Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Worst referee ever?

Who is the worst?

drag-queens owned the refs in the 50's and 60's like manly did in the 70's. well documented. and arko had the nerve to get all pissy when some teams wanted a new comp NOT owned by manly, the scum and the c**ks. self-delusional twat.

Too true!

We had Bill as a ref in Oztag a few years ago.
He pinged us for being in front of him on the kickoff.

wanker!

apart from that he alright , once he figured out it wasn't 1st grade.

newman

wanker!

Ha!

Man. How first grade teams used to get pinged with that week in, week out, when It was obvious that this was his favourite call used to kill me.

andrew flap

pogo said:
on a touchy issue, do you reckon any referees have ever been on the take?

that is do you reckon an NRL result could have EVER been affected by corruption?

cricket = yes= corrupt= cronje +azzahruddin+others
soccer=grobbelaar
rugby league??????????????????

NO i reckon its not possible.............ROTFLMAO

Mate that is a good question. The answer is possibly in the past (in short, I have no idea) but now? Almost certainly not. I have met Shayne Hayne and some of the others a few times. They showed us a Channel 9 video of them during a game minus the commentary. You could hear the conversations between them, the touchies and the video ref. It was very much a team effort.

My point here is that they are under such intense scrutiny from tv, coaches, players, Robert Finch etc that as far as cheating goes, the end would not justify the means. Also, FYI, Refs are paid quite well. Not $400000000 a year like some but, considerably more than the average punter and they get treated very well indeed.

In 37 years of following football I'd have to say that they've all been pretty terrible with the exception of Col Pearce and Bill Harrigan. IMO, refs tend not to be very bright, have poor attention spans and lack periferal vision. Let's face it, its not exactly an attractive activity to be involved in, the moeny is reasonable, but it won't ever win you many fans or groupies.

fizman

pogo said:
on a touchy issue, do you reckon any referees have ever been on the take?

that is do you reckon an NRL result could have EVER been affected by corruption?

cricket = yes= corrupt= cronje +azzahruddin+others
soccer=grobbelaar
rugby league??????????????????

NO i reckon its not possible.............ROTFLMAO

I certainly believe Rugby League could very well be corrupted. I am not saying it is, but certainly could be. I also believe that it has happened in the past.

A perfect scenario is FIRST SCORING PLAY. There is nothing stopping a team from plunging some $$$$$ on their opposition scoring the first try.

I believe that the St George team in the sixties did exactly this. They would NEVER throw a game, but they would certainly bet on "a closer scoreline" than would be expected.

So to answer your questions YES and YES

andrew flap

hey Fizman, that is a pretty big call....care to elaborate ??? Say, the actual game, who was envolved etc.

First time I've ever heard of this. Wow !!!

carcharias said:

wanker!

apart from that he alright , once he figured out it wasn't 1st grade.

I had him a couple of times too. He sent me off for back chat once. I didn't even call him a cheat!

Mr Sharkie

I think Hayne is not fit to ref under 6's but Simpkins frustrates me just as much. The Sharks almost never win under him. He is a real stickler and after picking on Nutley or Bailey for the opening ten minutes he frustrates us into a deficit

Sam Shark

There isn't a good ref in the game at the moment. They are all sh*t.

The video refs are as bad as the three blind mice on the field. I can't believe how many really BAD video ref decisions we've had this season ... and there was another one on Saturday night.

Says a lot that Chris Ward was a cr*p ref and he's a cr*p video ref.

Bring back Billy!

Greg hartley is unquestionably the worst referee ever, especially from a Sharks perspective.
His diabolical series in 1978 where he robbed the Sharks & handed the trophy to Manly will ensure he never loses that title.

hartley was/is a Manly supporter.

Just on that, who knows the referees bias? I think it should be out there for all to see & definitely come into ref game selection.

Hartley manly
Mander roosters
Harrigan St George.

roboshark

Tony Fuggin Archer is the worst- the guy is an embarresment- I HATE HIM SO MUCH!!!

Followed closely by Hayne- jerkoff, and then simpkins- who hates us- AND I HATE HIM!!