Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Watching NRL O/S

DJDL

I know there’s a few posters here who live o/s. I moved to Thailand late last year and I’m looking for a way to watch the NRL.

I’m happy to pay, but not the $40 a month watch nrl are asking. I was going to go Kayo but it seems their VPN-blocking is pretty tight.

Any suggestions?

bluefox68

Wish I could help…

I lived in Vanuatu for 3 years, and we just went to the local (sometimes) and watched it on their Foxtel / Sky…

I know there’s a few posters here who live o/s. I moved to Thailand late last year and I’m looking for a way to watch the NRL.

I’m happy to pay, but not the $40 a month watch nrl are asking. I was going to go Kayo but it seems their VPN-blocking is pretty tight.

Any suggestions?
I believe on the NRL website there is a link for people overseas how to watch online

Special K

Aussie bar ;). Whats thailand like atm? From memory they used to show it on one of the channels over in asia but I can't remember.

When I was in europe/US I just had to cop the watch NRL fees. It was not a bad service to be fair but yeah the price is silly. I remember one time in Amsterdam I made the Mrs sit and watch a Sharks vs Dragons game before we left for the day. She was fully dressed and NOT impressed.

Tiger Shark

Any suggestions?

So using a VPN to Australia won't work ? I've done that before when in the US and it worked fine.

For me $40 for no issues and being able to just watch is probably worth it when Kayo itself is $25 or so, plus cost of a VPN.

If you go to a bar you'll end up buying drinks and other things haha

DJDL

@Stake Removed the link on the NRL site is for the $40 a month subscription.

@Special K I'm not in Bangkok, or on an island, so no sports bars, let alone Aussie Bar, to be found I'm afraid. And we're just coming out of the cool season, so it's f&@*ing hot. Lastly, what were you doing being in a relationship with a woman who doesn't understand the importance of a Sharks/Dragons match?! 🤣

@Tiger Shark No, the VPN thing is pretty tight with Kayo. I can't get past this message:

Access Denied​

You don't have permission to access "http://kayosports.com.au/" on this server.
Reference #18.659654b8.1646609824.6cf8ce0a

I've tried it with a heap of different servers but it's always the same.

I had the same issues with Netflix when I first came over, which sucked while I was in quarantine. It worked sometimes, but others I'd be half way in to a movie and it would throw up a blocking message.

I've been using NordVPN but I'm thinking I might switch to another provider once my subscription is up.

Tiger Shark

I've been using NordVPN but I'm thinking I might switch to another provider once my subscription is up.
Some places might offer a free trial or no lock in contract if you don't want to wait for your subscription is up. With the footy starting this week I assume it's something you want to have sorted sooner rather than later.

Personally I'd just spend the $40 if it was me considering the difference between Kayo and that would only be minor but appreciate it's not my money and everyone has there price point. Not too mention not knowing if it'll actually work or not.

Without linking anything...... you can always find the game streamed. Some of them are very good these days.

@Stake Removed the link on the NRL site is for the $40 a month subscription.

@Special K I'm not in Bangkok, or on an island, so no sports bars, let alone Aussie Bar, to be found I'm afraid. And we're just coming out of the cool season, so it's f&@*ing hot. Lastly, what were you doing being in a relationship with a woman who doesn't understand the importance of a Sharks/Dragons match?! 🤣

@Tiger Shark No, the VPN thing is pretty tight with Kayo. I can't get past this message:

I've tried it with a heap of different servers but it's always the same.

I had the same issues with Netflix when I first came over, which sucked while I was in quarantine. It worked sometimes, but others I'd be half way in to a movie and it would throw up a blocking message.

Don't know if this helps, when I have used a VPN I notice more issues if you are using the Netflix app for example, I did find if you use a laptop it does work, I use surfshark VPN, you get great price and has worked hope that helps

shaggs

Aussie bar ;). Whats thailand like atm? From memory they used to show it on one of the channels over in asia but I can't remember.

When I was in europe/US I just had to cop the watch NRL fees. It was not a bad service to be fair but yeah the price is silly. I remember one time in Amsterdam I made the Mrs sit and watch a Sharks vs Dragons game before we left for the day. She was fully dressed and NOT impressed.
I spent a morning at the Aussie bar in Bangla road, on my honeymoon watching super Saturday. From what I remember the boss was happy

I use Watch NRL. The reason is you can watch the games in your own time they have a spoiler option on the games already played. The quality is excellent. 10 bucks a week , worth it. Very easy to dodge NRL media overseas.

DJDL

Thanks everyone for the tips, except @Quigs. How does old mate and his Monte Carlos help me? 😝

Anyway, it looks like I'll be going the watchnrl route.
The Financial Controller has given me the ok.

I know it's not much, but I'm earning at THB rates these days so I'm on about 1/3 of what I was earning back in Oz.

I really can't figure out the pricing over here. I can buy lunch between $2-3, get my haircut for $2.50 but petrol, cars, electricity, water and god-knows what else are all about the same.

It's all over the shop.

shadowboxer

I went to some bar in Kamala beach a few years back to escape the family for a few hours. Watched us just get a win over someone, the best was the dragons got done by the tigers. It was Aussie pub Kamala - bloke who ran it was a Tasmanian - one side of the pub was nrl and the other afl.
great afternoon on the wizz

Special K

I spent a morning at the Aussie bar in Bangla road, on my honeymoon watching super Saturday. From what I remember the boss was happy
If that is the worst thing you did on Bangla road then I reckon it should be play on.

First place I went overseas was Phuket. I had no idea what I was in for at 19 on a footy trip. NONE. Good times!!!

Tiger Shark

Thanks everyone for the tips, except @Quigs. How does old mate and his Monte Carlos help me? 😝

Anyway, it looks like I'll be going the watchnrl route.
The Financial Controller has given me the ok.

I know it's not much, but I'm earning at THB rates these days so I'm on about 1/3 of what I was earning back in Oz.

I really can't figure out the pricing over here. I can buy lunch between $2-3, get my haircut for $2.50 but petrol, cars, electricity, water and god-knows what else are all about the same.

It's all over the shop.
I just tried accessing Kayo using my PIA VPN and I used the Perth server and had no issues accessing it. The Sydney and Melbourne servers didn't work.

It seems Kayo is aware of the more common servers and blocking their IPs. Hence why the Perth one works. I'd try a lesser known VPN on a trial as unlikely they'll have blocked it.

Of course you run the risk that one day they might, and could you miss a game or games etc.

Glad the minister of Finance has approved.