that kind of thing.
I would go to Magnetic and do the jet ski stuff (probably at Horseshoe Bay)

beave

Titty bars- the great northern hotel does boobs and raffles from about 2pm-5pm on Fridat arvos. I won a $40 seafood voucher last friday arvo........

Mission beach is nice but be wary Danger that the roads are f**ked at the moment and if they aren't cut, it won't take much rain to close them. You don't want to go up there saturday and then we get a shitload of rain and you cant get back for them game.........

My advice, bung one on Friday arvo at the great northern for boobs, then at 5 get a cab to the watermark for 2-1 drinks, if you start early you will be in bed at a decent time so you don't f**k your saturday up. Head over to maggie for the day and head back after lunch on the ferry.

jc155776

Get to watermark at 4:45 to score a spot. f**k that place is dangerous and has lead me to some messy messy nights. From 7-9 monsoons on flinders does 2 for 1 as well and consortium use to do $2 basics from 9-11. But it's been more than 12 months since I left so might have changed. Cab from city to the ground would be about 35 bucks. Get a bus there. Bus back is a merkin though.

Punkess

Watermark is nice, or try the Av Tav for bars.

Things to do - go to the top of Castle Hill and visit the look-out.

Not much else to do in Townsville besides that but stay in the air con.

You could go to the Casino if you get really bored.

Oh yeah, go on a snorkelling tour of the reef if you've never done it before. I went from Cairns but it was amazing. Pretty sure they do some out of Townsville too, but don't know much about it. Just watch out for the stingers - you'll need to wear a stinger suit this time of year.