Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parra coach Kearney refuses to expand on Sandow problems.

Good on Kearney for giving the media nothing. As if he is going to out one of his players and tell them why he sent him to Wenty. SK is taking the heat for Sandow and I'm sure Sandow and the other players know it too.
I'm sick of hearing negative stories about our club. How much do you read about Penrith who have a coach who was a grand finalist and Gould as director yet they still have Jennings running a muck and are playing like crap ?
If it were me I would have a complete media freeze on all players and staff until things turn around. The only interviews I would have would be on Eels Reels on the official site.
I would starve the Media and let the team focus on the job at hand - winning games.

Well said!!!

Good on Kearney for giving the media nothing. As if he is going to out one of his players and tell them why he sent him to Wenty. SK is taking the heat for Sandow and I'm sure Sandow and the other players know it too.
I'm sick of hearing negative stories about our club. How much do you read about Penrith who have a coach who was a grand finalist and Gould as director yet they still have Jennings running a muck and are playing like crap ?
If it were me I would have a complete media freeze on all players and staff until things turn around. The only interviews I would have would be on Eels Reels on the official site.
I would starve the Media and let the team focus on the job at hand - winning games.

Tony, Tony, Tony.......you've got it all wrong man.
The place is falling apart. Kearney has to go. The board have to go. Hayne is a prima donna causing all sorts of shit. There's so much more but I'm getting too emotional.
We'll be lucky to be here in 5 years mate.

mmmm!! yeah if only we got rid of Fui and signed Chris Feather, all this wouldn't of happened..

lingard

Agreed. Talent-wise they're good enough for the 8, but then so is every other club. Our problem is that our players are pea hearts that don't know what it takes for sustained success. Worse, it sounds like they don't want to know. When Anderson tried to toughen them up they turned on him, and now they're turning on another coach.

So, when Hayne, Hindmarsh, Burt and Moi Moi are gone everything will be fine, right? Because, if you look at the last four years, they are the only common denominators, right? Idiot.

lingard

Parramatta suffer their normal shaky start to the season. Going into Round 7 they are 2 from 4 but still in the hunt for the 8 and have shown some good form.

Round 7 we play the Cowboys in North Queensland on a Friday night. The team travels north on Thursday and are in the skies around midday, when the Melbourne Salary cap rort is discovered.

Afterwards we play the Cowboys Friday night and win. We then Back up for a game against the Bulldogs and win going into a bye, we are sitting 7th and 6th after the bye weekend.

We play the Sea Eagles on a Monday night and win playing some of our best football so far.

Round 11 sees us lose narrowly to the Sharks minus our Origin stars and Round 12 sees us lose to the Dragons this time quite convincingly, away and 2 nights after Origin.

Round 13, is the turning point of the season. We play the Storm at Home, in a game I am sure most remember. A war that had Jarryd Hayne butting heads with Billy Slater, I described the game as a war. We go into the round 14 bye in 8th and drop to 9th during the bye.

After that the loss to the Knights on a Monday at Newcastle With the Knights scoring and converting with 2 minutes to go to win by 2.

We lose to the Broncos at home during Women in League round Lockyer playing game 329. before we are well beaten by the Warriors at home minus Hayne and Mannah on Origin duty.

We then win 3 on the trot and stay 10th on the ladder, one win away from the top 8 or indeed equal to them for one round. Including that stellar game where Hayne cut the top performing Panthers to shreds.

The Roosters smash us before we start or South East Queensland trip, we play the Titans and lose by 20 but the result should have been closer with a few costly mistakes near the try line leading to tries 6 tackles latter at the other end of the field we were a sniff the game with 5 to go.

Then the press starts talking during the week that Paul Osbourne has flown to Melbourne for Talks with the Melbourne Assistant Steven Kearny.

That Thursday, I catch Paul, Roy, Dezzi, Jarryd Hayne and a bloke wearing a beanie at a pub that Roy and Dezzi own. The bloke I find out is Quade Cooper.

We beat the Broncos after Mortimer is dropped and Antony Mitchell is bought in.

By then the talk is rampant that DA will be replaced and that SK is the new coach unless the team make the 8.

We then lose due to a missed penalty goal against the Tigers at Parramatta stadium which would have seen us into the 8.

That sees the end, we were a sniff to all but the press writes us off after that game. The Tigers go on to finish 3rd equal on points with the Panthers and the Titans and the last two games against the Rabbitohs and Warriors seal the coaches fate.

They weren’t bad, they were unlucky and in my opinion jaded from the Storm news. They won their grand final in round 13 and the hangover from that win saw them lose focus on the pitch and drop a few important games (Newcastle away, Titans Away, Tigers home)

I would have loved to have seen DA work that out of them during the off season.

Terrific post. Adds a different perspective, doesn`t it?

Agreed. Talent-wise they're good enough for the 8, but then so is every other club. Our problem is that our players are pea hearts that don't know what it takes for sustained success. Worse, it sounds like they don't want to know. When Anderson tried to toughen them up they turned on him, and now they're turning on another coach.

Agree 100%

Casper The Ghost

why are the questions poor? - i wouldn't mind asking many of those questions myself .... I don't give the telegraph much time these days, but honestly there is nothing wrong there .... What would you rather he ask? "are you going to beat the bulldogs on friday?", "yes", "how are the lads?", "the lads are good", "what did you have for dinner?"

what's wrong with asking:
- why put sandow on the bench?
- did a week in reserves help him?
- what do you feel about hayne's thoughs on the team's playing style?
- is hindy only up to 42 mins a game now?

He won't talk specifics? Well then what the f**k boring mundane rubbish hairy fairy f**king crap do you want to be asked steve? You are the f**king coach of a team sitting at the arse end of the table, don't expect to get asked how great things are - and if you have no inclination to talk at all then just f**king don't!!!

this

i don't think the questions were poor. The coach is accountable and is now obviously feeling the pressure. If we lose to the dogs i say he will be sacked. Without doubt he is the worst coach that we have ever had. Please spags, you made a mistake, admit it and cut this nobody loose.

this

i've been willing to give kearney the botd but that interview has to set off a few alarm bells. It was that bad i thought it was a pisstake at first. It sounds like no one is on the same page and it shows on the footy field.

this

the scrutiny has no began. It's gonna get very hot out at parra. Kearneys babysitting is over. Time for him to take his head out of the sand. I actually want to thank the reporter for actually asking real questions. Comparing sandow to to george rose was a joke by kearney & i loved the reporters response but he isn't a marquee signing

this

Casper The Ghost

thumb150-flatline.jpg

:lol::lol::lol:

Casper The Ghost

DA Gave up?
I assume you are referring to the line in the media conferences that he didn't know what turned it around during the golden run of 2009?

If so there is one game in that run that stands out like a sore thumb. The Round 26 match against the Dragons Friday night. Where from all reports DA didn't give the boys a game plan and let them play. They ended up not scoring a point, and when I looked at the game thought, yep we had done our dash.

Yet DA did give them a game plan the week after, and we won against the Dragons, who were the Minor Premiers.

But yeah DA gave up.

THIS

Those two games clearly revealed how good a coach he really is.
DA was just too smart for most. SK is not even good enough to be DA's shadow.
DA wanted a contract extension which shows he had long term plans.
Given a few more years with full support and without interruptions/interference, we might now be challenging for a premiership and may have even won one.

Casper The Ghost

So what happened the year after?

In this forum archive there is over two years of documented discussions regarding what happenned to DA.
Based on those in the know who shared their thoughts in this forum, there was an agenda to get rid of DA.
Glenn Duncan, Robert Sassen and Paul Osborne were instrumental and it appears Ray Spagnola and other directors were being misled AND they did not investigate such claims to see if they were true or not.
I'll leave the space for others in the know to fill in the rest of the missing pieces.

Casper The Ghost

Parramatta suffer their normal shaky start to the season. Going into Round 7 they are 2 from 4 but still in the hunt for the 8 and have shown some good form.

Round 7 we play the Cowboys in North Queensland on a Friday night. The team travels north on Thursday and are in the skies around midday, when the Melbourne Salary cap rort is discovered.

Afterwards we play the Cowboys Friday night and win. We then Back up for a game against the Bulldogs and win going into a bye, we are sitting 7th and 6th after the bye weekend.

We play the Sea Eagles on a Monday night and win playing some of our best football so far.

Round 11 sees us lose narrowly to the Sharks minus our Origin stars and Round 12 sees us lose to the Dragons this time quite convincingly, away and 2 nights after Origin.

Round 13, is the turning point of the season. We play the Storm at Home, in a game I am sure most remember. A war that had Jarryd Hayne butting heads with Billy Slater, I described the game as a war. We go into the round 14 bye in 8th and drop to 9th during the bye.

After that the loss to the Knights on a Monday at Newcastle With the Knights scoring and converting with 2 minutes to go to win by 2.

We lose to the Broncos at home during Women in League round Lockyer playing game 329. before we are well beaten by the Warriors at home minus Hayne and Mannah on Origin duty.

We then win 3 on the trot and stay 10th on the ladder, one win away from the top 8 or indeed equal to them for one round. Including that stellar game where Hayne cut the top performing Panthers to shreds.

The Roosters smash us before we start or South East Queensland trip, we play the Titans and lose by 20 but the result should have been closer with a few costly mistakes near the try line leading to tries 6 tackles latter at the other end of the field we were a sniff the game with 5 to go.

Then the press starts talking during the week that Paul Osbourne has flown to Melbourne for Talks with the Melbourne Assistant Steven Kearny.

That Thursday, I catch Paul, Roy, Dezzi, Jarryd Hayne and a bloke wearing a beanie at a pub that Roy and Dezzi own. The bloke I find out is Quade Cooper.

We beat the Broncos after Mortimer is dropped and Antony Mitchell is bought in.

By then the talk is rampant that DA will be replaced and that SK is the new coach unless the team make the 8.

We then lose due to a missed penalty goal against the Tigers at Parramatta stadium which would have seen us into the 8.

That sees the end, we were a sniff to all but the press writes us off after that game. The Tigers go on to finish 3rd equal on points with the Panthers and the Titans and the last two games against the Rabbitohs and Warriors seal the coaches fate.

They weren’t bad, they were unlucky and in my opinion jaded from the Storm news. They won their grand final in round 13 and the hangover from that win saw them lose focus on the pitch and drop a few important games (Newcastle away, Titans Away, Tigers home)

I would have loved to have seen DA work that out of them during the off season.

As clear and unbiased as it gets.
What an excellent post Mark. :clap::clap::clap::thumb:cool:

Ron Jeremy

one of the best interviews i have ever seen, lol results speaaak for themselves haha. Good coaches just find ways of winning, no matter the circumstances.

I'll go as far to say that Stephen Kearney is possibly the worst coaach in the past 30 years, don't believe me? just watch the tape, just watch the blow ups, just watch the turnstile of players leaving, the smoke is getting bigger and bigger.

Kearney f**k off. You are not up too it, step aside.

Just wondering when did the players turn on DA ????

I recall tahu having a sook about a sore ankle, Mateo denied claims of having any problems with DA.

DA blowing up hayne in the media was blown out of proportion.

Who else was there???

How many players do you think it takes to undermine a coach?