Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Panthers sack Griffin 4 weeks from finals

axl rose

What people have failed to mention is that the prick has also put some pressure on Ciraldo in that interview. Lowest prick in the game for me. He has brought rugby league into disrepute this week.

We all know who is coaching them for the rest of the year and it aint Ciraldo.

OldPanther

Oh f**k off. All Griffin said was Gus told him to be surprised becaise the junior pathways and set up that was at the Broncos would not be found at Penrith when he arrived there.

Griffins whole point was that compared to what he came out of at the Broncos, the Panthers were years behind and it was a big reason Gus hired him.

At no point did Griffin cast dispersions on the club or those b4 him. Infact he went out of his way to not do that.

You are making shit up...

Yeah I imagined the part when he said it was a shambles and any work done before he got there either didn't happen or was not constructive.

Reactions: JJ

OldPanther

Well to be fair Gus did say he brought Griffin down because he wanted Penrith to be setup in the way Brisbane were

Griffin definitely deserves some credit for the work he put into it. Anyone who says otherwise is an idiot. He overstated it massively though because he was using it as a job interview.

This'll be my last comment on it.

I feel for the Tigers. They don't deserve whatevers been put on them. They are completely innocent.

Gus and Griffin are having the divorce of a lifetime and it's messy.

I wish Ivan would come out and clear the air so we had some more facts about what happened and to what extent Panthers board/Gus was involved in it.

Pedge1971

Yeah I imagined the part when he said it was a shambles and any work done bedore he got there either didn't happen or was not constructive.

In terms of turning players into first graders. And compared to the Broncos system it probably was.

Mate, as a Newy boy we have produced heaps of great 1st graders in the last 10 years but how many have landed at the Knights? Not many and those that did were mediocre.

We are shit and for what you have at Penrith tbh you have been far better than us but still underwhelming. Gus brought him there for a reason. He said it at the time.

Dont let your bias cloud that. Clearly he wasnt the coach u hoped for but he did some good and if he was a complete disaster why is your GM free from blame?

I just hope Ivan does the right thing and commits to the Tigers. Seems really f**king low of Penrith to offer the coach of a rebuilding team that you just sacked two years ago on some mega long-term deal. And another thing, I think Gus is full of shit. He made out he had no hand in it at all...I suppose he has no hand in offering Ivan a new contract either? Yeah okay. He's full of shit if you ask me.

Penrose Warrior

The fat Mormon just said that Gould is a terrible judge of a coach and has no idea what he was doing employing him. lol

And said 'I don't want to be nasty' whist saying it. What a pussy.

Sorry Panthers fans, you have a guy in charge who cares more about picking fights and having his ugly mug in the media than he does about level headedly running your club. He's mentally unstable in the extreme. Don't worry about defending him, just worry about the possibility he might employ Paul Langmack as coach next then sack him in the first set of six of the season as the Panthers fail to score as Gus' orders demand.

Imagine Gus telling Griffin he's embarrassed himself and should think longer before talking...so rich. Shows how little self awareness Gus has of his own failings.

mxlegend99

And said 'I don't want to be nasty' whist saying it. What a pussy.

Sorry Panthers fans, you have a guy in charge who cares more about picking fights and having his ugly mug in the media than he does about level headedly running your club. He's mentally unstable in the extreme. Don't worry about defending him, just worry about the possibility he might employ Paul Langmack as coach next then sack him in the first set of six of the season as the Panthers fail to score as Gus' orders demand.

Imagine Gus telling Griffin he's embarrassed himself and should think longer before talking...so rich. Shows how little self awareness Gus has of his own failings.
Everyone hates Gus and thats the main reason people have sided with Griffin here. The club and Gus have done nothing wrong in relation to sacking him... outside of extending his contract a year ago and trying to make it work. He waznt sacked too early. He was kept 18 months too long.

Hook refused to work with his coaching staff. His players were unhappy with his 'game plans' and on 5 occasions this year showed that we can win games after throwing them out the window due to being down by 14 or more points.

This same coach who was supposedly so unfairly dismissed did that to players at our club every year since his arrival. Last year alone from our top 25 we released 6 players early. Our turnover for contracted players since he arrived is outrageous. Fans were sick of watching him ruin and/or push stars out the door.

That shit was unsustainable and was destroying our premiership window.

The club is rightfully copping heat for the Ivan Cleary situation. 1Whatever the situation is we shouldnt be working with him before his Tigers contract expires. 100% deserve it for that.

But Anthony Griffin should have been gone long ago. Gus did everything he could go make it work because Hooks failure was 100% on him.

How can a club keep on a head coach who doesn't give a f**k about the direction his employers want to go in? Who refuses to use the resources available to him? Or work with his coaching staff? Who pushes player after player out of the club and then brags about how many guys have made their debut under him.

Broncos fans knew what he was like years ago. Panthers fans have known what he's like for 2 years now. It seemed like Gus disagreed but he was doing everything in his power to make it work rather than admit he f**ked up in the first place.

I have issue with a lot of what Gus has done. Almost all of it in the Hook era and most of it relates to backing Hook in situations. 12 months ago we let our biggest star go and backed the coach. Extended him even.

roofromoz

Everyone hates Gus and thats the main reason people have sided with Griffin here. The club and Gus have done nothing wrong in relation to sacking him... outside of extending his contract a year ago and trying to make it work. He waznt sacked too early. He was kept 18 months too long.

Hook refused to work with his coaching staff. His players were unhappy with his 'game plans' and on 5 occasions this year showed that we can win games after throwing them out the window due to being down by 14 or more points.

This same coach who was supposedly so unfairly dismissed did that to players at our club every year since his arrival. Last year alone from our top 25 we released 6 players early. Our turnover for contracted players since he arrived is outrageous. Fans were sick of watching him ruin and/or push stars out the door.

That shit was unsustainable and was destroying our premiership window.

The club is rightfully copping heat for the Ivan Cleary situation. 1Whatever the situation is we shouldnt be working with him before his Tigers contract expires. 100% deserve it for that.

But Anthony Griffin should have been gone long ago. Gus did everything he could go make it work because Hooks failure was 100% on him.

How can a club keep on a head coach who doesn't give a f**k about the direction his employers want to go in? Who refuses to use the resources available to him? Or work with his coaching staff? Who pushes player after player out of the club and then brags about how many guys have made their debut under him.

Broncos fans knew what he was like years ago. Panthers fans have known what he's like for 2 years now. It seemed like Gus disagreed but he was doing everything in his power to make it work rather than admit he f**ked up in the first place.

I have issue with a lot of what Gus has done. Almost all of it in the Hook era and most of it relates to backing Hook in situations. 12 months ago we let our biggest star go and backed the coach. Extended him even.

What have I told you about stating facts. Stop it.

philgood

How is this for a record! In his time at Roosters and Penrith, Phil Gould has now sacked:

Graham Murray
Ricky Stuart
Ivan Cleary
Anthony Griffin

That's 4 first Grade coaches! The guy is a jealous narcissist who deep down, doesnt want any coach to succeed or reach their potential. I reckon he sees it as a threat to himself and his ego

Jimmy Clark

Ciraldo sounds like the classic coc k sucker every place of employment has.
He is mate, he’s under Gus’s desk whenever he gets a chance. Gus is an undermining narcissistic mofo, deserves a good punch to the face....again.