Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta great Brett Kenny offers to help coach Jarryd Hayne

BRETT Kenny is happy to pass on his wisdom and help Jarryd Hayne make any future transition from fullback to five-eighth. Kenny, Parramatta's greatest-ever No. 6, said Hayne could easily adjust to life in the halves, but needed some one-on-one tuition to help with the positional switch. And "Bert" said he was more than qualified to help The Hayne Train.

"Jarryd has everything there - he's a strong defender, has good hands, good speed, it's just a case of coaching him in that position," Kenny said.

"It would certainly be challenging. The coach is someone who hasn't played there (five-eighth), so you'd need somebody who has played in the position and at the top level. If he approached me I'd be more than happy to help."

We're sure Eels fans would love Kenny to help Hayne.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/kenny-keen-to-help-train-move/story-e6frfgbo-1226057024961

hybrideel

I think we'd be stupid to turn down any offer. Regardless of what you think of Kenny he is one of if not the best 5/8 we've seen. And giving one on one tuition is a fair bit different to coaching a whole team

Just because he was a good player, doesn't make him a good coach

exhibit A = sticky

Snoochies

exhibit A = sticky

I'm pretty sure Kenny would be more than capable of coaching 1 player on one position. Difference bewteen coaching a whole team and specialist training.

SDM

I was walking through the carparkat the Leagues club the other day, lamenting how hopeless my son is at footy and Bert offered to coach him for food.

Kornstar

Kenny won a Flegg premiership and got Wenty to the finals.....

I know people didn't like his people skills but he did have some success, can't deny that.

Maybe working with Hayne and being straight with him is what he needs? I don't think Hayne hears the truth from many people.......

Great player, probably in the top 5 but I think his ego let's him down at times.

HevyDevy

exhibit A = sticky

You know, I think Ricky is judged harshly.

He won a premiership with the Roosters in his first year. He turned the Sharks into a formidable outfit. At the peak of Cronulla's 'powers', so to speak, the Bird and Latu incidents happened and played a huge role in their finals campaign coming to a screeching halt. The following season they were absolutely crippled by injuries to key players and have never regained their confidence since.

People seem to think that he ran the club into the ground. In-fact it was the opposite until fate intervened.

Just sayin'

I don't think Hayne has an Ego problem. He's a pretty good bloke off the field.

I just think people see hi cockiness on the field and that's what they dislike. Look at Ennis he's a shit on the field but a really nice bloke off it.

As for Kenny, he was a the greatest 5/8 we've ever had just so much skill and pace. But I don't think he can communicate well with players. As proved last year while coaching Wenty.

I was walking through the carparkat the Leagues club the other day, lamenting how hopeless my son is at footy and Bert offered to coach him for food.

Dont think that's nice what you said. The man is doing it tough. Why kick him when he's down??

The only thing that used irk me about Kenny was his constant comments in the media.

My Dad has a mate who is a vietnam veteran. He goes from job to job and always bitches about the government owes him and its their fault that he has no money and is miserable.

He should have a beer with Brett Kenny and they can compare notes.

You know, I think Ricky is judged harshly.

He won a premiership with the Roosters in his first year. He turned the Sharks into a formidable outfit. At the peak of Cronulla's 'powers', so to speak, the Bird and Latu incidents happened and played a huge role in their finals campaign coming to a screeching halt. The following season they were absolutely crippled by injuries to key players and have never regained their confidence since.

People seem to think that he ran the club into the ground. In-fact it was the opposite until fate intervened.

Just sayin'

he inherited that team from Gus and when he was given a few more years to tinker with the team, he got sacked and the rest is history

he's done nothing since except inherit a SOO team from Gus, and again the rest is history

he got given a crap tam at the sharks and the chance to build it up and show what he can really do, and again..................same result

Kornstar

I don't think Hayne has an Ego problem. He's a pretty good bloke off the field.

I just think people see hi cockiness on the field and that's what they dislike. Look at Ennis he's a shit on the field but a really nice bloke off it.

As for Kenny, he was a the greatest 5/8 we've ever had just so much skill and pace. But I don't think he can communicate well with players. As proved last year while coaching Wenty.

I am a massive fan of Hayne, but I am also a realist, he knows he is good and I think he struggles being humble when answering questions about himself.

Yesterday was the perfect example, he said something along the lines of he wants to play fullback, so he will! In public he should be saying he will do what the coach thinks is best, he can fight it out with Kearney behind closed doors if he wants.

Imo he does himself no favors at times in the media, I know the morons push him and ask him all the time but sometimes he just needs to shut up and not elaborate.

Slater, Smith and Thurston are all freaks and they never come across the way Hayne does imo.

In saying all that, I wouldn't swap him for any player in the comp!!!!

I am a massive fan of Hayne, but I am also a realist, he knows he is good and I think he struggles being humble when answering questions about himself.

Yesterday was the perfect example, he said something along the lines of he wants to play fullback, so he will! In public he should be saying he will do what the coach thinks is best, he can fight it out with Kearney behind closed doors if he wants.

Imo he does himself no favors at times in the media, I know the morons push him and ask him all the time but sometimes he just needs to shut up and not elaborate.

Slater, Smith and Thurston are all freaks and they never come across the way Hayne does imo.

I think that Jarryds not too bright when it comes to saying the right things to the media.

HevyDevy

he inherited that team from Gus and when he was given a few more years to tinker with the team, he got sacked and the rest is history

he's done nothing since except inherit a SOO team from Gus, and again the rest is history

he got given a crap tam at the sharks and the chance to build it up and show what he can really do, and again..................same result

The team he inherited didn't make the finals in 2001.

Bigfella

My take on his comments about playing 5/8 is that he has almost certainly had discussions with kearney on the topic, and he was being solid with those plans.

I reckon he is copping it very unfairly from some parra fans.

He has clearly adjusted his game massively to the style the coach wants him to. Not only that, he is doing it beautifully. He is playing much better than people are giving credit when you consider that he has had to make considerable changes to his style.

People are fixating on his kick returns and perceptions about effort when he is actually working his arse off, as well as being very unselfish in modifying the style he is playing.

It has cost him the flashy moments from his game; it has cost him a rep jumper that obviously means a lot to him.

He is carrying our team single handedly and yet a bug potion of our own fans are kicking him?