Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parking at games 2009

i dont understand what you are whinging about frenzy

its not like we came last or anything - crowds will be flocking to see the sharks in 2010 - to see all that open and flowing footy

i mean if we came last you would have a point where substantially increasing the cost to families in the middle of an economic downturn would actually decrease crowd attendance

but as we arte doing so weel it is now time for the sharks to cash in on the huge interest they have worked hard to generate this year

and its only a 50 per cent increase

Yes millers lucky we finished all over the top of the Roosters to snaffle that number 15 spot.

Surely

I'm sure they do but the cust base would already be estabkished. Not to mention other benefits

Not when cust/fan base is rapidly diminishing

Well if our supporters are so fickle that they would stop going matches because car parking went up by a massive $4.50 then it would be better if the team relocated to an area where being able to attend a game is a bigger issue than where to park your car and how close you can get your fat arse to the gate before you have to walk

It's the tip of an iceberg though Surely

Surely

It's the tip of an iceberg though Surely

You want a team you pay for it, thats the unfortunate reality of todays world.

To be honest the shire has been apathetic towards the team for years, the area probably doesn't deserve a team.

Ausguy

Yeah thats probably true, its been brought about by years of failure and the fact there is more things to do in the shire than go to the footy

millersnose

lol

recovery due to higher meat pie and parking prices

i really hate that tv show relocation relocation

You want a team you pay for it, thats the unfortunate reality of todays world.

To be honest the shire has been apathetic towards the team for years, the area probably doesn't deserve a team.

That's a 2 way street. The club has been apathetic towards supporters as well.

I don't believe fans should have to pay for the team to survive. Fans aren't the cash cow to cover for the mismanagement of the club. Fans can pay to be members, entrance to games etc but should not be used as the money tree to salvation.

If that's how it is to be privatise the joint and give the fans shares.

Certainly don't do immoral and unethical things like make members pay to vote.

Inferno

That's a 2 way street. The club has been apathetic towards supporters as well.

I don't believe fans should have to pay for the team to survive. Fans aren't the cash cow to cover for the mismanagement of the club. Fans can pay to be members, entrance to games etc but should not be used as the money tree to salvation.

If that's how it is to be privatise the joint and give the fans shares.

Certainly don't do immoral and unethical things like make members pay to vote.

Are you saying this is a new thing? Was it free to be a member previously?

Inferno

So it's exactly the same price, for exactly the same product with some added advertising.

How devious of the club.

Surely

lol

recovery due to higher meat pie and parking prices

i really hate that tv show relocation relocation

and that type of thinking is exactly why clubs get themselves in the sh*t.

It's all money at the end of the season, something we apparently don't have at the moment.

samshark

Families in financial crisis. Huh. I love hearing this.
If you have had secure employment families have had it great the last year with low interest rates and govt handouts. Plenty of dosh to go to the footy.

newman

Parking to me is a luxury. It always costs a motza to park around sporting facilities and I agree with milking the people who are silly enough to fork out for it.

- There is plenty of free parking within a reasonable walk to the ground. Up around Toyota, up Gannons Rd, up Sturt st and beyond
- Train station within easy hop of the stadium, and free buses from the station to the ground if walking is an issue
- Free buses from all over the shire to and from the game.

samshark

Very true Newman.
Our ground is the best in Sydney for free parking.
In the last five years every home game Ive been to Ive found parking within 15 minutes. Got to know the spots.

I love all the justification going on here.

Are people being deliberately obtuse.

Firstly, that price is for members only. So you have to buy one of the memberships first. It's an added cost.

Parking for the average punter is always more than it is for the people with the members only pass.

Therefore I reckon if the members pass is $14.50 a game the price for punters may well be as high as $20.00

People with families that aren't members DO drive down and park on that ground. It's always chockers. It may not be now and all your so called free parking becomes a premium item

The argument is also pretty clear that this is part of a cumulative cost. You know the same cumulative costs people were putting up as itemised lists throughout the year.

I agree with milking the people who are silly enough to fork out for it.

You're a qhunt then newman. A brainwashed Irvine lackey. Doubt we'd of seen you write that with the previous regime still in office. Keep on sucking up though, you'll gain a nepotic spot on the board soon enough.

vomit